We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #5 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a modest B&B located on a quiet Banff street that's easily accessible to downtown. Having read in Trip Advisor that I should avoid the rooms in the basement, I took one upstairs and it was perfectly nice. The breakfast was good, if a little unusual (I believe it was burrito of some kind) and the hosts were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    64
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
109
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here at the end of May/beginning of June 2012 (I had to pick December 2012 in order to submit this review), it was perfect. Very close to the main street of Banff, but still quiet. The hot breakfast was a great start to the day, and Robyn was fantastic about offering ideas of what to do for the day. She suggested Tunnel Mountain hike to me on the day I was checking out...what a great hike. Amazing view, decent workout and pretty quick for someone who is reasonably fit. I stayed in suite 7, which was fine for a solo or two friends traveling. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone traveling on a budget. Rob & Robyn are fantastic hosts and I'm looking forward to my next trip to Banff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisL1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Rob & Robyn were such lovely hosts, the hot breakfasts were freshly made when you arrive for breakfast between 8am-9am and were delicious (there is also a good selection of cereal/toasts available). The location is just a 5 min walk from Banff Avenue. We stayed in Room 3 which was the smallest of the rooms but adequate for us. It can get a bit noisy at times as we were next to a bathroom (and there is a pipe from upstairs which goes through our the room) but it we didn't mind it too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_NZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the attic suite as it came with a kitchen but it was ill equipped, very few utensils. The room needed updating quite badly but on the other hand the staff were really helpful and the location is great. Breakfast was good each day and they were kind enough to make breakfast for us to take up to our daughters to eat upstairs. Overall a good place to stay but a bit tired. Very noisy bathroom fan though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have worked in hospitality for 20 years. Any good establishment starts with good management. Robyn is your gal when it comes to providing lovely warmth and hospitality. She wants you to not only enjoy your time at her b&b, but to enjoy your whole experience in banff and the Canadian Rockies. She has great knowledge and gave super tips for hiking and other local services. There are ten rooms, ranging in price and style. Stayed on the lower level with a private bathroom and kitchenette. Perfect for what I wanted. The house is quiet, has an awesome location (just 3 streets back from banff ave) and a yummy daly breakfast is thrown in also. Wifi was good and so was the price ($75 plus tax per night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DungogSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights here as it was such a good base to visit many of the popular tourist sites in the Rockies.
The accommodation was first class as were the exquisite breakfasts and the freshly cooked muffins available to all the guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and both Robyn and Robin were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gower L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here, and we will without a doubt be back! Rob & Robyn are great hosts, the breakfasts are yummy and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is in such a great location, within minutes walking distance to the main street and with ample parking for the car. I love the rustic feel of the building it has such a lot of character. It is such good value for money and service with a smile. See you for the ski season no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing