We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay, loved it!!!”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay, loved it!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I picked this place based on the reviews I read here, and I'm glad I did.

We had a room on the 4th floor, facing the street. The room was perfect - comfortable bed, nice layout, and very clean.

The front desk staff were the best I ever encountered. Friendly, helpful, and professional!

The grotto tub/pool/sauna was very unique - in fact, we only stayed one night and had a choice between that or the hot springs, and we chose the grotto because it was so cool! Our kids loved it.

The parking is VERY tight. If you have a tall vehicle, forget it. Not something that could be helped though, looked like every hotel along that road had limited parking.

It was expensive but worth it. I think it would be a great hotel for a honeymoon. We did see a few honeymooners there, in fact :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 417 and it was really nice. Good view, and was in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    766
    250
    103
    43
See reviews for
631
1,027
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed In the Fox Hotel & Suites for a wedding on June 28. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was adequate, however it was VERY hot and the thermostat allowed for only hot temperatures. There was no A/C and no fan to even move air. We had a room with two queen beds. One of the queens was in good shape, however the second one sloped significantly from the middle to the floor, creating a falling sensation for anyone lying down.

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Banff before and this hotel while adequate, would not be on the top of my list for next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Really lovely hotel with great facilities including a underground hot pool and spacious well equipped rooms (we had a small suite with kitchenette). Breakfast was included including make you own waffles which proved very entertaining. About a 10 min walk from shops with plenty of parking - so great for being able to pop in and out of the town without using the car (worth noting with the hotel you do get a transit pass or hire of a bike if you want). Great room staff but front desk staff were not very welcoming compared to what we normally get in Canada.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed our 2-day visit to Banff (too short). This hotel was a short walk (5-10 min) from the center of town, where there were nice shops and good restaurants. Not fancy but clean and the staff was very friendly / helpful and the price was fair. The only negative (although minor) is that the standard room was a bit small and had no A/C (not a problem for most of the year but can get a little stuffy on warm days before it cools off in the evening). That said, you will spend most of the time exploring the many sites and activities in the area so you won't be in the room all that much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutsenNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed just for 1 night at this hotel. The underground grotto style hot tub pool is very nice. Our room was nice and with an excellent view of course! Our stay included free breakfast which was good it was just a little crowded as it was located in such a small area. Excellent location and very clean and comfortable. Frond desk staff very professional and friendly!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room with a balcony if you think that you would use it. Any direction that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fox hotels and suites are well fitted out rooms, but the basic rooms do not have air conditioning
which we found very oppressive as the opening window was small. We couldn't get the temp below 21c with the fan on all afternoon, Thankfully they upgraded us, but the facilities, pool, bar, parking etc wree really good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our stay was excellent. The staff went out of their way to take care of us. The room was clean and classy. It was quiet and room service was a bottle of wine after long drive. Location was on the beaten path, but very convenient. Highly recommend. Five Stars for the staff " ALL"

Room Tip: Everything was great and "please try the Spa"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing