We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It was fine but not what I expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Avenue B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Avenue B&B
Save
You added Banff Avenue B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was fine but not what I expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I exclusively use trip advisor reviews when selecting my vacation
accommodations.  Usually they are right on target but I did not enjoy this
property as much as other reviewers. Pros:  I also agree that Connie and
Jamie were lovely hosts and very helpful with maps and information.  The B&B
was very clean and conveniently located.  Cons: when we arrived we wandered
around for a couple of minutes looking for someone to greet us.  It would be
nice if they left a note to let people know where to find them upon entering
the door.  I found our room to be very small.  We had the room on Banff
Avenue side.  The queen size bed takes up most of the room. There is an
alcove where there are some racks and shelving to place/hang clothing but
there isn't a good place to put your suitcase, other than placing the
luggage rack on the floor of this area, which then makes it difficult to
utilize the space.  The bathroom is also very small but adequate. Other than
this, there are a few feet to walk around the bed. I suspect the other two
rooms are larger but I am not sure.  The first day we arrived it was 80
degrees and the next day it was 40!  Our room got quite cool during the
second night and there is no ability to increase the temperature in the
room. My biggest complaint was the lack of WiFi which I specifically
inquired about before reserving the room.  They apparently had WiFi at the
time that I made the reservation but had gotten rid of it by the time of our
stay.  The reason given was that people would spend all there time at the
B&B on their laptops and not talk to anyone so they got rid of it.  I didn't
think this would be a problem initially because I could buy a data plan for
my IPhone since they have 3G in Banff.  Since we wanted to download GPS maps
of the trails we soon found out that the plan would not begin to cover the
data we were using and we could not use our phones after the first evening.
The second day I had to go down the street to the Starbucks to use my
IPhone. On checking out my husband did get the room rate reduced which
Connie agreed to.  In this day and age WiFi is a must!  



Since we don't eat meat we were made oatmeal for breakfast which we
appreciated.  The breakfasts of the other guests were large but nothing
special.    We took Jamie up on his recommendation to do the Rawson Lake
hike which is in Kananaskis.  We only had one day in the Banff area and
rather than doing the hike that day we saved it for the end of our trip when
we would be driving in that direction anyway to go to the airport.  It is a
long drive! At least an hour and a half.  He noted the hike was
'spectacular".  I completely disagree.  The Lake where the hike starts is
beautiful but it is quite strenuous for half of the hike, with very little
pay off at the end.  The hike is also incredibly crowded which also
detracted from our enjoyment.  Of course we hiked this after doing some of
the most beautiful hikes in the Canadian Rockies.  The bottom line is, I
found the accommodations to be adequate but not great.  Certainly not the
level that I was expecting from the rave reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank figlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
183
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 2 nights after driving through the Rockies from Jasper. The B&B is in a top location, an easy walk into the heart of Banff. The host's Connie & Jamie are lovely and full of great ideas & info without being "in your face". The rooms with their own ensuites are adequate in size and super clean. There is a nice TV room if you feel the urge and a lovely deck out the back for sitting and admiring the well maintained garden and surrounding mountains (weather permitting of course). The breakfast's were nice and ample in size. We always felt good coming 'home' after doing our rounds throughout the day. Would definitely stay here again if in Banff without hesitation. Thanks Connie & Jamie!! (Especially for the tip on "K" Country - we will never forget that!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nZed808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I just spent a week at Banff Avenue B&B and loved it. Connie and Jamie were great hosts; we spent quite a bit of time talking with both of them and they are really genuine people who clearly like helping people see the best of Banff and the Rockies. The breakfasts were fabulous, and Connie's cookies helped us survive the long hikes! Jamie - sorry we didn't make it to Kananaskis - Next time we will!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billkuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A great location, a spotless and comfortable room, and a delicious breakfast are just the beginning-- Connie was a not only very attuned to our needs but also a very likeable and knowledgeable hostess. Every bit of information she shared with us was right on target, from restaurant recommendations to great hikes to take. We enjoyed talking with her so much that we could have continued to sit around the breakfast table rather than getting out and enjoying the area! We loved being able to walk just a few blocks to all the shops and restaurants. Since we live way out in the country, we are often disappointed by noisy locations, but that was not the case here. Even though the B&B is on the main street, we were not bothered at all by traffic or other noise. We would happily stay here again, and have only the best to say about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daffodil7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Banff Avenue B+B for two nights.

The B+B was excellent with a good location in town. The hosts Jamie and Connie were welcoming and informative on what to do in Banff. The cooked breakfast was amazing and filled us up so much there was no need for lunch! The room, facilities and communal areas were very good.

An excellent B+B

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our stay at the Banff B&B was delightful. We couldn’t have asked for better hosts than Connie and Jamie. Not only were the breakfasts excellent, but Connie provided an array of snacks which were also very welcome. We enjoyed our downstairs room, which was next to the guest sitting room, and which was great for late night reading. There were many things to see and do in Banff, and the B&B was just a few blocks from the downtown area. We appreciated Connie’s recommendations for restaurants. While there, we discovered copies of Jamie’s book, The Advance Man, in the sitting room. We purchased a copy, and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Great job, Jamie!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodandlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We felt like family. Everything about this place was great. Always there to offer help with our day trips, Super breakfasts. Turns out Jamie wrote a wonderful book which I purchased and it is a page turner. Very interesting and well written. I read a lot and the book is outstanding. We are from Illinois and our traveling partners are from Saratoga Springs NY.We were all thrilled with this wonderful home and the beautiful couple who shared it with us on a great trip to Canada.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Avenue B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Avenue B&B

Property: Banff Avenue B&B
Address: 430 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION !Banff Avenue B&B is a 5 minute walk to the downtown shops and directly across the street from the ski shuttles. Easy access to summer and winter activities. Clean affordable rooms in homey atmosphere. Hearty breakfast included. We work hard to ensure your time spent in Banff is enjoyable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing