We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Probably one of my all time favourite hotels. Stayed towards the end of September for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is clean and staff very helpful. Chilli's is a great place to eat and the location of the hotel was excellent.
The free bus pass was well used during our stay but the 10-15 minute walk into town was also nice.
We stayed in the superior loft suite and could not fault it.
When we revisit Banff in the future the Fox will be on top of my list for places to stay.
If I had to be picky I'd say the only bad point was the broken tikes on the lift/elevator floor need repairing as they could pose a danger to children.
Overall lived my stay at the Fox so much we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilbo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a great stay !! The room was ready when we arrived and it was impeccably clean. The room was perfect for our little family. The service was second to none and we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The hot tub area was great - we agreed that it was probably the nicest hot tub area we have been to and we have stayed at plenty of 5 star resorts throughout north america and Europe. The pool and floor were very clean and the design idea is really interesting.

Thank you to the staff for an excellent retreat !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love this place from the moment you walk in. Nice fireplaces and great ambience.

The rooms are fantastic and well equipped. I just love the smoky wood smell lingering around the hotel. Perfect!

I will be coming back here next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiDziE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent choice for a stay in Banff. Nice decor and good staff but highlight is their hotpool. Designed to look like a natural hotsprings grotto but without that sulphur smell. Loved it! I'm not a big fan of Chili's Restaurant but again the service was good. Expensive in high season but so are all the other Banff hotels. I went late October when prices were very good. The Fox is a notch or two better than surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lost1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 ( new to Trip Advisor hence the late review). A well appointed hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved the room and had all that was needed. The underground spa pool was perfect to unwind after a hectic ski. Walking distance of Banff but bus stop just outside ( discount for hotel residents). Ski bus from just outside hotel to all 3 resorts....hopefully will stay the same for 2013!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back to avoid main road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggywinkle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Devon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a good hotel with well appointed rooms and good venue. The only disappointment was the restaurant being part of the Chili's chain. However the service was good and so no complaints. I would happily recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We passed through Banff towards the end of September. On arrival we were offered a upgrade at $20 extra. We declined, but we're then given the room anyway, as it was ready for occupation and our booked one wasn't! It was a two room apartment. Modern and very pleasantly furnished, although one of the few place we stayed with only one (very comfortable) bed (not that we minded). It has a good underground car park included in the price. A very reasonable breakfast was included in the price which is taken in the restaurant. We also ate both evenings in the restaurant Chillies. The food was typical mid to upper end British pub food, reasonably priced for Canada. Whilst out of town, its only a pleasant 15 minute walk there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixie_dean_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#5 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing