We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The rooms that we had next to each other were amazing. The door In between them opened up and basically turned it into a 2 bed apartment. If I'm ever back in Banff I will be staying here again. The view from the room was amazing as well

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    663
    203
    90
    36
See reviews for
549
916
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My family and I decided to stay there instead of our usual hotel well the rooms are tiny especially for the price! They were very clean and decorated well though that was great, the noise though was unreal and everytime I called front desk said they would fix the problem and nothing was done. So I went down in the morning to complain and was nice about it and the lady said oh was it outside or inside I told her both and she just said ya sorry it's a weekend!!!!!!!
Will never stay there again and I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliCat271984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, however would have appreciated the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. We do not have record of your calls complaining about noise, and am very sorry to hear you were disturbed.

Our room layout and square footage can be found on our website. Here you can determine the size of room that is right for you. Our quiet hour begins at 11pm, and if ever you are disturbed by excessive noise by other guests, simply dial '0' from your room and we'll have security address the issue.

The quiet comfort and enjoyment of your experience is important to us. When made aware of the issue, we will always do our best to rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel has a pool that is extremely warm below the main floors. The pool opens up to the sky above. The free breakfast has enough to get you started for the day. Good food for other meals. The fireplace was cozy and warm. Hotel has a lounge. The rooms were clean. We were there for the Alberta Winter Games and the temperature was -34C.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary1947_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Four of us stayed in a two bedroom suite in February. The bedrooms were large and comfortable with more than enough storage for the paraphernalia that goes with skiing. The lounge area was less welcoming, the sofa was small and uncomfortable and would be cramped if six people were being accommodated. Our biggest annoyance was the inefficient and noisy heating in the lounge. The fan was either on or off and blasted too hot air for a period followed by a short sharp blast of cold air. The thermostat was pretty useless although the bedrooms used different heat and could be kept at a decent temperature. One other notable issue - the floors are wood and the furniture has no cushioning on the feet of the tables and chairs. The room above us were moving around until 4AM some mornings and the scraping of this furniture became very annoying. Felt pads on the bottom of the dining chairs would be welcome!
Breakfast was included and was about as basic as a continental breakfast gets. There was no variety and the only hot option was waffles. The pastries were of variable quality and often stale.
We ate in Chilli's for lunch and dinner and had a good meal, typical of the chain throughout North America.
In the basement of the hotel is a large lagoon / hot tub and sauna which proved popular and is well worth a visit.
Parking was underground and free and with temperatures down to minute 27, very welcome.
Service at the hotel was always great and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would avoid being disturbed by chairs dragging on wooden floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StheBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Fox in early February 2014 while skiing at Lake Louise. The hotel is on Banff Ave and within walking distance to most restaurants.
The rooms are clean, well kept and reasonably priced. We stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds and the room was small and got a bit claustrophobic after 3 nights. As mentioned in another review the soundproofing is poor and you can hear everything from the adjacent room. The mattresses are not very comfortable
The hot tub area is unique and certainly worth a visit. The attached Chili's restaurant is very economical and also the location for the free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent the weekend with a friend and two teenage boys. Finding a two bedroom suite was not easy but totally lucked out on this hotel. Two bedrooms, one upstairs, one down, with a living room in between
A quick 5 minute walk you are in the heart of Banff, close to everything
Our only complaint was the underground (heated...awesome!!) was VERY tight.
I'd go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the hot tub.....awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness of our two bedroom suite.

The heated underground parking as you mentioned can become tight at times, as it is provided on a first come first serve basis. We do have plenty of street parking available as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recently spent the weekend at the Fox Hotel & Suites in Banff, AB, and regretted booking at this hotel. We had a standard room and we heard every word of every conversation in all of the rooms around us. The room had absolutely no soundproofing and we got very little sleep. This is one of the more expensive hotels in town, so I would highly recommend staying at the Delta down the street instead.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesagoodgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay this time. Please note, that if guests are being loud after our quiet hour of 11pm, simply call us at the Front Desk, and we will address the issue.

I'm assuming these guests were particularly loud for you to hear them through your walls. The last review you had left for us was glowing. "Fantastic hotel...almost perfect." so I can only assume that this was an issue of unruly guests. Otherwise, you would not have enjoyed your previous stay.

Since you had one amazing stay with us, and one disturbed by loud neighbors, I do hope you will try us again. We take the comfort and enjoyment of all guests very seriously, and would be happy to discuss further should you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing