We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most delightful honeymoon in mid-June”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A most delightful honeymoon in mid-June”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband I traveled to Banff for our honeymoon in June and spent 5 nights at the Buffaloberry B&B. I could write for ages about how wonderful James and Theresa are, but please, just take my word for it and stay here if you go to Banff. The home is meticulously maintained, the beds an heaven, and breakfast is out of this world (croissant french toast... need I say more?) James and Theresa welcomed us warmly and always sent us out with good suggestions for hikes, restaurants, and rainy/snowy day activities (yes, it snowed in June). They always had a warm fire ready in the afternoons/evenings for us to sit by at relax. Perhaps the kindest thing they did was on our last day-- my husband and I had been hoping for a bear sighting. James and Theresa see them often, and on this last day, after seeing "Bear 65 and her cubs" in a nearby field, rushed home to let us know of their location so we could catch a glimpse of the grizzlies in the wild. Unfortunately, we didn't see a bear until we checked out of the Buffaloberry, but saw 13 over the rest of our trip in Lake Louise and Jasper (and saw Bear 65 on our way out of Banff). All and all, Buffaloberry is a wonderful, wonderful place. We hope to go back many, many times. It's a small inn (4 rooms)-- so book early!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qjillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry in mid September. The B&B itself is very clean and inviting and everything seems brand new. Our room was very nicely decorated and the whole place is immaculate. The location was ideal for us - close enough to "downtown" for easy walks into town while still in a quiet neighborhood. It was great being able to get around without using the car. The hosts, Theresa and James, were fantastic! A real treasure trove of knowledge about all things local, which helped us greatly being first time visitors to Banff, and very warm and caring. They were always interested in what we had been up to and had many great suggestions. The breakfasts were every bit as good as you will read about in these reviews. Theresa asked about our dietary needs and made special accommodation for us. I can't recommend the Buffaloberry highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you find a better small bed and breakfast let us know. Our room, indeed the entire house, is comfortably and attractively furnished, impeccably cleaned and quiet. All the expected amenities are provided and a few surprises. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hosts, Theresa and James, are a delight to meet and well-equipped to facilitate the guests enjoyment of their stay in the Banff area. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shultsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Buffaloberry is the BEST B&B we have stayed at. Both Theresa and James are very welcoming and friendly. The property is kept in immaculate condition. The room, bathroom and the living/dining area are PERFECTLY clean. The breakfast was varied and delicious. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this B&B. You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are a few things that we look for in a good B&B: location, comfort, accommodation, hospitality, friendliness, and, of course, the breakfast. The Buffaloberry B&B excels on all accounts.

We stayed there four nights at the start of our Canadian Rockies vacation. We're not too excited about tourist spots, but that's what you have with Banff. However, saying that, there is lots of nature to enjoy in and around Banff, and we thrived there. Plenty of hiking, scenery to enjoy, and pictures to take. All we needed in the middle of this town was an inviting place to stay.

Driving up to the Buffaloberry we could tell we were on a residential street set back off the main shopping corridor in Banff. The Buffaloberry is set apart from all other properties in the area by a very welcoming landscape of flowers and trees, providing warmth and color to the rest of the neighborhood. We felt that this location was safe, and had no problems ever finding space to park the car on the street out front (although the Buffaloberry also provides free garage parking as well). The Buffaloberry is within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and a local Safeway market.

The warmth of the landscape outside was matched by the reception we experienced as we knocked on the front door and was greeted by Theresa. She welcomed us in, explained how the B&B functioned, and showed us to our room. She also wanted to know what time we would want breakfast, as she would prepare ours according to our desired schedule.

The Buffaloberry house was constructed less than 10 years ago, and was constructed specifically as a B&B. So everything worked well. Each room has its own bathroom specifically designed for it (rather than being a retrofit to an older house). There is a guest living room with a fire place that also doubles as a dining area for breakfast. There is a guest alcohol bar for a complimentary nightcap, and a common small frig for guests to use.

The room featured a queen bed, TV, plenty of electrical outlets, and wireless Internet. The bathroom held a toilet, sink and shower, but no bathtub. (The bathtub would have been nice after long days of hiking.) We found the bed very comfortable, although we would have preferred a king.

Each afternoon there was a homemade snack of some sort (breads or cookies).

One of the highlights of the Buffaloberry was the gourmet breakfast in the mornings. Standard starters included fresh fruit, homemade granola, and yogurt. Then came a masterpiece from Theresa's kitchen. One morning, for example, we had some sort of egg/spinach souffle cooked in a Canadian bacon cup. Every breakfast was unique, every one was delicious, and every one was home prepared by James and Theresa. And, of course, every one was enjoyed in communion with other guests and James and Theresa, sharing ideas on what to do, hearing stories about what folks experienced, and just enjoying each other.

As to hospitality, Theresa and James are both veterans of the hospitality industry and know what excellence in hospitality means. They were warm, friendly, knowledgeable, interesting, and accommodating. Both provided good clues on what to experience in and around town, where to eat, and how we might best be able to spot some of the wildlife (which we did). By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

Overall, we found the Buffaloberry B&B to be an excellent place to stay. We would have no hesitation to repeat our stay there, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to stay - the room was fantastic - well appointed, and so comfortable! James & Theresa, who are lovely hosts, put out a top notch breakfast spread - doing a fantastic job of meeting my gluten-free needs. They could not have made me feel more comfortable - I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpage_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night during a busy weekend at the beginning of our biking trip of the Canadian Rockies. Theresa and James were wonderful hosts. Beautiful large room with excellent bathroom. Great location. Cozy welcoming lounge. Great breakfast. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibarrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
11.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing