We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the worst hostel in Banff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hostel
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hostel in Banff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked here because every other hostel in Banff was fully booked on the dates I required. It soon became apparent why this place had space and others didn't: Exceptionally rude staff, terrible rooms, awful breakfast. Far far too expensive. Generally a very bad hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
20
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed there for one night...
The first impression wasn't great. The guy at the reception wasn't very nice & lacked some customer service. We had asked to be in the same room & they had put us into 2 separate rooms. He managed to sort out something & we got into an 8 person dorm. When we got in the dorm it clearly smelled like pot. we put our stuff out &got out as we needed to exit this dark smelly room & got into town a bit.
We appreciated that the dorms had ther own private bathroom though it meant that you could not go to the bathroom while somebody was under the shower...
The breakfast was a good addition in the morning though the kitchen could get an upgrade !
It was a cheap affordable option & we got what we had paid for so globally no complain. Just don't expect anything crazy !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceetNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Free breakfast, quiet area, and friendly staff. I had a good stay here last year at this time and would go back again. Some hostels are louder/part atmosphere, but you can get a good sleep at International.

Room Tip: You can choose coed or male/female only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

so good and so nice
The reception is kind. The environment is clean and quiet. The room make me feel warm. I sleep well every night. ^_______^ I like this place. I and my friend had a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay731004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights in May in a room 211 with a queen bed. Room was very clean. Bus stop in near by. Didn't have a chance to use laundry. It is open from 7 am to 8 pm. Breakfast is from 7:30 to 10:00. I only went ones and didn't like it at all. You have to make your own breakfast and wash your dishes. No dishwasher, so everyone does it by hand. I didn't wanna use any of the dishes because didn't know how well they were washed. Kitchen is actually open till 10:00 pm. So you are welcome to cook something for yourself if you wish. Grocery store is 10 min walk from the hostel. It says in the lobby that quite time starts at 10 pm which not everyone obeyed. My neighbours were very loud from 11 pm to 12 am. Also, you can't use your own blankets or sleeping bags. Have no why.
Overall is a nice place to stay if you are on budget.

Room Tip: Room on a third floor probably is the best. My room was on second floor and I had noisy neighbours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastassia164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked a queen room for 2 nights. We were pleasantly surprised at how the room looked. It was very cosy and clean. However there was a continuous tapping noise that kept us awake for some of the night and the walls are paper thin. Our neighbours had no secrets and we were rudely awoken on our last morning by what we thought were a heard of moose! Value for money was good but if you want a good nights sleep book somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent Christmas Eve and day here, what a lovely place and a great bunch! Rooms are immaculate. Location is perfect. Staff were kind and all in all a good place to stay. Value for money! One of the best hostels I've stayed in, in a long time. Will be back again in the summer for a stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jackgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hostel

Property: Banff International Hostel
Address: 449 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Banff International Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Banff International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing