We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
64
54
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
54
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kerosene lanterns desk lamp cold tub summer crowds underground parking yogurt keurig coffee maker the main drag amazing room free breakfast hot items free weights clean hotel few issues decent breakfast balcony room per day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 145 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

Good hotel, amenities are pretty standard. This is not a five star hotel so don't expect fancy restaurants. The rooms are clean, it has a laundry room and the kids love the hot tubs. What separated the hotel from other hotels is the service. The gentleman on the front desk went above and beyond when he offered to turn on the fire pit and gave them marshmallows to roast. So if the hotel management is reading this, give that gentleman a pat in the back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Fielders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

I made last minute plans to visit Banff with my husband and did not research much for my stay options. Canalta Lodge caught my attention on trip advisor and I thought of giving it a try as I was looking for a convenient location in Banff itself and not on its outskirts (which most people prefer if they wish to save on their hotel stays).
I had no itinerary on my vacation so gave it a shot.
Positive:
-The staff members were very warm and welcoming.
- Located in Banff downtown
-The rooms were exactly like their pictures on the website
-Pleasent aura
-Hot tub in the hotel
-We also got to know they offer price match

What could be better?
-Guests should not have pay for parking
-Breakfast was same everyday and they ran out scrambled eggs on first day of my stay and I do not eat meat and hence did not have any filling options for breakfast on that day but I got to eat eggs on all other days.
-Checkin time is 4:00 p.m.. I feel, that's a little too late

Overall: If you are looking for a conveniently located hotel and an amicable stay Canalta is worth giving a try.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank transcendentaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Spent 3 nights at Canalta Lodge. the first night was in a Saturday and sadly some people have no respect for others staying in the lodge and continue to shout, laugh and slam doors. The following nights we could hear a vent or something out in the hall running until late at night then starting back up again at 7am. No wonder they supplied ear plugs! Otherwise the room was comfy, although I had to remember not to stand up straight getting out of bed in the night and bang my head on the slopped ceiling! Breakfast was a nice buffet and changed each day. The outdoor plunge pool, jacuzzi and sauna were pretty cool but not our thing. Secure parking is always good. Not a bad walk into town.
Overall, a nice place to stay.

Room tip: Perhaps pay a little more to avoid low ceilings.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katwatt2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

This hotel has it all. Cosy, conveniently located (0.7 Km from downtown) charming. Breakfast was delicious (and included). Service from everyone (front desk, cafe & kitchen) was outstanding. The room and the shower were clean and comfy. A great place to relax after a long trip to the mountains.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alexgrillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This hotel has a unique vibe, almost like staying with a friend. The hot pool was lovely, the breakfast was DELICIOUS, and the staff friendly. The room has no extras, but is fine for an overnight stay. Decor is great - mountain modern. Short walk to Banff and all its great shops and restaurants. Be prepared that you're in the mountains - temperatures were CHILLY at night. Underground parking is secure.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leannepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews