We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“the best in banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“the best in banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

The Fox is the best place to stay in Banff. We stayed in various other properties in Banff and all were pretty good , but the Fox has that edge. Staff excellant and so was everything else. We will be going back in December.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maltesetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    674
    209
    92
    37
See reviews for
561
928
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Our family of four just spent 8 days at the Fox Hotel in Banff, and we hope to return there every year. For an incredibly reasonable price, we had a 2-bedroom suite that was spacious, very clean, and had very comfortable beds. Breakfast at Chili's was included and offered a great selection and very cheerful service. We have rarely experienced a hotel stay where we were treated with such personal attention and concern for our comfort. The front office staff was always extremely helpful, and the ski school and ski rental shop associated with the hotel were wonderful. Anyone who can schedule ski lessons with Traci Gardner or snowboard lessons with Carlo should go for it - they were enormously patient and great fun to be with. The hotel itself is well located - an easy walk into town - and has the most incredible hot pools in a grotto-like setting. We felt like we were at home there, and even feel a little homesick! We'll be back soon!

The Kissners
Kamuela, Hawaii

  • Liked — Friendly, competent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 3kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed at the Fox Suites Banff from 22nd Dec 2007 to 2nd Jan 2008 on a skiing holiday (Xmas and New Year), my wife and I with 15 and 18 year old sons. Can't fault the place.
The apartments were fantastic, we stayed in an apartment that had a log fire, Flat screen televisions in living room and bedroom, the bedroom was on a balcony overlooking the living room/kitchenette, looking out to mountains either side. My two sons stayed in a very similar apartment on two floors. The Spar opens to the air in the middle, it was hotter than a normal bath and very relaxing after skiing all day. Service was excellent, reception staff unbelievably helpful (Winnie Chinese receptionist the best) and couldn't do enough to help.

Canadian people so polite and friendly (if only all the countries we have visited were the same).
Banff as a town has everything you need.

The only down side as a skiing resort is that you need to bus to the three mountains, Norquay 15 minutes, Sunshine Mountain 30-35 minutes and Lake Louise 45-50 minutes, which we were not used to, having previously skied in Europe (hotels by the slopes). However, the skiing/snow was guaranteed and excellent on the Mountains with very small queues compared to Europe, the lift staff even help you on to the lifts and decide whose turn it is to go next rather than the normal mad scramble and pushing in.

Spent a day with my two sons on the Skidoos at Kicking Horse, 1 hour 40 minutes away, Bus included in the price of £125 per person, this seems a lot but to travel on these things (30mph+) plus stop on the mountain for a barbecue just has to be done or you will regret it. Ian and Curtis were the guides who were excellent. White N Wild is the company ([-]), you have got to try it.

All in all this was an excellent holiday.

Regards
Blanks

  • Liked — The room quality
  • Disliked — Sometimes noisy heating
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Blanks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Fox Hotel & Suites just before Christmas and we cannot rave about it enough. We think it is definitely the best place to stay in Banff.

Not only are the hotel rooms and facilities absolutely gorgeous but the staff are fantastic. Every staff member we dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful and a number of staff in particular went over and above the call of duty to ensure that we were well taken care of during our stay.

We cannot thank the staff enough for everything they did for us and we would recommend the Fox Hotel & Suites to absolutely everybody.

  • Liked — The fabulous staff and the gorgeous facilities.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was fantastic.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

This hotel is new in July 2007 and still has some minor construction ongoing. However, none of this affected our stay negatively. The property is nice and the materials used in construction are quality and this hotel is poised to make a splash as it matures. The hot pool is quite nice with a grotto setting. Dont expect a hot tub as that is not what it is, rather enjoy it for what it is, a relaxing hot pool in a great atmosphere. We had a standard room, which was smaller than the average hotel room, recommended for parties of 3 or less. Anymore and you want something bigger. This hotel would've recieved top marks from me except for you having to travel outside atleast somewhat to get to your room, the rooms not having curtains (courtyard lights are slightly visible at night), and the restaurant only serves continental breakfast. For a hot breakfast they recommend the Keg at Caribou Lodge which is not far and is another one of there properties. Facilities were clean and staff was very friendly. Included heated underground parking is a plus. Would return.

  • Liked — Hot Pool
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

The Fox is the foxiest hotel in Banff. If your looking for an accommodation that looks great, priced right and super friendly service then the Fox is your choice.

I enjoyed the two large flat HD tv's which don't even exist in most of the bigger name hotels. The soap in the room is local, the coffee is local and the tv turns on to the local channel. This is what it's all about, enjoying all things local which is what I try to do on all my trips.

The Chili's restaurant has a fun atmosphere which is great for families and you have to try their margaritas.

Overall this is the place to stay right in the heart of Banff.

  • Liked — Accomodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aydin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

I just spent the weekend at the brand new Fox in Banff and it exceeded all expectation. Rooms are spacious, very clean, well decorated and cozy. The staff is top notch and every last detail is covered. The rooms have large wall mounted flat screen TV's and the Fox has a huge indoor/outdoor hot tub that shouldn't be missed.

  • Liked — Great rooms.........beautiful lobby.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank stano_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing