We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fox Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banff Inn(Banff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveler rating
1,045
818
274
108
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
818
274
108
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschili's restauranthot tubmake your own waffleswaffle makercontinental breakfastbedroom suiteyogurtcave basinliving areasmall kitchenstandard roomhard boiled eggsunderground parkingsitting roomfree busan upgradebus pass
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights this week here, friendly accommodating staff , very clean rooms ,as others have said the wallpaper with the wildlife on is an interesting touch that makes it a liitle bit different to other hotels ,we thought the rooms were very well equipped..Stay included continental breakfast which was really good , plenty if choice to keep you going past lunch . Free parking and wifi are good to have . Ate in the restaurant (chilli's) in the evening which again was good . Lovely views of the mountains from the hotel , well situated on banff ave for getting around .if we come to Banff again we would definitely stay here again .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had booked two rooms to accommodate 5 adults and 2 kids. When we arrived I had asked for queen beds as this is what I thought I had booked. They told me that Travelocity did not transmit this info but they would put us in rooms with queen beds. I thought this was really nice, but when we got in the small rooms, they had one queen bed and a single pull out couch which would sleep 6. Well with 7 people in two rooms this was not going to work, so back to the desk we had to go. At this point we did not have the beds required to sleep all the people we had booked for. So the only option now was to pay additional money to upgrade to a room that would have enough beds to accommodate what I had originally booked. How is that right? Breakfast was good.

I look forward to my visit at Hidden Ridge Resort in September as I hear it ranks the highest in Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fox Hotel for four nights, July 2 through the 6th. Our first night, we arrived late, and woke up a few hours later sweating, and saw our thermostat said 26 degrees c. That means almost 79 degrees f. We called downstairs to say our AC wasn't working, and the desk told us that only the expensive rooms have AC so we should use the fan in the closet. The next night, we noticed a lot of the guests left their window open at night for air so we tried that. To our misfortune, there were loud people drinking and smoking just outside our room all night., plus our room was still hot even with the window open. The design of the hotel is very open, with all the doors facing the courtyard, so any noise from anywhere in the hotel is loud if your window is open, and the cool ambient temperatures at night never seemed to cool off our room. We spent a lot of money for rooms that made it impossible to get any sleep. Banff was a great destination, but this hotel was Very disappointing.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank RobertaP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We travelled as a family of four and were upgraded to a suite as our rooms weren't ready. We had a very good stay - all the staff from the moment we arrived were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room itself was big and spacious, clean and well located with wonderful views of the mountains. Location-wise it was a 10 minute walk from downtown Banff but the Roam bus service has a stop nearby (the hotel also provide you with passes for this for 3 days). Maybe the only tiny things going against this place were the lack of concierge service (we had LOTS of luggage!) and the fact that the hot spa, while a great facility to have, makes you feel dizzier after a hard day's hiking! However I definitely wanna return to Banff and would consider this place again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Fox. We used to stay at the Rundlestone, but found that it had become quite dated and the staff there were not particularly helpful. In the last 3 years The Fox has become our hotel of choice in Banff. Internet and parking are included which are not the case at other hotels. Also included is a continental breakfast which includes waffles. Very sufficient to keep you going to lunch or beyond.

Front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were without issue. Our room was clean and comfortable and we especially enjoy the foxes on the lights and the wallpaper. Definitely different that your standard hotel. My only complaint, if there is one about the room, is that the bath towels are pretty thin and small in size. We stayed at a Choice hotel in Edmonton on this trip and that is typically a lower end hotel. The bath towels were better there than the Fox.

The sauna and hot tub area is done in a grotto style with opening in the roof to the courtyard above. You definitely have to check it out even if you don't go into the hot tub. My wife loves it.

Have read a few reviews about the room being dated. Not sure what people mean by being dated. As mentioned above, the decor is very different than standard hotel rooms. I don't see that you can date this kind of decor. It is not like they have used shag carpeting from the 70s. This is a unique hotel that is very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: A room with a street view is preferable over the side that faces the Delta Hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews