We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place from which to explore the Rockies.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place from which to explore the Rockies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked 3 nights here in July, in a I bedroom suite. Very attractive and comfortable rooms, very well equipped, with a small kitchenette including a microwave and fridge. I loved the themed decor - fox light fittings and wallpaper! The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The continental breakfast was fantastic. We are in the restaurant one night - food ok but nothing special. The hotel is within walking distance of the town, situated on a busy road, but this isn't a problem.

Room Tip: The hotel has an inner courtyard which has many rooms and suites overlooking - the lower floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lay_dee_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    674
    210
    92
    37
See reviews for
561
929
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I had a vacation of our dreams in Banff, thanks in no small part to Fox Hotel and Suites. We upgraded to a suite with a living room, kitchenette and balcony because we couldn't see not being able to enjoy the outdoors at our hotel. Every view in Banff is to die for, and the Fox didn't disappoint. The view from our balcony included three mountains and beautiful, majestic trees. The kitchenette was basic, and couldn't have been used to make a dinner. The bathroom was very small. There was only one place to get ice, in the basement five floors below ours, and the soft drink machine was always empty of diet Cokes. The AC in our room worked well, and was needed. The lobby was dinky, and one male clerk was a semi-grouch never smiling or saying an unnecessary word. The breakfast buffet was adequate with self-made waffles and toast being the only warm servings. It was nice having a Chili's in the hotel, although with the dining options in Banff we only ate there once in four days. They need to make some improvements, but on the whole this place is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in an apartment with a separate lounge area incl small kitchen. Microwave oven only and fridge.
comfortable 2 seater settee and single chair. Table with 4 chairs.
Large Flat screen TV in lounge area and also in the bedroom.
Two wardrobes one in the wash area and the other in the lounge area.
King size bed with a drawer unit. No dressing table or mirror which did not impress my Wife. One armchair in the bedroom
Wash area has a mirror but no space to sit down so Ladies will need to do their makeup etc standing up!
On the whole it was a clean apartment with good housekeeping.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bus tickets available to take the bus from directly outside to the centre or to Sulphur Mountain. Although its about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Banff.
Air con did work well but was slightly loud.
The whole apartment was a dark place especially the lounge area. Lights needed on in the daylight.
Parking was free underground.
The restaurant was a chain (Chilis) and not particularly good. Many other places to eat. Breakfast was a continental affair with make your own waffles and a selection of fruit, yoghurts, pastries, orange juice and toast.
There is a free hot tub and Sauna which we did not use.
Rooms have free wifi with a good signal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Fox Hotel and Suites is a great place to stay while in Banff. The suites are very comfortable and roomy. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in one of the suites during our family vacation to Banff. Suite was well-furnished with modern fixtures, a small kitchen, two bathrooms, and two bedrooms plus a pull-out sofa. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were are high quality. Another amenity was that the windows opened, so we could breath the fresh mountain air instead of the stuffy hotel air that you are often stuck with in more traditional hotels with sealed windows. Overall, we were very impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms.

The free breakfast offered is a slightly fancier continental breakfast, with make-your-own waffles, fruit, and pastries. The hotel is in an ideal location right on Banff Avenue, and you can easily walk to anywhere in Banff that you would like to go. Parking is free and on site.

Room Tip: The exercise room does NOT include a treadmill. There is no pool on site, but the expanded hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

June 21st to June 24th 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay in this hotel. On arrival, Check-in was efficient. We were met by very friendly staff who made us feel welcome and gave us all the information we needed to help us settle in. Free Parking is available underneath the hotel with lift access to the rooms. The hotel is within walking distance to down town, (approx 10 to 15 minutes). There is a laundry, free Wifi and also a computer and printer available to quests. In the morning a free buffet style breakfast with enough choice for everyone, is on offer. The room was clean and air conditioned and the bed very comfortable. It was also a relief to have a safe in the room. If you feel adventurous, free bus passes are available at the front desk and are good for the entire stay. You also receive a discount booklet, providing discount offers in shops and restaurants in Banff. Residents have access to the Hot Tub & Sauna area which was nice and relaxing at the end of a busy day. The restaurant and bar offer a varied menu. The food was good and reasonably priced. As expected there is a little noise in the evening but after 11pm all goes quite. We had reason to complain about the people in the next room (over excitement on there first night) but as soon as we spoke to reception the noise ceased immediately. All the staff throughout the hotel including the cleaners were very helpful and friendly. In our opinion The Fox Hotel & Suites is a truly lovely place to stay. We would go back there again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are probably more susceptible to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Rather than book online at a reduced rate, we opted to reserve our 3 night stay by calling the hotel and paying an extra $40 per night. It was the only way to assure a queen size bed. We understand now why they use so many double beds...rooms are tiny. Room was very small and dark, no air conditioning. There was a fan which we kept on constantly due to uncommonly warm temperatures. Loved the exterior, lobby, and particularly the gracious Fox staff. But for U.S. residents, the cramped room at $269++ per night was a turn off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing