We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we booked this hotel really nice place to stay , will be returning.”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So glad we booked this hotel really nice place to stay , will be returning.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place and staff , nothing I thought this place could do with apart from a/c, really nice rooms , nice pool / bar / restaurant and helpful staff to help you around Banff . . . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fern0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    749
    241
    102
    43
See reviews for
615
1,010
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch. We stayed one night, in between locations on our vacation and I'm so glad I didn't book more. We didn't feel like it was very clean. It was raining and the big bins with laundry were sitting outside soaking it all in.
Didn't like the look of the "breakfast" with everyone digging out of a huge bowl of yogurt, seemed dirty all around, so we went to hotel next door to eat. Pool area small and crowded so couldn't use. Too expensive. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am sorry to read to that you did not enjoy our fine property. I am very confused about your comments regarding cleanliness, as we have never received such comments, and often have guests rave about our Housekeeping Team. In fact, we have received awards for our high standards. I will be in direct contact with you with hopes that you can shed some light on your feedback. We take great pride in maintaining high standards, I am sorry you did not see it this way, and have chose not to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want the BEST hotel experience among more than 200 hotels in the quaint town of Banff, then hunt no more - book your stay at The Fox! We we were lucky enough to be greeted by "The Royal Ambassador of The Fox" - Tas Pereira. When it comes to welcoming guests, handling any situation that may arise needing attention, and just generally bringing even more sunshine than already exists in this part of Canada, then loose your hounds and get to The Fox!
All we can say is the suite was outstanding with balcony mountain view, fireplace, spacious amount of room, free wifi, free breakfast, etc. Isn't this enough to get to The Fox?
Be FOXY, be happy, be a guest at The Fox! You'll never bark again!

Room Tip: Get the suite with the fireplace and balcony! It has the best view of Mount Tuttle (unsure of name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718bobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in early July. The room was small but what I had expected when traveling out of the US. No a/c in the room but we were fine with the open window and fan. We loved the decor and the hot spring/tub. The room was comfortable and the staff very friendly. It was located within walking distance to everything and the restaurant with breakfast included was a nice extra. We were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I'm delighted to read your review, and very happy to hear you found our team friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First time in Banff and for sure not the last!Fox Hotel wonderful we reserved the two bedrooms suite Wow!we came for my husband birthday and when we open the door of are room a bottle of wine and a card was on the table for him!what a nice surprise and very kind attentionthank you Mikael and Tas because of you and and Fox Hotel are vacation was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrinajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honea Path, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked months in advance. Stayed in July, Had read no a/c in rooms, but fan. Thought that must work... WRONG! Very small room. Only window was small window above picture window facing walkway in front of rooms on 2nd floor. Window open, but double shades for privacy prevented any air circulation whatsoever. Spent night with fan blowing hot, stale air upon us all night. Miserable. We had booked 2 nights, so suffered 2 nights!! Expensive room. Ridiculously priced. Never again. Who ever heard of a modern hotel not having a/c????? For $35/night more, we stayed down the street in an elegant, a/c, lovely hotel upon our return to Banff 4 nights later. Be forewarned.. if it's hot weather, stay away from The Fox !!!

Room Tip: require a/c in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry to hear your room was too hot. We did have a few really hot days in July, and thus we've been suffering with feedback about AC this season. Typically in Banff, summer nights cool off significantly.

Usually keeping the blinds drawn and window closed during the day while you're out, and then opening them in the evening will work to cool the room. The fan will help circulate the air. I'm sorry to hear you did not feel this to be adequate.

My suggestion is to book a suite; all our suites DO have AC, and if AC is an important part of your stay, then a suite would work for you.

Once again, I'm very sorry to hear you did not have the experience you were hoping for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned to the States from my first-ever trip to Banff. Not only was the beauty of Banff "over the top," but The Fox Hotel & Suites was truly exceptional. Lots of nice hotels out there, but the entire Staff was remarkable, making our stay there memorable for a lifetime. Friendly and Helpful and Genuinely concerned for the well-being and enjoyment of their guests. We took advantage of the free local bus system courtesy of the Hotel, collected maps, asked questions, stored bags, etc....all without a single raised eyebrow. The Manager (Tas) and the front desk staff were all about customer service, and were able to answer our every question about traveling in Canada. Oh yeah, the daily breakfast, free with each overnight, was a great way to fuel up before the long day ahead. I would return in a flash, and encourage all that like to be pampered to do the same. Last note.....great location close to all shopping in Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the hotel's back side. QUIET with a great view of the Rockies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. It brings us all great satisfaction to see we've succeeded with our goal of providing excellent guest service. I'm so glad you appreciated this! We are genuinely concerned for each and every guest; striving to make everyone's stay a memorable one.

I appreciate you mentioning Tas by name, I will commend him for his efforts. We are certainly very fortunate to have him leading our Front Desk team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Fox Hotel & Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing