We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great price for Banff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price for Banff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a wedding to attend in Banff this past weekend. We booked Spruce Grove on Booking.com months ago and got a great price relative to other places in Banff. They have a very strict check in policy that you cannot get in before 4 p.m. Believe me you cannot. The lobby was full of angry tourist that were less than thrilled with the customer service. The hotel had booked us in for the month before but quickly found us another room in their hotel and upgraded us. The room itself was fine. The bed was comfortable and it was reasonably clean.
The breakfast consisted of bread (no toaster) juice, coffee, mixed fruit, yogurt, cereal and milk. It is not creative or special in any way but got us started for the day. Overall, I have rated this hotel average because for the price I have stayed at far worse places. The inconvenience at check in, which I was expecting from other reviews, was what I expected and it was worth the hassle for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 966conniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    92
    54
    59
See reviews for
58
113
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Worst hotel I've stayed in. Dirty, rooms not clean, dirty carpets, walls, hair on bathroom floor. Very old and dated. Beds old and uncomfortable. No hot tub or pool, it's in next facility over voyager inn which is as dirty. If I'd had a choice to leave and go elsewhere I certainly would have. I'd prepaid :( no refund

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joynkev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Room was okay but let down in the detail. Stayed two nights as part of tour. Did not eat in the restaurant which was available via a neighbouring site. Wifi key is not provided as a matter of course (as was the case at all other hotels during the tour). These are given out on a machine by machine basis and they ran out of keys! Despite going to front desk personally and their assurances this would be sorted it never was...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlobby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here as a group and the hotel is only just of an acceptable standard.The rooms were OK with 2 comfortable beds,small bathroom, noisy near the road.The check-in was inefficient, although the girls on the desk tried hard.The small pool which is next door at the Voyager Inn looked like it had not been vacuumed recently and hot tub was cold.The snack machine was out of order.Wifi was generally slow.The carpets definitely need cleaning or replacing.We had a group breakfast which also was ordinary.It is also 20 minute walk to town. Would look for another hotel for sure!!

Room Tip: Definitely away from the Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is the sister hotel of the Voyager which is next door. There are no facilities here, you have to go next door for anything, even for change for the drinks machine. Wifi a waste of time, no signal in room, barely a signal in the lobby. However the rooms were ok, two big comfy beds. There was a coffee maker, and I asked for a kettle as I drink tea. The hairdryer didn't work but the guy cleaning the rooms let me have another from his store. Our rooms had a nice view of the mountain, one room had a small balcony. The bus stops outside to go into the main town, (take mossie repellent for evenings as the killer mosses get you while you're waiting) costs $2 or $1 for oldies. You can walk tho, it's only about 12 mins. You can have breakfast next door in the Voyager - $7 or $14 depending on continental or hot. Average breakfast, too many people trying to get it at the same time and coffee/tea in a corner so really awkward and dangerous.
We saw 4 elks hanging around just by the hotel in the evening,in a parking lot. A nice bonus.


Wifi useless even in lobby. No facilities have to go next door even for change for drinks machine. Saw elks outside. Beds comfy. Two large beds. Coffee making. Kettle on request. H dryer didn't work. Nice view of mountain. Simon had balcony. Bus stop outside into downtown or walk 15 mins easy. Bus one or two dollars depend on age. Breakfast in next door (voyager.). 7 cad or 14 cad depends on hot or continental. Busy with lots of Chinese everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The front of the hotel looks great and very inviting, the inside however is a complete mess. Very dirty and falling apart. The rooms are a throw back of the 1980's and not the good years either. Ac barely works, no fridge, dirty bathrooms. They claim to have a pool but they actually dont its in the property next door. Its a real shame this is the hotel that greets so many people to banff, and from what other people have written lately I can tell this is not a new thing, its very obvious that the owners have stopped caring about this property and the management staff could care little of the place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoforDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

In the front desk when we arrived is not that accomodating, The room air-condition is not yet open when we enter, no microwave, no fridge, no plates. Inside the room , my son is expecting to freshen his self with a pool , but sad to say and my son is so disapppointed when he saw the round size of a table pool, i cant recommend this hotel ..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing