We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Can't fault it ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
A TripAdvisor Member
“Can't fault it ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

But probably won't stay again. I think the rooms are just quite dark and cramped for our personal taste but overall was fantastic value and would DEF recommend it.

Easy check in, underground parking, short walk into town (fab location, bus stop if you don't like walking), clean rooms, great shower, good breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    673
    209
    91
    37
See reviews for
561
927
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My family had a great experience while staying at The Fox. It was our first time to Banff and it was unforgettable! The room was big enough for two adults and two teenagers, loved the hot pool, and Chili's restaurant always had great food. The free breakfast was awesome! The staff in the hotel as well as Chili's were very friendly and professional . We will definatley be returning on our next trip to Banff! Thank you for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Third floor superior suites are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at The Fox twice on our recent skiing trip to the Canadian Rockies. The front desk is friendly and efficient. Access to our ski lockers and rooms through the underground parking is excellent. The room layout for the one bedroom suites is unique and the decor is fairly modernd. The rooms are clean and quiet. The hot tub grotto is also unique and provides a great place to relax after a day on the ski slopes. Downtown is an easy walk for anyone that is fit so you can leave your vehicle behind. In conclusion it was good value for a travelling ski family of four or five.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My best friend and I took all of our kids for a ski weekend. We booked this hotel because it had a room that would fit us all. It was awesome. This room had two beds downstairs, a pull out in living room, and another room upstairs. It was comfy and really clean and new. It has this great hot tub area under ground. It looks like you are in a cave. We all enjoyed this very much. The free breakfast was awesome. Waffles, eggs, fruit, toast, cereal, coffee, juices. Perfect to start of the morning. It is held in the Chillies that is in the hotel. The front desk staff were super nice and knowledgeable. The only think we had trouble with was in the underground parking. It was a very snowy weekend. My van couldn't make it up the ramp because of the ice. But, an employee came to the rescue with gravel and ice. So, I got up. I parked on the street after that. Which was very convenient to our room any way. I would say of all the places we have stayed at in Banff this one is a keeper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiangirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review, and am very pleased to read you found our accommodations comfortable, our complimentary breakfast plentiful and of good quality. I hope you will bring everyone back again soon. There's still lots of time for excellent spring skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently stayed at the Fox during a ski trip to Banff. We were there 5 nights in a one bedroom suite. The room was very clean. Plenty of space. Seems fairly new so the basic amenities were all in working order. Included breakfast was nothing fancy, but -- as it was free -- I couldn't complain too much.

Some drawbacks included unhelpful front desk staff, only street parking for larger vehicles (e.g. full-size SUV), ice only available on one level, very firm mattress, basic towels (not soft and fluffy). Not huge issues, but indicative of the most "basic" nature of the hotel.

We did not experience any of the noise issues that some have mentioned. We do sleep with a white noise, so that may have helped. Our stay was also during the week so the noise issues could be worse on the weekends -- don't know.

Hot tub was large and nice after skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelMXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Based on the ratings that we read we really thought this hotel was going to be awesome, but it turned out to be more average than we expected. First off we didn't appreciate the reception's staff attitude when we asked if we could redeem our coupon for 10% off the cost of the room (from our SUTP app). Said "oh you can only use those when you book the room and we don't accept them on busy nights", We responded that it did not say that on the coupon anywhere and were a little perplexed on how to redeem it when they need the code as we booked online to which the response was "well you'd have to phone us...."....who does that anymore??? To their credit they did give us the discount, but it would have been nicer to do with out the added scolding.

This hotel is best suited for tourists trying to get the "Canadian Mountain Experience". It has all the looks of what one would expect the Canadian Rockies to be, and what more could you really want in banff. It is most suited for a romantic couples get away though as it is not too kid friendly. And one of the coolest things about it was the hot tub, that looks like a cave although it is crowded most of the time so little privacy is to be had, there isn't a pool either.

The room was new and had all the modern amenities one could expect, although a fan that actually worked in the bathroom would have been nice. We had a king suite, and again a lock on the bedroom door would have been nice as well. The kitchenette (only a microwave and fridge) had an acceptable compliment of dishes and utensils. Unfortunately for us the sleep was less than memorable as we found the bed as hard as a rock, but if you like extra firm mattresses this may be the place for you. Lastly it was quite warm in the bedroom, but too early in the year for A/C, so we need to have the window open and could hear a lot people who had been partying hooting and hollering into the wee hours of the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to read that your time with us did not exceed your expectations.

Firstly I would like to apologize for the service you received at check in. This does not sound up to par, and it is not typical of our team.

The bathroom fans are silent, so I assume it was working, but you may have thought it was not due to it's silent feature. An easy way to test it to put a tissue in front of it, you will see that the tissue becomes sucked to the fan.

If ever there are issues with people 'partying late into the night' please don't hesitate to bring this to our attention. We are here 24/7 and enforce the quiet hours we have set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best family holiday ever at this hotel. We've done a lot of travelling over the years and this Hotel definitely rates as one of the best! We stayed for 10 nights with our two grown kids and couldn't ask for anything more. Our family suite was huge.Beautiful and clean with everything you could want along with nice comfy beds. The hot tub was so nice to come to after a day on the slopes and with Chili's as their restaurant you didn't need to go far if you didn't feel like it! The free breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day and the front desk staff were always happy and helpful. We booked a snowmobile tour with recommendations from "Bek" and that was the highlight of our stay! Definitely a must do! Restaurants and shops are all so close and the bus for skiing picks you up right outside. You won't find a better hotel in Banff for comfort and convenience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing