We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry B&B in February, while sightseeing in the area for a couple of days and there was one thing wrong with our visit - we did not have enough time to spend in this lovely home enjoying the amenities!
This is a really special, very well thought out, beautifully presented Bed and Breakfast, with thoughtful and attentive hosts Theresa and James on hand to ensure you have a really relaxing stay. The room was very good, with lovely bathroom and views of the mountains, but the big thing here is the Great Room, where beverages of choice are served in lovely surroundings, with pleasant music, interesting items to look at, and where delicious and original breakfasts of the highest standard are served. As a very critical bed and breakfast owner myself, we booked this simply because the reviews were so good, and it was indeed a real treat. As we were dashing in and out, snacks were left in case we had missed out on meals, very thoughtfully (white chocolate and cranberry scones, warm banana bread...) which were indicative of the levels that this experienced couple go to in providing the personal touch. This was more than we would normally spend, but for sheer indulgence and a great time, it was worth every penny and we would highly recommend you treat yourself whenever you can!
We were travelling for nearly three weeks in Canada, and this was the highlight - visit soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunheved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry B&B in January as part of our 5-year wedding anniversary celebration. When we saw it was #1 on TripAdvisor we had to book and see for ourselves! We spent the day skiing and then checked in around 4 p.m. The owners and hosts are as wonderful in real life as all the reviews claim. We had arranged for a small charcuterie plate upon our arrival and brought our own bottle of wine for a little après ski by the fire place. The rooms are gorgeous and everything is brand new. Breakfast the next morning was gourmet and delicious! The private underground parking was very nice as well.

We did find the rate a little pricey, for low season. But then again it was REALLY nice. We'll definitely be back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Lovely welcome, very friendly and helpful owners. Room lovely although not over large. Only real quibble other than price is the lack of a cooked breakfast. Beautiful spread of cold meats, etc, but for the price were expecting a hot breakfast. But everything seems to be expensive in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you to the reviewer for their review and for outlining some details about our B&B. A note to readers about the breakfasts, this patron stayed one night, and the following morning our version of a European country buffet was served. This breakfast consists of 6 different types of cured meats (proscuitto included) as well as 6 artisan cheeses, condiments, two types of breads, along with a home baked croissant, along with the usual fresh fruit salad accompanied with homemade granola and balkan style yogurt. As other mutli-night partrons have noted in TripAdviser reviews, we try very hard not to repeat breakfasts for the same patrons. Another note to readers, this is by far our most expensive breakfast from a food cost basis!
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We can see how Buffaloberry gets No. 1 in Banff- expensive but sooo worth spending the extra! We just had 2 nights at Buffaloberry during our 3 week road trip through the Canadian Rockies. Our room was beautiful- absolutely spotless and so homely. We were just disapointed we couldn't spend more time in the room!!
Buffaloberry is in an excellent location- just 5 minute walk to Banff main street yet in a lovely quiet safe neighbourhood.
Theresa and James are excellent hosts- Theresa gave us an excellent dinner recommendation of 'Coyotes' which was great. The breakfasts were delicious, particularly Theresa's buckwheat blueberry pancakes!
We were sad to leave Buffaloberry and hope one day we will be back- we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Banff!
ThanksTheresa and James for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic here I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strumore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location, hosts, food and accommodation! All the other reviews say it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ditto to all the other reviews! My husband and I had a wonderful time in Banff, Alberts, Canada and the owners of the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, were one of the best parts! Theresa and James were not only very personable and helpful with answering all sorts of questions about Banff and the area, they are also great cooks! We had 5 very filling, yummy breakfasts and always a sweet treat when you would arrive back to their place at the end of the day. We stayed in the Oatmeal Room, which had a king sized bed and the room was just the perfect size for us. Teresa plays lovely classical music in the morning that you can listen to in your room if you want, or you can turn down the speaker. At night there was great jazz to listen to. It was a bit stuffy in our room as we had to keep the windows closed at night because of the local train going through a few times at night, but we asked for a fan which they provided right away and we slept liked babies after that. The location of their place was perfect as we could walk every where we wanted to go in Banff and it when we took day trips in our car. LOVED this place and would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are the first floor were cooler and the room on the south side must be a lot quieter as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

James and Teresa are marvelous hosts----they are not only great cooks but also know everything about Banff and all the surrounding trails and local sights. Our room was beautiful with a lovely bathroom. We also loved sitting out on the charming patio eating our treats and drinking tea.
If you are thinking of traveling to Banff--do yourself a favor and book a room at the Buffaloberry. If you are lucky, Teresa will make potato pancakes from her grandmother's recipe, which are to die for1

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing