We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting much more based on other TripAdvisor reviews. My king bed room was small, the carpet and couch stained. Couldn't see the TV from the couch. The sink was outside the bathroom which is ok except that there was nowhere to hang a towel. The light switches in the room were oddly placed behind the door and halfway down the wall in the bathroom. Could clearly hear the people in the next room. The rooms open onto an internal 'courtyard' around the hot tub with external walkways. The walkways are not well protected against the rain. The hot tub was noisy on the weekend as were the walkways. The exercise room equipment is old and very limited. On the positive, the hot tub is neat, big and hot. Chilli's restaurant is friendly and offers good, reasonably priced food and drinks. Plenty of underground parking, continental breakfast included in the room price and free wifi. Have stayed in better priced Banff hotels such as the nearby Banff Lodge and Caribou Lodge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you. We do have towel hangers at each sink, so I'm confused by this comment. Our fitness room, though small has equipment that is just 5 years old. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed Chili's, as well as our heated underground parking, and free wi/fi. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed a previous stay at our sister property, the Caribou Lodge & Spa. The unique open design concept of the Fox, does not appeal to everyone. I hope you will choose our sister property upon your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    673
    209
    91
    37
See reviews for
561
927
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Fox with our teenage daughter this past week. We had one of the 'loft suites' and it was as lovely as in the pictures. The hot tub was a great treat, we all enjoyed that, especially after a day skiing. The continental breakfast was as would be expected, not amazing but ok. There was enough of a variety that we could all find something. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful experience. It's a lovely hotel with a great view !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 323Catherine_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 daughters aged 6 & 9. As a couple we had travelled to Banff before having children and stayed in the Banff Springs twice.This holiday was to be our daughters first ski holiday and we wanted a suite rather than the room...the fox looked ideal and didn't disappoint. We had a 2 storey suite (room 214). The downstairs had 2 double beds and en-suite bathroom. Upstairs a well equipped (kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave, cutlery and crockery) kitchenette, dining area and bed settee. Both floors had a TV. The bus stop was outside the next door hotel for daily transfers to & from Sunshine & Lake Louise. We booked bed & breakfast and breakfast was lovely - waffles, fruit, toast, pastries, yoghurt, cereal, juices, tea & coffee. Ideal food before skiing. The hot tub area is lovely - a real treat after skiing. Really useful coin operated laundry too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel felt so homely and relaxed. My only tiny criticism was I wished the beds were bigger (its always tricky sleeping in double beds when you are used to super king beds at home) however this aside we are already talking to our travel agent about booking here for February 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy-Hartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently had a great stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites.

The hotel has real "chalet" feel to it. There is lots of wood on the walls and ceilng and there is a fire burning in the lobby which smells great when you walk in. The staff was very friend and helpful and the rooms were very modern with kitchenettes, granite countertops and fridges. Other highlights include:

Free underground heated parking
Great indoor/outdoor hot tub and spa area
Chilli's resturant inside the hotel. They will deliver to your room and they show all the hockey games on TV.
Free continential breakfast
Discounts on rentals and lift tickets
The rooms can be connected via ajoining doors to created larger suites

The only negatives I have are minor:
1) Chilli's closes at 12 - it would be nice to have the bar stay open until 2
2)Although on Bnaff Ave, it is at the end of the strip so you have about a 15 min walk to the heart of the village.

I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sleeping quarters on a different level. Some rooms have separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestreviews1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for our anniversary weekend February 15-17th. This is our fourth stay at this hotel as it has everything we could possibly want and has become our favourite in Banff!
The vibe at the hotel is very friendly and the ambiance is rustic, natural and woodsy. The rooms are always impeccably clean and comfortable. There is a Chili's Restaurant within the hotel which makes it very easy to enjoy some après ski drinks or snacks! If you do plan on skiing, the hotel next door (to the left) is the first pick-up spot for the shuttle to Sunshine, Norquay or Lake Louise, so you are likely to get a seat on the first bus. They have the schedule available at the front desk. The cost is $15 return foe adults (you pay the driver) and is a wonderful way to avoid the hassle of parking at the hill.
This past weekend the hotel was fully booked due to Valentine's Day, so all they had available was a standard hotel room, which suited us just fine. Normally, if the hotel isn't fully booked, we are offered an upgrade for a small fee to a larger, one bedroom suite which we just love! We didn't notice a difference in value for the money with the smaller room, it was just as cozy and clean and was the perfect place to relax in after a full day of skiing. The hot pool area is amazing and is meant to look like a natural/cave hotspring. It's very nice to sit and relax in!
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas and New year after much deliberation. 3 skiing all different abilities husband wife and 11 year old son. It was amazing, great shuttle bus to town or any one of the 3 ski areas. Friendly service, very helpful but not intrusive. the rooms are small but very clean and more than adequate. Not cheep but good value as far as skiing accommodation is concerned.Great holiday highly recommend it.

Room Tip: if you can afford it get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reception and general impression very good but like other reviews double rooms small and bathrooms too small to have washbasin in ! We decided to upgrade to a suite as there were three of us for 11 nights plus luggage. We were woken at three am on the saturday night including our 4 year old to the sound of partying guest in the courtyard talking to guests on the floor above, when we told the reception their answer was it should be better when your in the suite! I feel the hotel should stop people using the courtyard between 2 and 6 am. Chillies was great to eat in and you could get room service if necessary. Breakfast became very boring and there was no option of ordering extras which we would be happy to pay for I.e porridge or bacon. The roam bus tickets were great and the hot tub was so nice after a day skiing but does get very busy at peak times. Having the laundry facilities was a great bonus. I feel the room cleaning appeared very rushed and not thorough and often done late in the day. Overall we enjoyed banff and many things about this hotel but for the price they need to sort out the breakfast and the noise issues.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a suite on the 4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DorsetCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing