We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new hotel”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brand new hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We found this hotel easily, as it is situated along with all the other hotels on one long road leading out of Banff centre. this is a brand new hotel only about 3 months old.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was a suite and was very nicely decorated and comfortable.
The lounge had a wall mounted palsma tv, and a small kitchenette. The bedroom also had a tv on the wall, and an ensuite bath/shower, the sink was separate in the bedroom.
The room was a little dark and although very nice you didn't feel like staying in it to relax for long.
The hotel has an unusual hot tub, a bit like a grotto, it looked very inviting, and was quite large.
Parking is underneath the hotel. There are 2 computers with pay as you go internet access at parking level as well as a launderette. There is a restaurant called chillis off the lobby area and a bar.
The centre of Banff is a 10 minute walk away. we went in to shop, visit the museum and eat every day. It is currently being developed, so some roads are closed to cars and footpaths are missing. The centre is being improved and will be complete for next year. Banff is great for shopping and has a great atmosphere, even off peak it was bustling.
We took a short drive to sulpher mountain which you can go up in a gondola. This was a scary but worthwhile trip!

  • Liked — new and location
  • Disliked — dark room, restaurant food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cats11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    741
    237
    101
    42
See reviews for
610
1,003
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in Oct and loved it overall. We booked a standard room through expedia, and on arrival the receptionist tried to convince us to upgrade to a suite for $30 a night - with our holiday budget already running away with us we decided to decline.
We went up to our room (307, avoid it!) and immediately noticed a loud vibrating noise - the room is directly under a generator, no thank you!
Headed straight back to reception where the v.helpful front desk manager Peter sorted out another room and upgraded us to a suite free of charge. The suite was fantastic with a large lounge, kitchenette and big bedroom with huge bed - with hindsight well worth the extra $30, but even better free!
The grotto hot tub was amazing.
The bar was nice but we didn't try the restaurant, from what we saw the food didn't look anything special. The Magpie & Stump in Banff town does similar stuff (Tex Mex), great food and very reasonable, much recommended!

  • Liked — Our suite, the grotto
  • Disliked — Standard rooms are small, avoid being near the generator
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicAndTris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2007 whilst travelling across the Rockies with my girlfriend. We booked last minute and stayed in one of the suites. The room was AMAZING - not one but TWO plasma screen TV's, kitchen area, upstairs studio bedroom, good views over the mountains. Room alone probbaly made the £150 a night price tag just about justifiable, but have to say the restaurant (a chain called Chilli's) was pretty poor (a bit like a poor man's TGI Friday's). Also it is a little out of town, but the 10-15 minute walk actually isn't a bad thing when you've enjoyed the Banff nightlife.

  • Liked — The Suites
  • Disliked — the restuarant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chalfontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I had the privelage of staying at the Fox hotel back in August. I come to Banff at least twice a year and tend to move around the downtown hotels. I must say that my hotel shopping days are over. This brand new hotel was AMAZING!!!! From the room, to the pool, to the food, to the staff, to the building itself, I was blown away!!! I have always loved the Canadian Rockies, but have never been overly impressed with the 'reasonably priced' accommodation that the town has to offer. Most of the hotels on what they call the 'strip' are old and tired. It was so refreshing to find such a new and welcoming place to stay. It has renewed my faith in the town of Banff!

A very special mention to Peter Dubeau at the Front Desk who took extra good care to ensure our trip was memorable! Thank-you Peter.

-Scott

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequent_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This past September my family and I stayed at the Fox in a beautiful one bedroom suite . We were all very impressed with the knowledge and friendliness of the staff. As for the lodging itself everything in the unit was clean and brand new . The swiming "grotto" was a very cool design and would be a hit with any apres skiier or hiker. The hotel is conveinently located on the main street in town so it was easy to access the shops and restaurants. It was very quiet and we all slept like babes in very comfortable beds. We will definitely be staying at the Fox Suites the next time we're in Banff and recomend it highly to anyone looking for central comfortable mountain lodging in Banff.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank slackattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I stay with my family of 5 adults in their 2 bedrooms suite on Sept 6 for 2 nights. The location is good, staffs are nice, hotel is clean and new! We found their hot tub is excellent to end up with for a long day. The suite is great! Nice decoreation with comfortable furniture! Flat screen TV makes the room morden and up to date! Their underground garage feel very safety. Overall, we are very much enjoy the stay and we definiately would return for any future stay!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 789Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Great hotel and the staff was excellent. Very clean and the little extras were so nice.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank SnoozerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing