We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I think one would struggle to find a better bed & breakfast. We stayed there for two nights after a very long and tiring holiday, before flying home to South Africa - all we wanted was a place to relax in comfort and that is exactly what we got. James and Thresa were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They gave us advice about what to see, where to eat, which buses to catch and loads of other information that made our stay more enjoyable. The breakfasts were great and we especially enjoyed sitting in the lounge in front of the fire in the afternoons eating the delicious treats that were on offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Buffaloberry at the end of a 3 week holiday in the Rockies and Vancouver Island. Having found this great B+B on trip advisor, I can confirm that it is a wonderful place to be a guest. James and Theresa are great hosts. I needed to find a store for ice hockey equipment and James rang his friends and located exactly what I needed. We also stayed at the Fairmont Chateau in Whistler and at the Fairmont Chateau on Lake Louise, and at the Wickanninish Inn, in Tofino. These were all highlights of our trip, and the Buffaloberry is right up there with them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at the Buffaloberry for 3 nights in July as part of a 20th anniversary trip. James and Theresa were very cordial and had great suggestions for places to visit, hike and eat. The food was excellent with a lot of variety and wonderful snacks in the afternoon. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and had all needed amenities. Enjoy at quiet street that is only a few minutes walk away from the main town hubbub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforfun90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Buffaloberry in early July. While we were blessed with great weather during our entire trip, the highlight of our time was our stay with James and Theresa. Their hospitality was outstanding and their helpfulness always on target. They even made sure that we didn't have the same breakfast twice! If you are looking for the best B & B in Banff, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler , TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Theresa and James are incredible hosts.
The B&B is immaculate, the breakfasts are wonderful and they really make an effort to ensure everything is great for your stay. We got daily suggestions on hikes and activities and they were spot on for everything. Most evenings we discussed our day and got ideas for the next day.

I can't say enough good things about the wonderful couple who run this B&B! They really became like old friends in such a short time. We felt so wonderfully at home and really enjoyed being there. This is the only place we would consider coming back if staying in Banff.

Thanks for everything James and Theresa!

Shawn and Nicole

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I planned to write a long report on how great the Buffaloberry B&B was. Then I saw some of the recent reports that talked about how perfect this place is. I suggest you read them. You will not be disappointed in this B&B--the accomodations are truly wonderful. There is nothing but outstanding service, food, and travel advice--and a wonderful facility that is meticulously maintained. Thank you again, Theresa and James, for a wonderful 5 days. Bill and Nancy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuggie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our stay was two days, July 7 & 8. Theresa and James are stellar hosts. Their exquisitely designed B & B is without reservation the best we have stayed in(Europe, USA, Canada). Breakfast was a daily treat we eagerly looked forward to. We hope to return for a longer stay next year. If your travels include Banff, strongly consider the Buffaloberry. It will be a highlight of your stay in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexicoTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing