We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great establishment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great establishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This well situated hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The suites are spacious and well appointed. The hotel also boasts great views, good restaurant and unique hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angiej05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    727
    234
    100
    42
See reviews for
599
994
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed out of the sking season. The hotel was disappointing. Our room, along with many others, had windows and a door facing the courtyard (and a walkway) in the centre of the hotel, consequently there was no privacy. The room was reasonably well appointed but was far too small for two queen sized beds - this was the smallest room we had experienced on a month long trip in the US and Canada. The room had a notice explaining the hotel management's responsibility, with the help of the police, towards rowdy behavior by hotel guests - the hotel have a quiet time from 11pm to 8 am. It doesn't seem to work, we were woken at 2 am by shouting. However, the restaurant was quite good (and lively) for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard, if there are any, would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm disappointed to read your review. We have various room types at the Fox with square footage ranging from 230 sqare feet, to 750 square feet. We have rooms facing the interior of the hotel, and suites facing the exterior. Perhaps you would have prefered an exterior facing suite with more space? For future travellers, please visit our website to find the perfect room for you.

We do our best to enforce our quiet hour. We hope all guests are respectful of others, however some are having such a good time, their laughter and voice may carry while on the way to their beds. Should you be disturbed, simply dial '0' on your in-room phone for our friendly Front Desk. We are here to assist you 24-7.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our on site restaurant. Hopefully you will visit us again, and perhaps pick another room type? We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I along with 75 of our friends took a group trip to Calgary, Canada last Sept 2012 and stayed at Fox Hotel & Suites at Banff. This trip was so much fun and memorable. Not only did we pack this hotel with our friends everywhere but we had a mishap where we had to be evacuated from our suite into another one because of the fire sprinkler from one of my friend's room setting off and flooding our room.
This place had a barn, rustic, wooden decor. Very cozy and charming from the inside and out. Our room was a 2 story suite although small in size it's comfortable. It has a full size pull out sofa and 2 queen beds downstairs. This hotel has an elevator service from the parking garage to the lobby. I actually requested a lobby level room so that I don't have to pull luggage around. Next time, I will want to request a room just outside of the lobby instead of the rooms around back and also take a 2 bedrooms instead of 1.They have a cave like sauna and hot tub, parking is so accessible and they have an onsite Chili's restaurant for all of us to eat, drink and hang out. Breakfast is included and the staff is very friendly and patient. The hotel is located so close to downtown Banff that you can actually walk it.
My family and I plan to go back here again because there are so many things to do that 4 days is not enough. I will definitely recommend this place if you're looking for something affordable but yet upscale enough to accommodate a family of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyj728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about my recent stay at the Fox! I was so fortunate as to have had a corner suite which offered two stupendous views, one from a roomy balcony c/w french doors leading to it (it also had perfectly comfortable chairs and a little table for convenience) and the other from what I would call the dining room (as I put the table and chairs under that window rather than by the kitchenette, so when eating in, there just couldn't be much better of a backdrop than the mountain view!). Gas fireplace completed the cozy factor, bedroom was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Two tv's available - one in living room area, other in bedroom. Great selection of channels available. Vault in hall closet available. Everything one could think of needing or wanting was there. If I had any kind of complaints, they would be as insignificant as there being only one ice machine (at least that I'm aware of) on the lower level and/or the manoeuvrability in the underground park-ade however any parking garages I've been in, in Banff, have the same issue, tight. Otherwise, an AMAZING place to stay. The hot tub/spa is great - I think a swimming pool would be nice as well if there was space for one. The change rooms for the spa are excellent as well. Laundry facility c/w computer is great. Proximity to downtown is perfect, lobby and Chillis Restaurant are wonderfully done, breakfasts were GREAT, staff was friendly and helpful and I will most certainly return there whenever I can!!

Room Tip: Corner suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a brilliant time here at the fox - as we were on our honeymoon, our kind bridesmaid had informed the hotel and they left us a lovely note with a lovely bottle of wine. A really kind touch. The room was cosy, clean and had a brilliant view of the mountain across the road. Stunning! The hotel also had a very cool grotto/hot springs area which was great after a day of exploring. We would definitely recommend this hotel and send a massive thank you to the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here end of may. Hotel is a short walk into town. Reception, bar area & foyer well appointed. Our group of 6 adults arrived in evening. Staff seemed a little frazzled with the amount of luggage we had (2 bags each) . No official bell boy but check in manager moved luggage to our rooms, which made up for his very poor attitude when we checked in. Pleased to say he was quite nice in days to follow. Room we were allocated was 1 br suite but sadly the bedroom was 1 level down some very steep & narrow stairs. Room upstairs a bit small for 3 adults. We were moved to a single level room when asked and this was a great room with separate sitting & kitchenette . Bedroom had a great view of the mountains and street in front. Beds were very comfortable & cleaning staff were very good and friendly unlike our Montreal experience .

Hotel has its own mineral spa which was great after a long day out. Chillis restaurant & bar is a great place to hang out after the long days, cocktails were good with great service. Jennifer provided really friendly service...which saved the day after our less than welcome check in experience.

Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of continental goodies, waffles were great BUT the best part was the excellent service provided by the breakfast staff especially the man from Perth, Ryan I think. You guys were exceptional... Thank you for making us feel welcome n at home.

Safeways is a 7 min walk into town, town centre is a comfortable n pretty 10 min walk.
Hotel has its own coin operated laundry for guest, which great when staying here for a few nights.

I would be very comfortable in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if your suite is all one level as corner rooms have steep narrow stairs down to the dark bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent 3 nights in at The Fox mid week in early June, our stay was great. The Room: a Superior One bedroom- two level suite with bottom floor consisting of 2 double beds & bathroom, & a flat screen TV, it was a comfortable room for my wife & 2 small children. The upper floor consisted of a modest kitchenette (Fridge, sink, microwave, & coffee maker), this turned out to be a necessity for us and our 3 & not yet 1 year old (glad we upgraded). The upper floor also consisted of a dining table & chairs, a hide-a-bed sofa, & flat screen TV; very cozy but adequate size, clean, & well cared for. Amenities: the Fox was well equipped for any type of stay; small Gym, underground parking, beautiful Lobby, & best if all "The Cave"... a fantastic Hot pool with a cave theme that our entire family thoroughly enjoyed (definite highlight). Eats: Chilies Restraunt was the spot that offered a great lounge & dining area, huge big screen for the hockey game and friendly accommodating staff. The Chilies also hosted the daily complementary continental breakfast, that offered your typical pastries, cereal, fruit, boiled eggs, & juice; but the great perk on the menu was the make your own waffle station.
Overall I would highly recommend the Fox for any type of stay; staff was great, location perfect walking distance from most Banff townsite has to offer (2-3 blocks away from the heart of Banff ave), pool was brilliant, & rooms were modern, clean, adequate. The price was comparable to the rest of Banff options, not great but competitive.
Thank you Fox for the great family getaway!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ipc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing