We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$333
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$432
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$530
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$378
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$363
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$417
$405
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$292
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
178
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscanadian rockiesgourmet breakfastother guestsbuttermilk pancakesstreet roomquiet streetcould eat off the floorrabbit roomrooms are beautifully decoratedwelcome homefluffy towelshelpful in every wayplace to stayfive nightsfresh fruit saladtwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 189 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We can see how Buffaloberry gets No. 1 in Banff- expensive but sooo worth spending the extra! We just had 2 nights at Buffaloberry during our 3 week road trip through the Canadian Rockies. Our room was beautiful- absolutely spotless and so homely. We were just disapointed we couldn't spend more time in the room!!
Buffaloberry is in an excellent location- just 5 minute walk to Banff main street yet in a lovely quiet safe neighbourhood.
Theresa and James are excellent hosts- Theresa gave us an excellent dinner recommendation of 'Coyotes' which was great. The breakfasts were delicious, particularly Theresa's buckwheat blueberry pancakes!
We were sad to leave Buffaloberry and hope one day we will be back- we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Banff!
ThanksTheresa and James for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic here I'm sure!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strumore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location, hosts, food and accommodation! All the other reviews say it all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ditto to all the other reviews! My husband and I had a wonderful time in Banff, Alberts, Canada and the owners of the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, were one of the best parts! Theresa and James were not only very personable and helpful with answering all sorts of questions about Banff and the area, they are also great cooks! We had 5 very filling, yummy breakfasts and always a sweet treat when you would arrive back to their place at the end of the day. We stayed in the Oatmeal Room, which had a king sized bed and the room was just the perfect size for us. Teresa plays lovely classical music in the morning that you can listen to in your room if you want, or you can turn down the speaker. At night there was great jazz to listen to. It was a bit stuffy in our room as we had to keep the windows closed at night because of the local train going through a few times at night, but we asked for a fan which they provided right away and we slept liked babies after that. The location of their place was perfect as we could walk every where we wanted to go in Banff and it when we took day trips in our car. LOVED this place and would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are the first floor were cooler and the room on the south side must be a lot quieter as the people that were in there while we were visiting had their windows open all night and didn't hear the train at all.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

James and Teresa are marvelous hosts----they are not only great cooks but also know everything about Banff and all the surrounding trails and local sights. Our room was beautiful with a lovely bathroom. We also loved sitting out on the charming patio eating our treats and drinking tea.
If you are thinking of traveling to Banff--do yourself a favor and book a room at the Buffaloberry. If you are lucky, Teresa will make potato pancakes from her grandmother's recipe, which are to die for1

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We very much enjoyed our 8-night stay at the Buffaloberry. The best thing about the Buffaloberry is the great service and hospitality by the hosts, James and Theresa. They are eager to share their deep local knowledge and have lots of good advice. We appreciated their tips and reviews of the many hiking trails and area sights. They gave us maps and even lent us their hiking poles and bear spray! We didn't do a whole lot of advance planning before our trip because we knew the hosts would be able to give us the best advice, having read other Tripadvisor reviews. In fact, the very strong reviews of the Buffaloberry even helped with the decision to make Banff our summer vacation destination this year. We wanted to experience this B&B that others were raving so much about! We were not disappointed. The property itself has all of the modern amenities of a newly-built home and it is very well taken care of and kept spotlessly clean. The hosts were builders before they were B&B owners so they designed and built the Buffaloberry and are truly responsible for every detail of the total experience. After a long day's hike, we looked forward to the welcoming comfort of the Buffaloberry and the daily treats left out for us--sometimes chocolate chip cookies, sometimes chocolate-covered strawberries. They even had a bar so you could make yourself a nightcap. There was also a refrigerator stocked with water and soft drinks. We enjoyed a different breakfast every morning we were there, ending with the signature blueberry buckwheat buttermilk pancakes. Many thanks to Theresa and James for a wonderful stay, and to other reviewers for pointing us to Buffaloberry and Banff!

Room Tip: Rabbit St.: best light, biggest windows. Oatmeal and Chaff: king bed. Unadv.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews