We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel close to downtown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel close to downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 3 years and both times were great!! I love the decor and layout of the hotel.. You don't feel like your in the town! Nice rooms and great staff. We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit Banff :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFunk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    686
    218
    95
    40
See reviews for
568
947
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

wonderful hotel, small. staff very helpful. chillis restaurant awesome. 10 minute walk into main centre of banff.
bad points
- access to rooms only from outside, so you have to walk back to your room from the hot tub dripping wet in snow/freezing conditions.
- no mini bar/fridge in room. okay as you get great free continental breakfast with your stay but would be nice to be able to keep some beers in your fridge!
-only double beds in the standard room.
-not many towel rails.
-noisy (?thin walls), can hear toilet flushing from room above.
-hot tub very busy in peak periods.

we had the hotel as part of a ski package.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labby87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are just back from 6 nights at The Fox. A special thank you to all the Fox employees but particularly the evening employees at the front desk who went beyond the call of duty on a couple of occasions. Great service throughout for everything.

We stayed in rooms 330-331 which is a double suite. We loved the beds and the pillows are super comfortable. As a family of 4 with 2 older teens, the 2 bathrooms & space was great for an extended stay.

We skiied Louise 2x, sunshine 2x and kicking horse 1x. One day of snow shoe at Norquay and rented from the Snow tips next to the cinema (good place to rent equipment).

For breakfast, there is a need for improvement but 1 employee brought me cottage cheese when I asked which was really nice given the limited offering. Honestly, it should be as good as Hampton Inn. Please improve this weak offering of food. Employees are nice.

We did Chili's for supper only 1x and it was acceptable for family fare. We did the Balkan, the Keg (2x) and ordered in Chinese. The Balkan is a must if you like Greek food.

We walked into Banff at night (about 10 minutes). Bring your ear plugs on weekends too.

The exercise room is too small but the hotel offered us the Banff Suites Convention centre for free which my husband went to and loved it (he had to drive there though).

If you have any questions on the Fox or skiing, feel free to text me.

Enjoy Banff & surroundings area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The rooms are very clean, large flat screen TV, and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Hot tub is a wicked cave style design with open roof to outside. Restaurant is very handy and great food. Service in Banff is second to none in case you have not been here? It seems to be due to the great foreign workers that have come to work and play in town. I enjoy the accents and great attitudes, a welcome break from elsewhere. Only downside is no bar fridge.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were coming back to Calgary from Golden during a bad storm and decided to stop in Banff for night. We had eaten at Chilis before (and enjoyed it) and thought we would have lunch there again and see if we could get a room for the night at the Fox Hotel and Suites. They were so helpful and super nice. It was 1:00 when we asked about a room and not only did they have a room available but it was ready and they let us check in right away, which was great as I had a very tired baby who needed to be fed and changed. The room was cozy, VERY clean and affordable.The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean, the hot pools were also very nice and much needed after a long drive and the hotel itself was quiet.
I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here with 2 young kids (age 3 and 1). We stayed in a premium loft with king. No complaints. For those with young kids like ours who are not good with stairs, might not want to book this room as you have to keep a constant eye on them because the stairs are steep. One downfall and completely our fault. Great rooms though! Fire place in room was nice but also, another thing you must keep an eye on as it gets really hot on the outside! If our one year old was older, then we wouldn't have felt the constant need to watch her every move. Great location, a quick drive; short walk to all the restaurants/shops. Chilis was great to have in the hotel. Didn't have to leave he hotel if the girls were really hungry when we woke up. Breakfast at chilis was simple and free. Continental, waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, 3 cereal options, small selection of fruit. Like I said simple and did the trick when we the girls didnt have patience to go somewhere else to eat breakfast. (Banff has amazing restaurants def try different places!!!) can't complain at all about our stay! Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting much more based on other TripAdvisor reviews. My king bed room was small, the carpet and couch stained. Couldn't see the TV from the couch. The sink was outside the bathroom which is ok except that there was nowhere to hang a towel. The light switches in the room were oddly placed behind the door and halfway down the wall in the bathroom. Could clearly hear the people in the next room. The rooms open onto an internal 'courtyard' around the hot tub with external walkways. The walkways are not well protected against the rain. The hot tub was noisy on the weekend as were the walkways. The exercise room equipment is old and very limited. On the positive, the hot tub is neat, big and hot. Chilli's restaurant is friendly and offers good, reasonably priced food and drinks. Plenty of underground parking, continental breakfast included in the room price and free wifi. Have stayed in better priced Banff hotels such as the nearby Banff Lodge and Caribou Lodge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you. We do have towel hangers at each sink, so I'm confused by this comment. Our fitness room, though small has equipment that is just 5 years old. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed Chili's, as well as our heated underground parking, and free wi/fi. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed a previous stay at our sister property, the Caribou Lodge & Spa. The unique open design concept of the Fox, does not appeal to everyone. I hope you will choose our sister property upon your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing