We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They could do much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They could do much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel has some real potential, but it's a shame that they seem not to care too much about cleanliness. During our two-days stay the hallways were always dirty (didn't look like they vacuumed them). The room itself, while spacious, could have been cleaner. Some dirt on the carpet (again, they seem to have a problem with vacuuming It properly) and inside the washroom there was a spider in a corner, very easy to spot. I kept wandering, how difficult can it be to do a proper cleaning ??
Wifi slow, but at least it worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyperion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your comments and observations; constructive reviews help especially when it comes to the on going training needs of all the Hotel Departments.

Your observations have been passed onto the Housekeeping Department and the Head Housekeeper will be bringing up with her team at their daily meetings; which unfortunately are currently very brief due to the Hotel (& in fact the whole Bow Valley accommodation sector) really suffering this summer from serious staffing shortages.

I do very much thank you for your observations and I can ensure you that the Hotel Team will be continually working hard to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    92
    54
    59
See reviews for
58
113
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Older motel but its clean and has a kitchen,there were groups staying there but they were quite and we had a good nights sleep. It is a comfortable motel and because there is a kitchen it is suitable for longer than an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415Tony279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Many thanks for your comments and observations, it is always helpful to receive constructive reviews (good and bad) as they help the Hotels in their on-going efforts to improve.

We are very glad to hear that your recent stay was comfortable and you were able to enjoy your holidays in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The worst hotel we have ever visited, and we have been in many!
The staff consists of 17 year olds who don't care, don't clean and don't provide serice.
The wifi was unavailable for two days in a row and the complimentary breakfast was lousy. The floor of the room was dirty, the beds were not made up properly and dirty cups were left in the room. I sent an email to the manager but never received a reply.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hel160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Firstly allow me to say that I sorry that you sent myself (GM) an email but have received no reply, unfortunately I have received no such email otherwise I most certainly would have responded.

The Hotel can very much relate to your frustrations with the wi-fi; the wi-fi service this summer has been a major challenge but we have been working with our service provider to try and overcome most of the issues. This is a long and on-going process, the provider was in fact working at the hotels this past week and hopefully solving some of the issues.

It is unfortunate that you were not impressed with the breakfast it is an area that the hotel & the Chef are continually working to improve as it has gotten totally varying reviews from both ends of the spectrum - sometimes it has not been what guests expected but as mentioned it is an area that is always worked on.

With regard to the staff (we do not have any 17 year olds working at the hotel) it is disappointing that you were not impressed especially as they (especially the Front of House Staff) have garned a lot of guest praise over this season for both their help and caring.
Your obversations with regard to housekeeping have been passed to the Head Housekeeper so she can work with her staff to ensure that cleanning is done to standards.

Again I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations but the Hotel welcomes your observations so the areas of concern can continue to be worked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, Zoe, and I were recently in Banff celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and spent three nights at the Spruce Grove Inn. While it may not be the most luxurious hotel on earth, we had a fantastic time and the staff, especially Daniel on reception, were exceptional. My wife was also extremely impressed with Daniel's professionalism and exceptional local knowledge - he knew all the hot spots and really made us feel very welcome. Please pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
So many thanks for your review,

It was lovely to hear that your recent visit to Banff was enjoyable and your stay at the Spruce Grove Inn was an excellent experience for both of you.

The Hotel staff take pride in always trying to serve our Guests well and being friendly, welcoming and knowledgable: I will absolutely pass your comments on to Daniel and will be honoured to do so.

I hope you had a wonderful rest of your trip and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains and lovely Banff should you decide to re visit.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 whilst on a Archers Best Western Canada tour and found the room clean and comfortable. Rome consisted of two beds, coffee machine, TV and free wifi.
Restaurant was in Voyager Inn next door. Continental breakfast, cereal, fruit, coffee, toast was good at a 7.25 dollars per person.
Reception staff, Susan, very friendly.
Overall we experienced two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts.
Banff is about ten minutes walk away and plenty to offer in terms of shops, restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in Voyager is fine but there are many restaurants ten minutes way in Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winbags2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you very much for your review, comments and observations in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn.
I am very happy to hear that your 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable, especially glad to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful (I will be sure to pass your observations on to Susan).
I hope the rest of your trip is as enjoyable for you and should ever be returning to Canada and the beautiful mountains & Banff we would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

from the outside it looks quaint and has this wooden cabin look. but inside it is just another contemporary hotel with nothing worth remembering. it is very clean and spacious. good enough for a nights sleep. breakfast was mediocre but filling. you have to walk to the next building for the breakfast. it was ok since it is just a minute walk but it could get a little inconvenient. there was no public restroom at the lobby. it was also at the next building. it could get a little confusing with the floor numbers. overall just an average hotel. there are dozens to choose from along the same avenue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review,

The Hotels are very grateful for your comments and observations and they will be used in the property training efforts as we continually strive to improve our Guests experience and stay.

The Hotels will be working to improve on the "average" status especially in areas that training and service can be improved; your review wil be most helpful in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My sister and I decided to take a ladies weekend for May Long and picked the Spruce Grove for availability sake. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4 pm at the latest, but wasn't ready until 6. It was busy so we let it slide. We get in the room and there's garbage from the last guests, including beer bottles on the floor under the bed. It was gross, but we threw them in the trash and let it go. We go out for the rest of the night and come back to sleep. The next morning I wake up and go into the bathroom. There are BLOOD smears on the floor, and on the shower mat. When we took all this evidence of a very poor cleaning, the receptionist gave us 10% off. That was it... She apologized, but we still had to pay over 160 dollars to stay in the filthiest room ever. I was disgusted, and I'm never going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlaireTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day to you,
I am very sorry to hear about your experiences on your recent stay at the Hotel; your observations are a great concern, unacceptable and they have been brought to the Housekeeping Departments attention to ensure improvements in cleaning and checking of rooms.
I am somewhat surprised that when you went into the room & saw the "garbage" on the floor that you did not contact the Front Desk thereby allowing the Hotel to correct the issues immediately and move you to another room. Especially if the bathroom issues were also noticed - but I note that you state you did not enter the bathroom (even after seeing the "garbage") between going into the room & the next morning?
I totally agree that the issues you reported are not acceptable but I am surprised the Hotel was not given a chance to correct them immediately (i.e. a phone call to the Front Desk); in fact the Hotel was only informed (to a Front Desk Agent) upon "check out" and payment time!
The Front Desk Agent was correct in her actions in that they (Front Desk Agents) are only allowed to give 10% dicounts: when more (high discounts) are expected by Guests they usually request to speak to a Supervisor or Manager - especially when Manager's Business Cards are displayed on the Front Desk counter. As of this point of time none of the Hotel Senior Management (including the General Manager) have not received any direct communication in regards to this stay.
As stated above the "issues" encountered are unacceptable but equally the Hotel should be allowed the chance to correct them immediately prior to demands/expectations of greatly reduced rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing