We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We'd stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We'd stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Fox and decided to upgrade to a two bedroom suite which worked very well for us, although the rooms are quite dark. We had a "mountain view room" and I have to say that it was not, certainly in terms of what should constitute such a view. I did query and was assured it was a mountain view room. I guess it was if you went out onto the balcony (in -22 degrees C) and looked at the hill across the road and then looked left and then right to see the mountains. You could not see mountains from inside the room, even lying down in the bed. Aside from that, we enjoyed our stay, loved the hot pool and the margaritas in the bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is quite a walk into the town, especially in the cold, so using the Roam bus is highly recommended. The hotel provides cards for the bus which is a great service. We would stay at the Fox again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BF2_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    689
    219
    95
    41
See reviews for
569
949
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a group of two couples and rented a two bed suite. The room was fantastic with a little livingroom/kitchen
& two balconies.
Breakfast was ok, it was top notch for continental. Had amazing waffles.
Grotto cave hot tub was perfect after a long day of skiing. Late at night it was empty, peak times very busy - regardless after the mountain it was the perfect place to relax. It is the coolest hot pool I have been in besides totally natural caves!
In general this place is made to have fun, the rooms are pretty much soundproof, which was a blessing with the drunk husbands ha ha.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family of four was warmly welcomed at the Fox in the New year. We so enjoyed the relaxed , friendly atmosphere, the comfortable apartment, the wonderful hot spa, and the Mexican stlye restaurant and bar in the lobby. The service is excellent and the ski bus pick up and ski rental drop -offs & pick ups is a bonus. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Short walk into town but for those days when you are tired the city bus picks up just steps away (we even got a free bus pass with our stay). Our room was rustic (in a very good way!) and quiet. Our suite had a fireplace and a private balcony.

If we travel back to Banff we will definitely stay here again.

Breakfast was included but it was just mediocre. Short of that I have nothing but praises for this hotel.

We traveled during off season. Missed some of the wild life but it was an awesome time to go.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room facing the back. Stairwell access to back street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelli_L_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with wife and two teenage kids for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. It was luxury to spread out after a tiny New York apartment. The rooms were well appointed, great big comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms with instant hot water. The hotel is attractive and very comfortable and the service at the front desk is impeccable. My only gripe is breakfast is very 'light on' (bacon and eggs would be great). I will stay at the Fox whenever in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aedwards62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for nine nights over the new year period for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived staff could not have been more helpful. They had lots of helpful advice on ski passes and rentals. The lobby is so warm and inviting and we loved the atmosphere in the hotel.Our suite was perfect with a king size bed and fireplace, and a bottle of champagne as a gift. The room was cleaned from top to bottom daily. The hot pool was amazing and again changing facilities were spotless. We ate at Chillis restaurant three times during our stay, staff here were also very friendly and helpful and the food was great. The breakfast was just what we needed every morning and we didn't become tired of it! The roam bus which is included in the stay is also a great feature for getting to the Banff gondola and buses to the ski resorts are convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing hotel, Friendly staff, good value and great location. The Fox Hotel & Suites is a short 5 minute walk into town. For skiers and boarders the bus picks you up right next door and will take you to any of the big 3 mountains. Besides the beautiful, cozy rooms, The Fox has a great hot tub that mimics a Hot Spring. Also, guests get a complimentry breakfast for every day stayed at the Chili's downstairs.

This is my 2nd time staying at The Fox, and if/when I go back to Banff I'll definetly be staying here again. 5/5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing