We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but for the price could be more comfortable.”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose the Fox as our base to explore the Rockies as a result of very good reviews on TA. Our first impression was extremely favourable as the receptionist helpfully pointed out that i had booked a suite with two bedrooms- and we were obviously a couple- amazingly she offered us an alternative, which And we saved $200 a night - so its not cheap and it was at the hight of the summer!
The alternative suite was a duplex with its own balcony ,kitchenette, and downstairs lounge area.
Upstairs was a large bed and very small bathroom-Comfortable and clean, but unfortunately the air conditioning was rather noisy and whilst highly effective downstairs, failed to cool the bedroom area. We were there in July and it was extremely hot - so our nights could have been more comfortable.
The much vaunted hot spring pool i personally found a bit murky and the hotels policy of closing the bar at 11pm seemed to rather strange. But this is a good choice if you like a tranquil environment

But i must ay that all the staff were fantastically friendly and helpful -and at the end of the day, it is the way you are treated in hotels that makes all the difference-

Room Tip: Make sure room has a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped here for three nights. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room,although small, was lovely and we were only in it long enough to sleep. The on site restaurant 'Chillis' is very reasonable and the food was very good.
Continental breakfast was great and there was always plenty of everything.
We didn't use the fitness room or the spa pool but it looked lovely. We would return to The Fox if we were back in Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeeLanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room was quite small but ok. However, no air conditioning made it awful. Hotels at half the price have a/c. The more expensive rooms did have a/c, which made it worse: "If you want to be comfortable in our hotel, you have to spend more than our basic but expensive rooms." The staff was ok but not outstanding. Parking spaces were very awkward to get in and out of. There was only one elevator, and it was quite slow (and it too was not air conditioned!).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get the overpriced suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have to say that I was not disappointed with Banff, but for the price, I was disappointed with the Fox Hotel. Fortunately we were so busy and active exploring the area, we did not have to spend much time in the room.
Pros: close to downtown, free parking, complimentary breakfast, hot springlike pool, beautiful surrounding area
Cons: very small room (2 double beds) with limited floor and closet space, no a/c made room very stuffy, no terrace off of room, below average continental breakfast, staff not very welcoming or helpful, parking spaces are very tight (glad we had a compact car).
Would not stay here again, but would recommend another similarly priced hotel or choose to stay in Lake Louise for a few nights instead.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

It is not a big hotel and you cannot expect the room size. Yet, the room is comfortable and clean. Walking distance to the town area of Banff, which is just a few blocks away, you can also enjoy the quite environment in the hotel. Nice view from the room and you can see the mountains.

Great hot spring in the hotel. Remember, unlike Japan, you need to wear swimming suits when in the water.

Last but not least. There is a nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fox hotel for three nights in July 2014. The hotel was very nice - conveniently located and a short walk from downtown Banff. We had a standard room which was roomy, clean and nicely decorated with the fox theme. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. They have a "no noise" policy after 11 p.m. so it was quiet and relaxing (actually it was quiet all day). Included is a buffet breakfast which was nicely done - fruit, juices, beverages, cereal, bagels, muffins, danishes, etc. There is an exercise room, pool and spa. Free underground parking. There is a Chili's in the hotel which was nice for dinner one night. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 062843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked 3 nights in a suite at this hotel. After staying at the Fairmont properties in Jasper and Lake Louise - it certainly didn't compare but the suite was lovely and the staff extremely helpful. Our suite had an sitting room, kitchenette, dining table on the first floor and a lovely bedroom on the ground floor with an attached bathroom. Very adequate and comfortable.

Chilli's restaurant at the hotel was also great as we tried it out for lunch.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the centre or you can take a free shuttle. We actually just opted to take taxis to different restaurants downtown which worked out to about $7 to $8.

Definitely check out the hot pool which is very relaxing.

All in all a nice hotel and would definitely recommend to other travellers - particularly if you have children.

Room Tip: Try and book a suite rather than a normal room as its only $50 extra and air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherinaPetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $98 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing