We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought this was the new favorite - NOT so”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I thought this was the new favorite - NOT so”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

the entry to this hotel is beautiful (very festive at christmas time)... great underground parking... free internet... and a beautiful room... super clean...HOWEVER, the bed was simply horrible (i've never complained about this in a review); my partner hardly slept, and I felt like a truck ran over me in the morning... This hotel had everything in place for a beautiful stay - but lacked a good bed... So if you want to have a good nite's sleep, don't go here...

Room Tip: Maybe by the time you visit, there will be new mattresses... ask and maybe you will fair better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acminkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your kind comments about the positive aspects of your stay.

You did inform us at check out about the mattress, and we have since replaced the mattress in that room.

I do hope you will return to us, and enjoy all the comforts you spoke of, including a great nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    732
    235
    101
    42
See reviews for
604
996
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday this past weekend, and we both absolutely loved it.

We were in a loft suite, complete with a fireplace and a gorgeous mountain view. Upon arrival, there was a birthday card and bottle of sparkling wine for me, which was the perfect added touch. The log cabin style of the hotel was super cute, and the rooms pretty much have the comfiest beds ever.

The front desk staff were fantastic! On our way to dinner, we stopped by the desk to see if we could get a late check out. Tim (I think) told us right away that it was no problem at all, and extended our stay by an hour and a half. When we checked out, Hana was extremely polite and friendly and let us leave our car in the hotel parking lot while we walked around Banff (downtown is only about a 10 minute walk - if that, so it's super convenient).

We were given complimentary breakfast passes to have breakfast in Chili's, however; we slept in and didn't end up using them.

As someone who's spent most of her life working in the hospitality industry, this is exactly the type guest service I have come to expect. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone staying in Banff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is nice enough, but is not worth the ratings it advertises. It is closer to motel level. The rooms are so small you have to walk sideways to get around the beds. Most room face an interior courtyard where there is a nice / huge hot tub. That is great but the after ski crowd like to party and it is very noisy. On our stay both nights ere was partying very late into the night. We could hear the couples in the neighbouring rooms. Luckily the headboard banging only lasted a couple minutes. There was partiers yelling and running up and down the halls/balconeys. On check out we were asked if they was anything staff could have better, when we politely voiced our concerns we were give a stern lecture about how it was our fault for not complaining and for not asking for an exterior room.

Room Tip: Am for an exterior room. Phone ahead for a king size bed, the hotel has very few of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do inforce our quiet hour of 11pm. Should you be bothered by noise of any kind after that hour, please contact us so we can address the situation.

We have both interior and exterior facing rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly, to secure a room type and location to best suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by the Fox. The hotel is clean, the room was quiet, friendly staff, and is a short walk to the main Banff shops. We liked the outdoor walkways to get to the rooms.
The attached Chili’s restaurant served a great morning buffet.
I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrydj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stay at the Fox at least once a year, and it is our favorite hotel in Banff. It's clean and nicely decorated, and feels high end without being stuck up. I love the rustic charm with the fireplace and log cabin decor. Rooms are nice but the best part is the Fox Hole hot tub in the grotto. And you get free waffles in the morning!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTB403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

-We stayed here recently for two nights with our little 9month old baby.
-The staff was helpful and brought a playpen to our room upon arrival.
-We found a decent last-minute deal on Expedia, and the hotel matched it without having to book online.
-They also helped us get an early-check-in room which meant a lot with us.
-Front desk gave us maps, bus passes, free breakfast voucers and took the time to explain bike routes. Very nice.
-The hotel is GORGEOUS on the outside as well as the inside. Rooms a bit on the small side BUT are beautiful and also have a pull out couch and sitting area along with the bed.
- Easy access to whatever side of the street you're parked on. Elevators are SO slow however, so best to use the stairs.
- The pool is beautiful, deffinetly a must-see even if you're not planning on swimming.
- Only issue which has nothing to do with the hotel but the restaurant IN the hotel, Chilis...HORRIABLE service..Noone attended to us during lunch or evening snack...We wasted our time sitting there only to go to the Keg a few doors down. The free breakfast was not good, not much to choose from except waffles and fruit.
- Overal we cant wait to go back again, we just won't be stopping in Chilies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaLanaLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Quiet hotel with log cabin style build. Cozy rooms w/great beds, couch, & room for ski gear in closet. Hot tub is in the style of the traditional cave & basin... large, made to look like a cave w/small waterfalls. Room service with no extra charge from hotel's Chilli's restaurant. You do not need a Banff National Parks pass if you are staying in the hotel and using their underground parking.

Our favourite 2 night getaway for a ski vacay in Banff.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the backside on busy nights to avoid main street traffic & party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing