We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hospitality During a Crisis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #5 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality During a Crisis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for a few more nights than first planned due to flood problems in Banff. The owners Robyn and Rob could not have been more helpful, accomodating and offering their hospitality above and beyond what is expected. Breakfasts and optional Dinner are both excellent. The location is perfect. The property has character. By the time we left we felt like leaving family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    67
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
114
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May and early June. Check in time is 4 - 8 pm, and when I arrived at 3.50 pm, Rob just happened to arrive also, and in no time we were shown our room, Room No. 9 in the walk-out basement.

Considering the price we paid, the room was way above expectations. There were 2 queen-sized beds, and a mini kitchen (minus cookers/oven) that came with a microwave, mini fridge, kettle and some utensils/cutlery. Even without the cooker, this would enable us to save money on meals. There's no TV in the room, but you didn't come to such an awesome place like Banff for that, did you?

I'd read elsewhere that there was no wash basin in Room 9's bathroom. Well, it looks like there had been some renovation carried out here, for there is one now, albeit a small one (see pics attached).

For those with cars, there are 2 places to park them - in front of the B&B on Otter St. (enough space for 2 cars, parallel parking) and a rear parking lot (for 5 cars) accessible by entering the back street that runs between Otter and Muskrat Streets.

Cleaning service is provided daily, with towels replaced and beds made. I remember seeing Robyn doing this herself at one of the other rooms one morning at 10 a.m. while I happened to be around. So, how's that for downright hands-on? They are attentive to detail: I remember both Rob and Robyn saying let them know if you have any food allergy or don't eat any particular item, and they'll try to adjust their cooking accordingly.

The cooked breakfast service is provided between 8 and 9 a.m. This includes both the cooked portion (varying from day to day - we had omelette, pancakes, scrambled eggs/bacon and breakfast burrito on 4 different days) and the continental portion (juice, coffee/tea/others, cereal, toast, muffins). Guests who have breakfast before 8 a.m. or after 9 a.m. can still have the continental portion.

Overall, I'd say my expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyistheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family of 3 older adults had the loft room, which was spacious, and suited our needs, as we like to self cater and it had a kitchenette. The building is rustic, and of historical significance as one of the older accommodations in Banff. We had views of mountains from all of our windows, and we loved that aspect. Breakfasts were very good, and it was in a great location for walking into town. Our gluten free needs were also very well attended to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My experience at the Rocky Mountain B& B was excellent.Great service and food too!massage by Robin was heavenly!Will return!Food was very good and breakfast was included!Great location and value too.I was really impressed..there is not much else that compares with this B&B on such a great level of hospitality.It was like a home away from home and that is not always easy to find.Very relaxing...

Room Tip: all nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our Australian friends booked us into Rocky Mountain B & B for a two night stay with them on their whirlwind tour of North America. Even from that far away, they couldn't have done a better job of choosing a place! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfasts top notch, and our meal of bison was superb! Hosts Robyn and Rob go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and valued. Though we are fairly simple travellers, I had the feeling that no request would be too much for this pair. The convenient location, close enough to Banff Avenue for the shopping, but far enough away for peace and quiet, was a definite plus! If you are looking for good value, great ambiance and wonderful hospitality, look no further an Rocky Mountain B & B!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5 and 6 on the third floor, while the third couple had one of the basement rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay here whilst we were in Banff. It is a very comfortable B&B with a lovely rooms and a really great host, Robyn, who was always really happy and smiley. The breakfasts were really tasty and filling. The room rate was really reasonable for the area and the location is great with Banff mainstreet about two blocks away. The only small issue is that there can be some noise with the shared bathrooms being adjacent to the bedrooms but it is not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laney1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We showed up late on Thursday night, after 10. We checked in to room 7. I am 6'5" and had to walk around the room with my head at an angle because this room is down in the basement. However, that should not deter you at all from staying here. Robyn was very friendly and always willing to help. We enjoyed some great pancakes for breakfast. They are strict with the breakfast hours, however you it seems as though you can enjoy the continental breakfast at any time. Downtown Bamff was only a short walk away. Would definitely stay here again. Just remember, you are pretty much staying in a house.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing