We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good value in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This motel was very clean and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping on Banff Ave. The room was rather small for two people, but we were only there for 1 night. The staff were very friendly. It was great to come into the lobby with its fire burning after being out in the cold!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubtingNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    663
    203
    90
    36
See reviews for
549
916
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm kind of an expert about Fox hotel by now, have been going to Fox since about 4 years ago and still loving it. This is the only hotel I would recommend to stay in Banff town. Great romantic place for couple or anniversary kind of thing. Convenience location for travelers!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel front desk was always friendly and willing to help. The pool was very different in a good way, however it needs to be warmer. It's like a warm tub not a hot tub. Maybe 94 degrees if lucky. All in all the reviews are correct. Downside try not to get the balcony facing the street. Woke up twice between 12 am and 3am on Friday night. Saturday it was fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingcanucks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay for four nights at the Fox Hotel. We had a two bedroom suite, and the accomodations were perfect. Everything was clean, and we felt very comfortable. We were traveling with other family members, and the staff made sure that all of our rooms were in close proximity to one another. We loved having plenty of space to hang and organize all of our skiing clothes. We also enjoyed the hotel's proximity to all of the local restaurants. It was wonderful being able to walk everywhere. The kids loved the cave/hot springs whirlpool. It was unique, clean, and a great way to unwind after a long day of skiing. We will definitely consider staying at this hotel again when we return to Banff in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Expected a lot less and got a lot more. Underground FREE garage for the car was nice on the cold evening. The hot tub and whirlpool is beautifully designed and very comfortable. The rooms all have outside protected entrances in a rustic setting and, although not very large, are very adequate. The staff were very good and always attentive. The decor is fitting for the area and the restaurant/bar on premises is a plus (although we didn't use it except for breakfast). Breakfast is minimal but there are places downtown if you want to have something else. I didn't check the bed but I believe there was a feather bed cover or something that made it wonderful to sleep on. (I should have checked out what it was to adequately give this review....you will have to check it out and let me know what it is).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avalonavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fox for 6 nights recently and loved it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite once we arrived and are very glad we did. It was huge and had a kitchen area so we could make lunches and store food in the fridge to take to the hills. The hot tub and sauna were perfect after a day of skiing. The room was very clean and perfectly maintained. The free underground parking was great as were the ski lockers and free use of a lock for these lockers. We filled ourselves with a wonderful breakfast each morning before leaving for the hill. I was thrilled to see fresh healthy food, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, fruit and then some must have treats like fresh waffles:) excellent value! I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindainwestboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It was great to have you as our guests! I'm thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations. This is exactly what we strive for with each and every guest. It brings us great pride to hear you felt our property offered exceptional guest service, as well as great value. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundre, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is rustic, but elegant. Great friendly staff were very helpful attending to our needs. We stayed here as a group of 4 ladies on a girls weekend away. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite (the second bathroom was a definite bonus!). One bedroom was two double beds, the other a king bed and there was a pullout couch in the living room too.

The kitchen was sufficient for our needs with a sink, fridge and microwave and a small dining table.

The cave & basin is a hot tub of sorts with attached sauna. It was a great way to soak away the sore feet after a day of shopping in Banff! Part of the cave is open to the outdoors, so you can sit in the warmth of the hot tub with the snow falling down around you.

There is a Chili's restaurant and bar located within the hotel, which is where the free complimentary breakfast is served.

We will certainly be back to the Fox Hotel for our next girls weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelmomSundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing