We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly”
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

When I found the Rocky Mountain B&B I was greeted like an old friend and welcomed into the house. Great staff, good location, free parking and wi-fi, and a delicious breakfast. The only thing better was the peaceful night's sleep I had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank countszero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    79
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
135
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Rocky Mountain B&B has a great location - within walking distance of downtown, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle. It is an old building with old fashioned furniture that has been well-maintained and has a lovely, warm atmosphere. The rooms are very cosy and the whole place was very clean. The hostess was very welcoming, and the breakfast was top notch and always interesting. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the two nights at this B&B. Robyn was very gracious and hospitable throughout our visit. The hosts were very accommodating regarding our friend's gluten-free diet and made sure she had an equally delicious hot breakfast. The location is superb, on a quiet residential street, and only a couple of blocks from the heart of Banff shopping, bars, and restaurants. I highly recommend to anyone looking for lodging in Banff! Hope we can return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This B&B is run by a very nice young couple Rob & Robyn. Rob is the chef and we had dinner at the B&B and both of us can highly recommend the Bison steak. Robyn looks after everything else and is a great conversationalist. The B&B is in a hundred year old building, originally used by railway workers. The rooms are small and plain but comfy. We had to share a bathroom but it did not turn out to be a problem.
The breakfast was gormet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johneo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is practically perfect – quiet and at the same time easy walking distance from downtown. Clean rooms, comfortable bad, decently sized bathroom, good hot breakfast, sufficient parking space and extremely nice and welcoming host Robyn – what else you can ask for? The only minus I can think about is the pure sound proofing of our room - we could hear people in the hallway in the morning. Considering reasonable price, personal touch, cleanness and friendliness of this B&B I would definitely recommend is a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yury_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Happy to recommend this place as a good value stop over in Banff. We stayed in the top floor apartment in late August 2012. Robyn the host was very nice & gave us some great recommendations for dinner. 2 blocks from town makes it an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The rooms were quaint and homey. The hosts were amazing helpful and generous. The breakfasts were amazing and very tasty. The common area was spacious and the B&B was close to nearby town centre. Everything was within walking distance and there was ample free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trzyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing