We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Allaround”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Lucie West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Allaround”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The Buffaloberry is a beautiful property set near the town of Banff. The house is very nicely decorated and the breakfasts were wonderful. It was nice that we were given our choice of time to eat breakfast rather than an assigned time. There were 4 of us traveling together (two couples) and James and Theresa were very accommodating and gracious. They gave us some suggestions for site-seeing that we would have overlooked. We would definitely stay at the Buffaloberry again and would highly recommend it!!!
Janet (Port St Lucie, FL)

  • Liked — The decor of the property
  • Disliked — The bathroom was really attractive however there was no counterspace. There was a storage unit next to the sink that you could keep your personal items.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BagsRPacked_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
149
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

My wife and I have just returned to our Bali home after a most enjoyable and satisfying 4 nights at the Buffaloberry. It is only our second experience of a B&B (our first being in France last year) and the thoughfulness of the owners, James and Theresa, deserves the highest praise. After greeting us on arrival James kindly carried all our luggage to our upstairs room and parked our car for us in the secure underground carpark. Our room, which they call Oatmeal and Chaff, had a comfortable king bed, small TV with excellent reception and free internet access. The bathroom featured quality soaps, shampoos etc with a wonderful supply of pristine towels changed daily. Everything was spotless.

Complimentary drinks, including a full range of spirits are available to guests of an evening in the good sized sitting room which boasts an open fire if needed in the cooler weather.

As other guests have noted the breakfasts are imaginative, healthy, delicious and well presented.

Our hosts helped plan our day trips and we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the peaks, glaciers and lakes in this spectacular part of the world.

It is refreshing to find hosts who really care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and we wish James and Theresa the success they so richly deserve.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank indofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Definitely a five star bed and breakfast. Wonderful accommodation and out of this world breakfasts. James and Theresa went out of their way to make our stay as memorable as possible with helpful hints on how to make the most of our stay in Banff and the surrounding area.

The house is very comfortable indeed, with every comfort you could wish for.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Wow! My wife and I had to leave a hotel at a nearby location and phoned around to try and find accomodations. James booked us in, so we drove into Banff. As we approached, my wife saw the great looking house and said "...I hope it's that one..." and lucky us it was. Since there was no parking (long weekend) Theresa was there to greet me and direct me to the password secured underground parking. Both James and Theresa welcomed us into their home, showed us the house and our room, and went out of their way to make sure our breakfast needs were met. My wife is gluten-free and James and Theresa were very accomodating and understanding.

The room itself was great. We had never stayed at a B&B before but my wife was hooked from that night on! It is in a great location just off the main street of Banff. Our days in Banff were filled with activities at the suggestion of James and Theresa. We took a bunch of their cards and will pass them on to any people we know headed to Banff!

Small town type hospitality but with incredibly clean rooms and great food.

E & T

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EC_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My husband, myself & my two teenage sons stayed with James & Therese for 10 nights recently. The Buffaloberry B& B was spotless & their attention to detail in decoration and facilities of their rooms was flawless. We had a different gourmet breakfast everyday ,but that was not the best part - the best part was James & Therese were the most fabulous hosts and went out of their way to make us feel relaxed & comfortable in their home.
I don't know when we will return to Banff - but when we do, we'll definately stay at the Buffaloberry B&B.

  • Liked — The hosts, the breakfasts, the rooms it was all fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing it was all good.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gjb5633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at the Buffaloberry for 3 nights in late September, one of which was our anniversary, and found it a wonderful, comfortable establishment, with friendly, helpful hosts.

Context: Banff is a small town but highly populated with tourists, in the middle of the Canadian Rockies. There are many hotels, motels, etc. to choose from, many of them on busy streets.

The Buffaloberry is on a side street and thus relatively quiet compared to the "main drag." The house was built relatively recently (James had been a builder, and Theresa actually designed the house, if I remember correctly). It's modern, spacious, and very comfortable, with large hallways, a large living room with a fireplace and photo books on the Canadian Rockies. They did a very nice job on the house -- thought shows in many details.

The Gannons themselves are friendly, helpful hosts. When we arrived, Theresa's first offer was to help with the luggage, and then she gave us a tour of the house. When James found out that we would be hiking, he actually offered to lend some of his equipment, and both of them willingly shared information about some of their own past hikes (including a cross-country skiing trip in the depth of winter which involved interesting route-finding -- they are far more adventurous!).

The breakfasts, as others have noted, were very good -- original and well-prepared.

We research destinations extensively before travelling, including emailing various establishments to ask detailed questions about their accommodations. One of the aspects of Banff and Lake Louise which quickly emerged was that even some of the best hotels seemed to have a somewhat spotty record for quality. The Buffaloberry, although relatively new, seemed as if it might well be the best place to stay in Banff. After a great stay there in September, we've seen nothing to dispel that impression. Highly recommended.

Peter & Ina

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2008

With the Buffaloberry there is simply no need to stay in a hotel in Banff again!

With our wedding at the Banff Springs, we chose to stay with Theresa and James, and also had our family join us for part of the vacation.

Our hosts made the stay and our wedding experience all the more special, and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and relaxed.

As others have probably stated, the breakfasts are stunning - We stayed 16 nights (Current holders of longest stay award) and had a different breakfast each morning!

The location is perfect. A 5 minute walk to the town centre for us Brits or a 2 minute drive for our US friends ;o) The ski bus can be easily picked up at the Red Carpet Hotel which is less than 5 minutes walk in ski boots, and is free if you have a Tri-Pass ski pass.

In summary if we are within 100 miles of the Buffaloberry we simply won't stay anywhere else in future. Even our honeymoon suite at the Banff Springs - And it was very nice - doesn't match what Theresa and James can offer in terms of accommodation and hospitality.

And if you are staying over Christmas their friend Deiter is an amazing chef if Christmas Dinner is required!

The new Mr and Mrs Hargrave
West Sussex, UK

  • Liked — Excellent hosts and quality of accommodation
  • Disliked — not a single thing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScottyDog_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing