We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing!”
Review of Banff Trail Riders

Banff Trail Riders
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.19*
and up
Banff Horseback-Riding Adventure
More Info
$841.27*
and up
3-Day Sundance Adventure with Horseback
More Info
$30.61*
and up
Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff
Ranked #10 of 41 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a side of Banff you can only see on horseback. Banff Trail Riders (previously Holiday on Horseback take you to places most travellers never experience. We offer hourly rides, backcountry lodge and tent pack trips, sleigh rides and more. Get an authentic old west adventure, even if you have never been on a horse before. We'll match you with a horse, guide and trip that just right for your level of riding experience.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great outing!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We did the 2 hour tour here and it was lively and within everyones capabilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and everyone pretty much got a horse suited to their skills. We would be interested in some of the other stuff they do. Great!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    108
    31
    33
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had alot of fun on an easy comfortable ride”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I did the cookout as part of a recent contiki tour and we had a large group about 32 of us all riding horses so we were all in line going at a comfortable pace. It was slow but i didnt mind as it allowed us to take photos of the scenery, and my horse adair was well mannered. As ive only ridden horses a couple of times i was very comfortable, and the staff were well split up between our group
and were there to help if our horse weren't behaving.

The cookout was amazing the food was great and the steak was tender enough to cut with a plastic knife not to mean the chilli was Delicious. No real issues for me even in a larger group id be curious to experience the longer rides as its a whole another way to get a view of lovely banff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank austpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great experience and a different way to experience the landcape”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I did the 2 hour tour and found it plenty long enough, for someone who has not ridden a horse before the staff made me feel comfortable along the way. Worth the money and a couple of hours out of your day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I just got back from Banff and Jasper and we decided to do the 7 hour steak lunch cook out ride with Holiday on Horseback. The experience was fantastic, even though part of my body were protesting for days afterwards. Seems that a 7 hour rides does not compare to riding a computer chair day after day. Even though my butt hurt, I wouldn't trade the fun we had. The views more than made up for the soreness and having a steak cooked over a log fire (thanks Sarah) plus all the fixins was just an extra bonus to it.

The staff asked us about our riding experience, matched us up with horses and gave information on riding and any quirks about the specific horse you were given. The horses were very responsive to commands and the ups and downs and steep cliffs added to the journey.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DRIDEOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englishmanfrom london
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“warner stables 1st time on a horse”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

amazing a bit nervous until i arrived and got into it probably did not see to much as concentrating on riding the 3 hr trail

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iexpect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Trail Riders also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Trail Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing