We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for 1 night because we were stopping over heading to lake lousie for snowboarding.

The room was adequate size but dated. The bed was not that comfortable and seemed worn in but the room overall was very clean and sufficient.

The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes away from the main town by walk and they also had undergound parking for your car. The location of the hotel is not that good as it is one of the first hotels in town so it takes some time to get into the main town if you are walking.

The continental breakfast was available till around 10 AM and was located in the hotel next door, we found all of the baked goods to be very dry and stale. They did have cereal and some juices so that was okay. You have to pay extra for the hot breakfast, overall it was mediocre.

The staff was friendly overall but we caught some of the younger staff smoking marijuana in the hotel parking lot! We were not bothered by it but it definetly is something to consider.

Overall this place is only good for a stop over stay, if you are looking to explore the town it is a bit of a pain to walk 20 minutes back and fourth and there are closer places that will charge a reasonable price. We ended up paying 100 CAD for the night.

We will prolly not stay here again unless it is for a stop over and its on the cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsshoker s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spend many weekends in Banff during the ski season and we always stay at the Spruce Grove Inn. Our son trains at Norquay Hill every weekend and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The price is right, the rooms are basic but always clean, the hot breakfast is great and the location and underground parking are very convenient for us. I was extremely impressed with the attentive, efficient and professional management team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sju901165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. We have two small kids, so we found the amenities to be really good. One thing I wasn't too happy about was there wasn't a mini fridge in our suite, which was a hassle for having bottles for our baby. But we enjoyed our breakfasts every morning. The staff at the front was really nice. The restaurant staff were great. We all slept really well, but most of all we were all very comfortable. We will definetely book at there again. We liked the convenience, cleanliness and comfortableness. Oh yeah, it was very secure in the building. i never worried about rif raf coming in too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and that was long enough. The hotel feels very outdated and unloved! We had a standard room with 2 queen beds. The room(504) was spacious and faced the back of the hotel. It was quiet. The beds were very uncomfortable and we ended up with very sore backs the next day. When we went to go to bed we noticed a thick layer of dust on the alarm clock. I don't think the room had been cleaned properly in weeks.

It took a very long time for warm water to reach our room. The pipes made a horrible seeking noise when you tried to adjust the water temperature.

Free parking was offered but the underground parade was full and we had to find street parking which was at the back of the hotel.

There was no restaurant and breakfast was served in the hotel next door which we did not take advantage of. We we glad to check out and be on our way!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Humbug74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Well! we rented the two story suites on a number of occasions, Was like 250 a night and really made a night or 2 of it. great for after ski parties etc. Don't smoke in the rooms you'll be charged extra. This place is pretty dated and a ways from "downtown", you'll need a cab in winter for sure and a 20 minute walk otherwise. Stay in the middle of Banff so you can find something to do and walk home once you're tired and want to sleep. (drive as little as possible, so congested) This "Inn" isn't cozy or a hidden gem or anything, has a lodge look to it, but isn't a nice cozy place to be. If you want to find some fun/trouble stay in a lil 130$ per night place right in town and if you want a romantic get away go for the Fairmont or one of the many cottages or cabins outside the town. They have a dingy bar and a terrible restaurant, like most hotels and a fairly complacent staff. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi suite if you can bargain them into 220$ a night, otherwise go elsewhere. They need you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My friend booked the whole trip I did'nt want to go to Banff. We stayed at the spruce grove and change my mind the Hotel had EVERYTHING. Underground parking, hottub, heated pool. But the best part was the staff thank you Lynn ( not sure if it's Spelled right ) was a Barmaid you will never forget and the rest of the staff was amazing sorry I can't mention you all

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srblair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guardian55
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a great hotel in a prime location but the owners need to spend a little money to up grade the hotel. Beds are old and starting to curl and the bathrooms could use an overhaul. The service wasn't bad if they had any but everything was done at hotel next door and they offer a free breakfast with your stay so long as you get there within a small window of time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guardian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing