We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. The hosts Rob and Robyn were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was clean and had adequate space for both of us, 4 bags and ski gear. We had an ensuite which was large and clean. I highly recommend having dinner at the B&B at least one night of your stay, Rob cooks an excellent meal and it was good value. The hot breakfast was also very nice. If you want a bit of extra indulgence, have a massage, it was very relaxing. Great value accommodation, overall it was no more expensive than a private room at one of the hostels in Banff but much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_kate082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    78
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
134
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B! An excellent breakfast gets you started in the morning (besides cereals and toast, a different, warm breakfast menu is prepared fresh every day). Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Take advantage of staying in for a delicious dinner prepared by the owner (we had Bison and it was excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Powderhuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are in our 20's and were looking for a place to stay over New Years. We chose Rocky Mountain B&B mainly because of the central location and that one of the managers is a chef! The food was really great, service was excellent, and the house had a charming character feel to it. This B&B has maybe 10 guest rooms, light snacks available 24/7, message therapy, supper reservations, ect.. The couple that runs it does a great job, and really goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The only 'faults' I'd list was there was only shared bathrooms on the floor we were on, and it's not hard to hear others talking in other rooms when it's quiet. Other than that it's a great place to stay and very affordable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkp440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rocky Mountain B&B is situated near the centre of Banff but on a nice quiet street. We were in a downstairs bedroom with out bathroom a little down the hall. The room was clean, and it was handy to have a fridge to store picnic fixings.
Both owners were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about Rocky Mountain was the delicious hot breakfast- something different every morning! They were also very good to cater for me as a coeliac.
A good spot to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW2inCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first stay at a B&B, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. I stayed in one of the Queens with shared bathroom. There are two bathrooms, one of which has a bathtub which was great for a soak after a day of skiing. Both bathrooms were very clean and modern. The bedroom has a small sink and older furnature. The bed was comfortable, but nothing special.
The hosts are certainly the highlight of the property. He was an excellent cook, and very friendly. She was a wonderful hostess. There is a very comfortable couch in the dining area. The building is older and sound really carries. I wouldn't recommend it for light sleepers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

When I found the Rocky Mountain B&B I was greeted like an old friend and welcomed into the house. Great staff, good location, free parking and wi-fi, and a delicious breakfast. The only thing better was the peaceful night's sleep I had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank countszero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Rocky Mountain B&B has a great location - within walking distance of downtown, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle. It is an old building with old fashioned furniture that has been well-maintained and has a lovely, warm atmosphere. The rooms are very cosy and the whole place was very clean. The hostess was very welcoming, and the breakfast was top notch and always interesting. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing