We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth the rank it has on this website.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the rank it has on this website.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Air conditioning? Hardly. We were extremely uncomfortable for our 4 night stay at the Fox. While it was difficult to get to sleep, it was also hard to stay asleep.

Housekeeping? I suppose at this hotel all that means is making the bed. I can't even be sure that they changed the sheets. Food left after housekeeping tended to our rooms (take out/room service containers too large for small garbage bins, so they were stacked on the table.)

Service? I made a few inquiries to the front desk only to be made to feel like a pest for the 30 seconds of attention required to answer my questions. Very unwelcoming, made me feel uneasy about inquiring further about anything else, or using the hotel services. I went elsewhere for spa services for this reason, after speaking to a number of the employees on D/S and N/S.

What I will say good about the hotel is the location, as others have mentioned it is close enough to walk into downtown yet far enough to be quiet at night. The mountain views from the balcony are lovely and the free parking (when there is space available) is nice (but we were left to park on the road on various occasions throughout our 4 night stay.) the young lady who checked us in was quite friendly and warm, it's too bad the rest of the workers weren't the same.

This was our first trip to Banff, although everything else was lovely and I would highly recommend it, I wouldn't do so for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I am sorry to read you did not sleep well.

Our Housekeeping policy is to clean the room taking out garbage, make the bed, vacuum and bathroom cleaning daily. We change the sheets ever 3rd day, or on the day of check out. When guests have take-out containers of food, we do not toss them. We've made that mistake in the past! Some guests want to eat those left overs later. A quick call to our 24/7 Front Desk, and we certainly could have removed these for you. We also have a pen and paper in each guest room, and sometimes our guests leave us notes as to if they would like take-out containers removed.

I'm sorry to hear you wont' recommend us. We strive to impress each and every guest, and it is disappointing to read that we did not succeed with you. Service is of upmost importance. Never hesitate to ask for what would make you more comfortable, and discuss with management if you feel you are not getting the service you expect.

When given the opportunity, we will do our best to make things right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    704
    223
    99
    41
See reviews for
577
967
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night while in Banff. The first thing that we noticed was the wooden mountain rustic decor. There was only one person at the check-in desk, who I must say was very pleasant and accommodating despite working solo (and for long hours, we later realized). He accommodated our request for a quieter room. We stayed in room 422, which was towards the side of the property. No issues with noise (as others on Trip Advisor & Expedia noted in rooms facing the main road).
The hotel is interesting in that the rooms are situated around a central courtyard, which is exposed to the elements. The room we stayed in had partially obstructed views of the mountains to the rear of the property. The layout of the room is great, with a living room and kitchenette, complete with small fridge and mini coffee maker. There was even a gas fireplace, which would be lovely in cooler months. The suite had a safe, 2 televisions, a clean & comfortable bed, and a small but nicely appointed bathroom. I really enjoyed their toiletries, particularly the lavender hand & body soap!
The hotel is situated a short 10 minute walk from the downtown area. the hotel provides complimentary passes for the bus for those interested, which takes you to the gondola and other sites. We didn't make use of the pool, so I can't comment on it, but we did pass by the pool which has a unique grotto layout. There are laundry facilities, and a small business centre. It was convenient to be able to park our car in the underground garage for the duration of our stay.
Breakfast was continental style with vouchers provided upon checkin for redemption at the Chilis restaurant on site. There were waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal options, and yogurt. We would have liked if there were more hot food choices.
Overall we were very happy with our experience at the Fox hotel, & would probably stay there again if ever we have the chance to return to Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were very nice with a separate bedroom and a small kitchenette with all of the utensil and plates for any meals. There is lots of room to move around in the sitting for family's or friends. The hot tub was wonderful after a very long bike ride, that looked like a deep cave, which was very clean and the lockers had clean towels.

The staff were very helpful and very knowledgable and very friendly. It was great to have breakfast included. The views from the room were great, the train is a little loud at night. It was a great hotel would come back again.

Room Tip: Very close to downtown and is walkable distance from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrizia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Large suite, great for families. It's a bit dated in terms of furnishings and such, but it was clean and the staff friendly. The hot tub "cave" is a fun little touch. It's (unfortunately) attached to a Chili's, and our street-facing room got a lot of noise at night with people talking very loudly, car doors slamming, etc. Overall it was an enjoyable stay for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natemalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Banff town is expensive and most of the hotels are overpriced. However Fox looks nicer than others, very helpful front desk staff. The included breakfast buffet is mediocre--like most breakfast buffets, after one or two days you get sick of the same old stuff. We had a two floor room with a bedroom and a pull out couch in the living room. Convenient location, close to the main stuff in town but a block or two removed from the main crazy chaos. If going to Banff town would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingfamilyphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

im not staff first off. my now wife got engaged in Banff after a great day of dog sledding...the fox hotel was absolutely perfect.. great setting close to everything... check out the grotto ..massive hottube and steam room down stairs.. makes a -30 degree night perfectly warm in the water and steam...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsoccer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Fox Hotel is a great option in this busy town. Away from the noise and hustle of downtown, it's still walking distance to shops, restaurants and the river. Breakfast was included, which was not very exciting, but still a nice convenience to be able to help yourself and get out for the day. We had a king suite which was spacious and comfortable. There was a kitchenette for making snacks and tea or coffee, equipped with dishes, a kettle, microwave and fridge. The Safeway grocery store was only a few blocks away. Free underground parking. It also had a small laundry facility.

Room Tip: There is only one slow elevator so if you don't want to climb stairs, ask for a room on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing