We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fox stop!”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Decided to stay at the Fox in a last minute decision as we were driving through Banff and stayed a night. Did some hiking and spent lots of time downtown which isn't too far. Loved the underground parking, very convenient. The hot tub is the best I have ever been in. I can imagine how awesome the hot tub would be in the winter. Spectacular!
We ended up staying two nights in the hotel as it was so awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Fox for the weekend of Winterstart. The hotel, the room, the staff.. everything was exceptional! You walk in, and immediately get the sense of a cozy mountain retreat with the wood fire burning. The room was immaculate and charming. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and accomodating. There's free wifi, which can essentially be used all over the town I found... huge bonus! We found it was very easy to walk into the centre of town from the hotel, and did not need our vehicle during our stay. I forgot my bathing suit and was very disappointed I couldn't use the hot tub, but friends who also stayed said it was fantastic... must remember to pack it next time!

Only annoying factor was there was no underground parking available to us, and we ended up having to park our vehicle on a side road about two blocks away, most likely because it was a busy weekend and the race start was a block away. However, I ended up thinking about my car all night long. Chili's was what it was - Chili's. We tried to grab a late dinner, and ended up waiting a half an hour for a table, despite the restaurant being dead. Will make sure to make a reservation elsewhere so we would have another option next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard suite with two beds. Beds are doubles, just something to keep in mind. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Probably one of my all time favourite hotels. Stayed towards the end of September for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is clean and staff very helpful. Chilli's is a great place to eat and the location of the hotel was excellent.
The free bus pass was well used during our stay but the 10-15 minute walk into town was also nice.
We stayed in the superior loft suite and could not fault it.
When we revisit Banff in the future the Fox will be on top of my list for places to stay.
If I had to be picky I'd say the only bad point was the broken tikes on the lift/elevator floor need repairing as they could pose a danger to children.
Overall lived my stay at the Fox so much we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilbo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a great stay !! The room was ready when we arrived and it was impeccably clean. The room was perfect for our little family. The service was second to none and we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The hot tub area was great - we agreed that it was probably the nicest hot tub area we have been to and we have stayed at plenty of 5 star resorts throughout north america and Europe. The pool and floor were very clean and the design idea is really interesting.

Thank you to the staff for an excellent retreat !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloydcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love this place from the moment you walk in. Nice fireplaces and great ambience.

The rooms are fantastic and well equipped. I just love the smoky wood smell lingering around the hotel. Perfect!

I will be coming back here next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiDziE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent choice for a stay in Banff. Nice decor and good staff but highlight is their hotpool. Designed to look like a natural hotsprings grotto but without that sulphur smell. Loved it! I'm not a big fan of Chili's Restaurant but again the service was good. Expensive in high season but so are all the other Banff hotels. I went late October when prices were very good. The Fox is a notch or two better than surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lost1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 ( new to Trip Advisor hence the late review). A well appointed hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved the room and had all that was needed. The underground spa pool was perfect to unwind after a hectic ski. Walking distance of Banff but bus stop just outside ( discount for hotel residents). Ski bus from just outside hotel to all 3 resorts....hopefully will stay the same for 2013!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back to avoid main road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggywinkle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $108 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing