We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday in the Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Sutton-inAshfield, Notts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday in the Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked the one bedroom loft suite for seven nights for my fiances birthday arriving from the UK. So glad I chose the Fox! It's so cozy. The room is clean and spacious. The breakfast was fine. I'm not a big eater but generally had toast, muffins, juice and coffee which kept me going till lunch. Chili's was great too for main meals and a drink or two! All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. Would I return...for sure!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was great to have your as our guest, and I do hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    734
    235
    100
    42
See reviews for
607
996
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful-the king suite was like staying at a Swiss chalet with all of the amenities. We even convinced the bartender downstairs (at Chili's) to find the Cardinal baseball game on ESPN. Also, the hot tub was designed like a hot spring which was unusual and very well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was good, but improved when I noticed another guest enjoying Rice Chex, which is gluten-free. I asked her if she had brought it herself, she said no, just go into the kitchen and ask for it which I did.
Overall, this was a wonderful hotel for a 4 night stay in beautiful Banff, AB!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenreichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It's very satisfying to read that we met your expectations! Just a note for others that may follow a gluten-free diet, we also have bread available on request. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

10 days in Alberta, looking around in Banff and Jasper. The 3 nights here were our favorite! The Fox appealed to me right off the bat when I telephoned the hotel directly to make the reservations months in advance (I always do that now). The front desk personnel is exceptionally friendly, accommodating and "present" for guests... both. YOU HAVE A BANNER CUSTOMER SERVICE group there!!!! Terrific hot tub, great rooms. There were lots of places to choose from in Banff, and we were thrilled with our choice. It is just past the bustle of the "miracle mile" of stores/shops/ restaurants. Walkable - maybe 3-4 blocks? Would stay there again (and I don't say that of many hotels).

Room Tip: We had a suite with one BR upstairs and one BR downstairs. Living room and bar/kitchen area. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGWUpstate_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to read your kind comments. It is great to read that your 3 nights at the Fox were your favorite throughout your 10 days in Alberta! I hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Fox was exactly what my wife and I were looking for. From check-in to check out we enjoyed all the ammenities of this pictuesque property. We were on the 3rd floor in a very nice suite the living area was spacious with a desk to use our computer at. We availed ourselves of the coffee maker and very good coffee in the suite prior to going down to the continental breakfast each morning. The bathroom was large, although the dressing area and sink was outside the bath and toilet room. It worked well for us. We used the hotel as a base to do our sight seeing and it worked well. The only negative is the parking. The parking is underground and the spaces are very small. The staff were very helpful and made recomendations for sites and dining. The Hot Spring Pool is a wonderful way to end a long day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norpatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Fox Hotel and Suites and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The room itself was great, spacious, clean and well appointed. It was also lovely and warm, definitely a plus in Banff in September!

The spa suite was what really elevated this from a good hotel to a great hotel. There is an open air hot tub complete with waterfalls and a jacuzzi section, as well as a sauna in the hotel basement. It was a great place to relax after a busy day exploring Banff and the surrounding area, which was made far easier by the complimentary bus tickets provided by the hotel.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, not just for couples but also for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_S_B85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Fox for our final night in Banff as a treat befor ethe long flight home. We had book a superior room but must have been upgraded as we had a suite with a mezzanine level! We also found a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice in the kitchem area which was a lovely touch and we drank it on the balcony overlooking the mountains.

Although we were only there for one night I made sure to make time for a dip in the hot pool which is the special attraction of the hotel. Its a great space, decorated to look like caves and with an open ceiling meaning you can lie back and relax under the stars. I imaging the heat of the pool means that this would still be lovely even in winter or snow, it would just produce a lot of steam!

Finally a special shout out to the receptionist Tim, who was thoroughly professional and went the extra mile, despite being clearly pressed as it appeared there weren't quite enough staff to cover the front desk.

Overall this was the perfect way to round off our stay in Banff and we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_travelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Located about a 10 minute walk from the main restaurant/shopping district, this lovely hotel has a fantastic cosy, quirky vibe with the fox theme located throughout.

We stayed in a standard room which was lovely and clean, decorated nicely and had super fast free wifi. The room was a little dark with not much natural and we would need to turn every lamp on even during the day to provide adequate lighting.

The hotel has a coin operated guest laundry facility, free parking and free continental breakfast. I have seen a lot of complaints about the breakfast on here but if your from Australia, you will probably understand the term 'continental breakfast' and the breakfast provided will be just that. Toast, waffles, fruit and yoghurt, cereal, tea and coffee. Perfect!

My only complaint would be the super thin walls. Our first night we had noisy neighbours that had their tv up very very loud watching sports so the cheering and yelling was just horrible, especially at 11:30pm! The next couple of nights our neighbours were much quieter and the odd noise here and there was no problem until they had a large verbal argument and we could hear every word! A little awkward and uncomfortable!

A suggestion for the hotel would be to maybe have the TV's on a maximum volume so guests don't have to listen to next doors TV.

All in all a lovely atmosphere and the cosy cabin feel stay I was hoping for in Banff.

Would recommend for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon_Kat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing