We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wits End - A great B&B from which to enjoy your Banff visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wits End Review:

My wife and I were privileged to spend 10 days in Banff from July 18th to July 27th 2012. The views, scenery, mountains, and wildlife were spectacular. The City of Banff itself is just beautiful with it's flowers and mountain views. For our 10 days visit we chose to stay at Wits End Bed and Breakfast with New Owners April and Peter Wood. All of our accommodations were excellent. The bedroom, bathroom, common area were up to date and clean. The breakfast were prepared by April and were creative and delicious. April herself has a servants heart and daily checked with us to assure our satisfaction with our stay. We cannot say enough about how welcome we were made to feel at this establishment. The separate sleeping area and private bathroom was spacious and everything was up to date and like new. The common area was well appointed and the adjacent dining area/kitchenette came equipped with all you would need to help you prepare some of your other food needs for the rest of the day. (See their website) http://www.atwitsendbb.com/ Wits End is within reasonable walking distance of downtown Banff and the Cascade Gardens ( which are beautiful) are just around the corner. (Tip bring a good camera!) (Also, as word of this Bed and Breakfast gets out, reservations will harder to get, so make your reservations early. Our reservation were made 5 months in advance for our 10 day stay.) We will definitely make the trip again and stay at Wits End B&B in Banff, Alberta.

Thank You April for a Wonderful Stay!

Terry & Kathy Klein
Caro, Michigan

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at end of hallway with queen size bed. Large, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photoseeker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Wit's End mid June and found this B&B extremely well located. It's just a small walk to the center of the town and quiet place to sleep. Clean room and comfy beds and great breakfast. Further you can make use of a fridge and microwave, which may come handy and there is a nice area to sit outside. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We booked the twin room, which was perfect, but probably a bit darker than the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikelsWester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

At Wit's End is clean, modern, and comfortable. The owners went out of their way to provide a breakfast that met our needs...and was delicious! We had the use of a refrigerator and toaster oven for keeping and heating restaurant leftovers, which helped out with the cost of the trip. Extra snacks and beverages (and the Swiss chocolates) were a surprise added bonus. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singingcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A colleague and I stayed here for a week in Feb and I found this B&B more than just usual. We were in the bigger room with twin beds with bathroom inside our room which was very convenient and almost felt like we were in a hotel. What was great about this B&B was that April and Peter were really friendly and considerate hosts. We were greeted with a beer and some snacks as we have arrived late at night without proper dinner. It was perfectly located between the Downtown and the Fairmont Springs Hotel where we were attending a conference. A casual stroll down to the liquor store or supermarket was nice even at night. Once again I was very impressed with their kind hospitality providing us with muffins for the road. I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hosts are very punctual, f.i. breakfast is served at 8 am sharp. But this also means that everything is perfectly in order: breakfast is just great and so are the rooms and bathrooms. Barbara and Vic are very friendly and professional hosts. Located in town and only 10 minutes walking distance to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA-favorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in June, 2011.

I had difficulty finding the words to say exactly how I felt about this place, so I have plagiarised some from MandMfromMelb in a previous review, because they said it perfectly!

At Wit's End was a reasonable price and conveniently located near the main street of Banff. We stayed in the small room which although compact, was comfortable enough for our needs. We used the small bathroom down the hall which was also fine.

The hot breakfast each morning was fine (although a little repetitive when staying there a number of days), and it's always nice to share breakfast with other guests. Barbara and Vic were pleasant enough, although as MandM pointed out, you wouldn't describe them as natural hosts (sometimes slightly intrusive and a little awkward, but always very nice).

I don't have any real complaints, there just wasn't anything special for me to highly recommend this B&B. I probably would just try a different accommodation next time I visit Banff. We stayed in a lot of B&B's throughout our 5 weeks in Canada/Alaska, and this felt like nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zenzen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

A value B&B great locatation 5 minutes to the main street of banff
Excellent Breakfast quiet location and great hosts.
We would recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertandCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $101 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT WITS END B&B is a clean, updated and affordable property with a great location! Situated across from the Parks Administion Building and Gardens.....just a few minutes walk to downtown and the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing