We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beyond expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had never stayed in a hostel before and I must say I was plesently surprised!
Everything was clean, the bed was super confortable, the staff was always helpful and didn't mind answering my two hundred questions. The kitchen has everything you need. I stayed in the Mary Belle Barclay building and I liked it much more then the one where the reception is because the building is newer. Nicer rooms, lobby, kitchen.
I would recommend this anyone. I loved my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mary Belle Barclay building are newer and the lockers in each room are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    109
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
60
74
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

this place is amazing. the staff are super friendly and helpful the food was great and the rooms were clean and tidy.. the one thing i hate about hostels is the communal washrooms but HI banffs was as clean as an expensive hotel room was great. we had a room with an amazing view and the main part of town is only a short bus ride away which you get there with a bus pass they lend you for a $5 deposit was great! highly reccomend =]

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a few nights during our trip to Canada over summer and loved it! The staff were helpful and friendly, we got free bus rides thanks to the hostel, met some great people, nice enough rooms and were kept clean. Amazing view from our room too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a little far from Banff downtown,
but very clean,
Nice kitchen!
Nice reception!
The activities they held were great!!
Except the wifi was better only in the lobby.
it was a nice trip in banff!!
雖然離班夫鎮上有段距離,
但是是一個乾淨的地方.
廚房很大,接待處的人也很好,
不定時會舉辦一些小活動,
效果也不錯!
只是房間的wifi收訊比較差,
只有大廳收訊比較好,
這樣也好,
大家就會聚在大廳,
有機會交流一下^^
讓我在班夫的旅遊非常舒適!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamWang33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Provides what you can expect from a hostel - a clean bed and shower. Kitchen facilities are OK - there is enough room for a few people or a group to cook at a time. While it is out of town in the Tunnel Mountain area, this area has a better view of the mountains and is quieter than downtown. Also downtown is only a 20 minute walk away, and the hostel also provides a free bus ticket. The staff are friendly and helpful. Not cheap but Banff is pretty expensive for accommodation. Social activities are organised but it is not a party hostel, so you should be able to sleep. Wi-Fi is a bit weak in some of the rooms, but I've come to expect this in most hostels, it was still usable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

they claim to have 'the best WiFi' but we have had nothing but trouble with it. the staff are mainly backpackers working for their keep so they are useless sources of information whenever we have asked for help or advice and don't seem to give a toss about customer service. I see the toilets getting cleaned every morning but not once has the cleaner renewed the hand soap which looks like its been empty for a number of months!!!! this morning it took me 45 minutes to heat up a frying pan to fry some eggs the kitchen facilities are TERRIBLE! pots and pans are about 10 inches thick and the ancient hobs take easily 30 to get to a reasonable temperature, and if you are still daring enough to to actually stay here after reading this, bring your own tin opener or you will be stabbing time open with a knife! I have stayed in a lot of hostels so I never have high expectations but this experience has just gone above and beyond ! if your an 18 year old traveller who's just here to party and doesn't care about hygeine , skyping friends and family, or cooking nutritious meals then this might be the place for you but note to HI - not all backpackers want that experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieradford595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffHostelManager, Manager at HI-Banff Alpine Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property.

I'm really sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We've tried to address the issues you've raised; our wifi system was experiencing (and occasionally is still experiencing) some issues with hardware, but I think we've got it sorted now; we have put $2500 in repairs to our stove/oven systems in our guest kitchens to resolve the issues you'd mentioned and the 'work-for-stay' program we run (the staff you had mentioned) has been reviewed and additional training put in place to try to ensure that guests get the same helpfulness from these workers as from the rest of our paid staff. I haven't gotten to the cookware yet, but I'll try to address that this week. Again, I'm sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention - we pride ourselves in providing a great backpacking experience and will do our best to ensure all problems that are brought to our attention are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful and the view was great! Location wise it is a bit out of town but we were told that before we arrived and the bus does goes by regularly so that wasn't too bad. The food (dinner) was good if a little expensive for a hostel so stop by the supermarket, luckily breakfast was included in our room rate. The rooms could have been cleaner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakeycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
2.4 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
The YWCA Banff Hotel
The YWCA Banff Hotel
#16 of 18 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Property: HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing