We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay in Banff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay in Banff!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay here - an absolute luxurious place to stay with all the amenities we could have asked for. Two excellent hosts, full of local knowledge along with fabulous breakfasts and snacks made it a very happy stay for both of us.
A real bonus is the off street parking and the rear deck for sitting out on when it's warm.
Wonderful and we can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
149
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It's been over 2 years since we visited this wonderful place and it is without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed. Every hotel is compared against this and we hope that one day we will be able to return. Theresa and James were so welcoming and helpful and gave us great ideas for some hikes. The breakfast was out of this world and it really is an experience to stay here - wow! Sorry it's taken so long for me to write this review but thank you for a great stay and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Buffaloberry for two nights in early August and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Theresa and Jim are marvelous hosts, warm and genuine. The inn has an interesting contemporary design and is tastefully appointed. Breakfasts were wonderful: yogurt and granola, fluffy whole wheat pancakes, fresh fruit salad, and a bottomless cup of good coffee. The B&B is on a quiet residential street only a few locks from downtown. This is a great place to stay if you pass through Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granite43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

From start to finish our stay at the Buffaloberry B & B was extra-ordinary. The design of the house is ingenious and beautiful. It is tastefully and functionally decorated. Parking is so convenient. It is located on a quiet street extremely close to the busy bustle of Banff centre. Touches like lavender soap, the morning newspaper, afternoon snacks, complimentary water and other assorted beverages, large towels, daily service, guides and maps, plenty of books and reading materials, make this establishment special. I do not like to refer to the Buffaloberry as a "place" since it is more of an experience. The key to that experience is the skilled and kind attention of our hosts Theresa and James. They are obviously well traveled and know what is excellence and what is not. That experience shows in the manner in which they run the Buffaloberry Inn. They have just the perfect blend of caring attention and respect for privacy. Most hosts gravitate to either "absent from duty" to smothering control. Not here... you will value each interaction you have with James and Theresa yet never feel imposed upon.
And then there is breakfast!!! Absolutely the best ingredients (many local when possible), prepared perfectly, and presented pleasingly. Even my 15 year old loved the food..and she can be particular. I cannot believe that they are not trained chefs.
What probably impressed me most was their commitment to quality. They could have cut corners to save some money here and there but they did not. Everything was done top flight even if that meant a little more at their expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solascmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely beautiful house with welcoming hosts and great breakfast. We felt though that the price tag was a bit too high compared to other places we stayed at. Other than that a great place to stay while in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roopet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night at the beginning of our Canadian Rockies vacation. The B&B is just beautiful. Walking distance to town and convenient to all of the shops and restaurants. We booked the Rabbitt Street room and it was beautiful. Extremely clean, cozy and comfortable with a beautiful view and private entrance to the outdoor patio. Theresa and James are lovely people. The only thing that prevented me from giving this review 5 stars was the breakfast. Theresa and James like to make a different breakfast everyday for their guests and there was a couple who had been there for 6 nights. So, Theresa explained that they were going to have a different breakfast the next morning that included lunch meats, cheeses and homemade granola. I forget what type of breakfast she called this. Anyway, she did ask if there was anything we didn't eat for breakfast and, of course, the answer was no. However, lunch meat and cheese just didn't suit us in the end. The homemade granola with yogurt and fruit, on the other hand, was wonderful!! There was also different breads to go along with it. I just wish we would have been there on a morning that had Theresa making her fabulous blueberry pancakes that another reviewer raved about! :)

On another note, as my husband and I were eating breakfast that morning, I realized I had forgotten our hiking book. James didn't hesitate to loan us one of his for the week. It was a very nice gesture and greatly appreciated! So, all in all, we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever find ourselves in that part of the world! I highly recommend this B&B. You will not be disappointed with the way you are treated, the location and the lovely hosts. Thank you, James and Theresa!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfgal5674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The only problem with staying at this B&B is that you WON'T want to leave. This is a real luxury 5 star accommodation. Our hosts, Theresa & James were so friendly and made delicious breakfasts with all pure and natural ingredients. They go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, including an array of complimentary drinks served in a beautiful lounge environment. Our room was beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, luxurious sheets. We felt as though we were leaving good friends and would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNelsonBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
11.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing