We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel blew my mind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here alone after a long summer working in the USA and my mind was blown by the picturesque beauty of the building. Although it is out of town and not really walking distance, you get a free bus pass which takes you straight into town and all around Banff and I didn't have any problems with the location. My time here was just to chill out and relax and it was definitely the place to do just that. I booked through Hostelworld and on my first night got a free upgrade and had a room all to myself with a double bed! Amazing! Each bed had it's own light and plug socket which was a really great addition. I also got a free pancake breakfast every morning which was lovely. The location was stunning and it really is an alpine lodge - I felt like I was in the middle of nowhere and it was so quaint. I was in the newer building and the lounge area was beautiful and a great place to relax and look at the view. I wasn't really there to meet people, I really just wanted to unwind so didn't really make a big effort to be sociable, but had I wanted to, there was a bar to meet other travellers. It was out of season when I was there so fairly quiet so didn't really meet many people but it was just really nice to relax in the quiet tranquil location. Bed was really comfy, although the room was a little hot, but still fine. The bathroom has individual cup holders for your toothbrush which was a great touch and the personal lockers were tall ones which was great. Wifi also had excellent signal. If you don't want to have to rely on the bus, then this might not be the best hostel, however they were regular enough and the beautiful location was worth having to be mindful of the bus timetable. Would definitely recommend this hostel and would return here again on my next stay!

Room Tip: The four bed dorm has one double bed in it so if you're lucky, you may get a double for the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here on two separate occasions in October/November 2013, and I was very impressed with this hostel. Yes, it is out of town, but catching the bus/walking/getting a taxi is well worth it. The first time I stayed in the main building, the second time in the Mary Belle building next door… I highly recommend asking for a room/bed in this building!!! Private bathroom (just toilet/sink) in the rooms, newer and more spacious rooms, and a very nice kitchen and common area. It seemed quieter in that building too which I wanted. Only downside is that the wifi barely reaches, so you just have to go back into the main building. Overall, this hostel is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here with some buddies when we did a ski trip at sunshine. My first time ever staying in a hostel. It was a decent experience. Id rather stay at a nice hotel obviously but for the price and hanging out with people your own age, it's not too bad! check it out if you are a hostel person.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cksteeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The front desk was helpful with area attractions. There were many other young people to visit with during the day. The communal kitchen had everything you need to make a meal and it was never too busy to use. The beds and bedding were comfortable and clean. The staff kept the staff clean and well supplied. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very basic, nice atmosphere, free pancakes when you book via booking.com. Very friendly staff. Place is ideal for young people or backpackers. Not very close to city centre when you don't have a car.
Nice and large self catering kitchen and a nice bar.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had never stayed in a hostel before and I must say I was plesently surprised!
Everything was clean, the bed was super confortable, the staff was always helpful and didn't mind answering my two hundred questions. The kitchen has everything you need. I stayed in the Mary Belle Barclay building and I liked it much more then the one where the reception is because the building is newer. Nicer rooms, lobby, kitchen.
I would recommend this anyone. I loved my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mary Belle Barclay building are newer and the lockers in each room are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

this place is amazing. the staff are super friendly and helpful the food was great and the rooms were clean and tidy.. the one thing i hate about hostels is the communal washrooms but HI banffs was as clean as an expensive hotel room was great. we had a room with an amazing view and the main part of town is only a short bus ride away which you get there with a bus pass they lend you for a $5 deposit was great! highly reccomend =]

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 34 in Banff
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $45 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing