We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Fox. We used to stay at the Rundlestone, but found that it had become quite dated and the staff there were not particularly helpful. In the last 3 years The Fox has become our hotel of choice in Banff. Internet and parking are included which are not the case at other hotels. Also included is a continental breakfast which includes waffles. Very sufficient to keep you going to lunch or beyond.

Front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were without issue. Our room was clean and comfortable and we especially enjoy the foxes on the lights and the wallpaper. Definitely different that your standard hotel. My only complaint, if there is one about the room, is that the bath towels are pretty thin and small in size. We stayed at a Choice hotel in Edmonton on this trip and that is typically a lower end hotel. The bath towels were better there than the Fox.

The sauna and hot tub area is done in a grotto style with opening in the roof to the courtyard above. You definitely have to check it out even if you don't go into the hot tub. My wife loves it.

Have read a few reviews about the room being dated. Not sure what people mean by being dated. As mentioned above, the decor is very different than standard hotel rooms. I don't see that you can date this kind of decor. It is not like they have used shag carpeting from the 70s. This is a unique hotel that is very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: A room with a street view is preferable over the side that faces the Delta Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    704
    223
    99
    41
See reviews for
577
967
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Banff national park for few days and we stayed at Fox hotel. It has been a pleasant surprise! Free hotel pass to the city center, although at walking distance, excellent service and cleaning. godd breakfast, althought simple and little choise. What was astonishing was the swimming pool and Iacuzzi with warm water. A real extremely pleasant surpise!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The "Fox" basically met my expectations based on Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed in a one bedroom loft suite (4th floor) on the east side. A couple of comments on room 406. It was a warm summer day, and we basically could not open the window in the bed/bath area to sleep as it was very close to kitchen exhaust from Chili's. King bed is a "platform" (no box spring), which made a bit uncomfortable for us. "Blackout" curtains are provided, and needed to block early AM and late PM sun for sleep. Air conditioning does not reach the loft area from the living area. The view, while nice, was not worth paying a pemium for us. I arrived early and they were happy to check us in as room was available. Staff friendly and helpful. While we are not spa people, it was fantastic as many enjoyed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this pleasant family hotel. Our 1 bedroom suite was a good size and allowed us to spread out. We had little contact with staff except at check in and check out but they were efficient and helpful. The hotel provided a free continental breakfast, which was very limited, but sufficient to get you going for the day. Has a coin operated laundry on site, very useful when travelling! It's located on Banff ave, which is the main street, about a 10-15 minute walk from restaurants and shops. The decor is trying to be log cabinish, but is very dark, not to my taste at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Banff. Our family stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room was dated and dark and in need of refurbishment. The positive was that it was clean! Decent continental breakfast and tasty coffee provided by Chili's. a satisfactory stay in Banff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lwandkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and complimentary breakfast. The Fox Hotel & Suites is Banff's newest hotel, I'm sorry you felt it 'dated'. I hope you will choose the Fox for future travels to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family and we had a great time. Staff were very friendly and room was clean. Location was good too just a short walk to all the restaurants and shops which is important with a toddler in tow. They have a hot tub and gym that guests can enjoy. Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The top floor has a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Housemouse901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night at $300 for a queen bed room, including breakfast for 2. It's nicely decorated and clean...but..no air conditioning, which I'm sure isn't usually an issue, but we were there during an unusually hot spell. So we left the one window open (no cross breeze) and the blind up to let in air, which also let in light and sound. Also, while the rooms face in on a courtyard which is very pretty, it also has an opening to the hot springs/tub area...nice to look at, but the sounds from it echo throughout the courtyard ,making it a bit noisy. No mini refrigerator in the room. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The issues here for us were all "structural" in nature, not service. There is a Chili's restaurant on the premises, with a reasonable buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing