We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel ... Not Great Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel ... Not Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a Premium King Loft...room was okay..it was clean but nothing special...bathroom was tight..pull out couch not the worst I've ever slept on but not really comfortable.. Noise control is poor (we heard the couple next to us a few times in the night) but we were tired from skiing so it didn't bother us. The hot pool is nice but kind of fake..no view like at Hidden ridge and it was really hot (my kids preferred Hidden Ridge because there is a pool below the hot tub that is cool for swimming) We liked thecomplimentary breakfast and dined at Chili's one night...it was good for a tired ski family. I'm not sure this hotel is worth the money...you won't have a bad experience but you might feel you spent alot for what you got!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2boys67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    704
    223
    99
    41
See reviews for
577
967
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent property. I tend to hold more expensive hotels to a higher standard (you get what you pay for) - and even still, Fox Hotel exceeded my expectations. We were lucky enough to visit on the friends and family rate, which made the King loft suite reasonable. (Regular price, it would have to be a VERY special occasion for us starving university students :).

Room was immaculate. As mentioned in previous posts, bathroom setup is a bit different / cramped, but that's definitely not the focus of the room. Our room was in the corner and had somewhat limited views of the mountains (F&F rate - not a complaint!), but still gorgeous ambiance.

The hot pool was very nice; a great replacement for the Banff Hot Springs if you've already tried it. We went on a Sunday, so definitely low time. Chili's closed pretty early so we had to venture out for food. The bartender who was tidying up though had great suggestions for where to go for dinner though, so all was good.

I'm terrible with names, but every single staff person was very friendly, would engage us in conversation, and seemed genuinely interested in how our day was going (front desk staff, our waiter in the morning, everyone!). No complaints about parking. Breakfast was a simple affair, but included in the stay, so value wise, we couldn't complain at all.

I would highly recommend, and would not hesitate to visit again (especially if we got another sweet deal - which unfortunately isn't possible now that high season is gearing up).

Room Tip: Our loft was located in the front by the stairs. Limited views of the mountains, but still fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevileon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had to teach at a conference in Banff and so was travelling alone and needed a quiet room. The more expensive hotels in Banff could guarantee quiet but the Fox had an advantage...free Wi-Fi and free parking and complimentary breakfast....wow, that seems like a great deal...and a great deal it was. My room was small with one queen bed and a tiny sofa made for two...perfect for me or for a romantic nite...I think it could have been part of another room that wrapped behind as there was an interleading door....The family in the other room were not noisy, thankfully, so I got the quiet I needed but I could hear them talking to their kids and I am sure they heard me talking on the phone too! That wall or interleading door is not quiet...nor private in terms of conversation!
However, I had a great sleep and was not woken by any noise. The bed was super comfortable too.
The complimentary breakfast clearly says it is continental so I thought it was quite well supplied ....it had a waffle station, fresh fruit, fruit salad, yoghurt, granola, cereal, cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, a variety of baked muffins and danishes, white and brown breads and jams . ...fresh orange juice, apple juice, coffee and tea....
The hot tub is in the basement but made into a cave-like structure and is open to the sky....it is small but really awesome.
The staff are helpful and friendly at all times.
Wow, I think I have found my new place to stay in Banff!

Room Tip: ask the booking agent for a quiet room and they really do try...but if the hotel is full, it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAMCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review! I LOVE your last line, and do hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having stayed several times over the past few years, my wife and I have received nothing but exemplary service from all employees encountered. A billing discrepancy during our past stay was handled promptly and professionally by Tassilo. I would not hesitate to recommend the Fox to family/friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great place. Clean, comfortable, and everything went smoothly! We stayed in the one bedroom suite. It's possibly the set up of the rooms where there is stairs or maybe part of another room wraps behind but we could hear other people at times just walking around and it was surprisingly loud. Fortunately the noise wasn't loud enough to wake us up but just something we noticed. The heating system in the upstairs needs to be looked at.. very loud when it's running. Both things were tolerable and not a huge deal. Would still recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

From the minute the transfer coach stopped outside the hotel, you could just tell that The Fox was a classy establishment.
Inside, we were greeted by an extremely professional and helpful check in assistant who talked us through the ski bus pick up points and other bits of useful information.
We originally booked a standard hotel room with one queen bed. Whilst checking in, we were offered an upgrade to a one bedroom suite for $30 a night extra. At this time, we decided against and went up to our standard room.
As soon as we opened the door, it became apparent just how small the standard rooms are. There is no storage space for ski bags and other luggage and it would have been hard for us to last 11 nights in a room this size.
We immediately upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was the best decision we could have made and I would recommend it to anyone staying with a large amount of luggage for longer than a couple of nights. The room was much larger with a good sized king bed. The en suite was small however the shower was of a good quality. The fireplace and living area were all well presented.
Breakfast was good and the staff were always friendly, plenty of waffles were eaten!
The Chilis restaurant was good and staff were always on hand to assist with advice on cocktails etc..
The Ski bus departs from next door at the Banff Inn, so no worries in getting a seat.
Walk in to town is around 10 minutes on a flat pavement.
On the whole, had a very pleasent stay at the Fox, the only downside for us was that at weekends, the hotel can become very loud at night, we were woken on both the Friday and Saturday night, first time was people returning home from a night out and the second by some idiot of a man who thought he would sit in the step outside our bedroom wanting a ******* cigarette! I didn't bother with ringing reception but I'm sure they would have acted if required.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiskiskiandrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staff was nice, check in was smooth & parking was a breeze. The restaurant was also nice but the breakfast they provided in the morning lacked variety. I think the only thing we had was cereal, I vaguely remember but it was decent.

Now let’s get to the room shall we? It was tiny and we didn't like it at all. My girlfriend called to complain and asked if we could switch rooms but they wanted to charge an arm and a leg for an upgrade even though they had bigger/better rooms vacant ( I know this because they showed us a few options) My gf works in a hotel so she knows how easy it is to upgrade rooms when they are available and the most I've ever been charged was $30 for an upgrade. Due to the ridiculous charge we decided to stay put in our tiny trailer-esque room.

Other than the unsatisfactory room we had a great stay. There pool is pretty awesome and the location is nice as well. We walked to a restaurant called El Toro and even though it was close to closing time they were very accommodating and the food was AMAZING! Overall it was a nice stay in Banff.

I'll try to add photos later on...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourDeMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm a bit confused on your 'arm & a leg comment' as I've confirmed that the upgrade fee offered was indeed $30. Should you wish to discuss, please contact me directly.

I'm very pleased to hear that over all your stay was great, and you made use of our beautiful hot pool.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Fox in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing