We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok just ok”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room was ok view was terrible the window looked right into Voyager inn next door and u can see the people next door the complimentary Continental breakfast was the worst ever it was all cold u got fruit and muffins hot water for tea was not hot coffee was out if u wanted eggs sausage or bacon the 3 options for hot food u had to pay 7 bucks extra not worth it I was so shocked at what crappy service that was and crappy breakfast i would not stay here again oh and the Voyager inn hot tub is so old and tiny just drive and go to the hot springs

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butterflygirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your "review and feed back"; it is always good to hear constructive comments from Guests.
Like a number of hotels especially within Banff some rooms have better views than others, as such at the Spruce Grove Inn rooms on one side (again like many hotels in the town) do overlook the next door property.
The observations in regard to the complimentary Continental breakfast are comments that will be looked into but they are somewhat confussing as the "Complimentary Breakfast" in fact garners good & positive comments: it does as you say include fruit (both whole & fruit salad) & muffins but also includes yogout, pastries, cereal, toast as well as juices, tea, milk and coffee and as it is a buffet Guests can take as much as they want - the same applies to the hot items (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns).
The Hot Tub in the Voyager Inn has a capacity of 10 people and also available is an outdoor heated swimming pool & indoor dry sauna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Spruce Grove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

A long weekend meant that half of Calgary seemed to be in Banff and I wasn't able to get a room anywhere except at the Voyager inn.

Upon check-in I was directed to the Spruce Grove Inn instead, apparently the Voyager and Spruce Grove are connected. This was probably just as well, because the Voyager main lobby did not inspire confidence in the quality of rooms. The Spruce Grove felt much improved over its sibling.

The room is surprisingly big, easily accommodating the 2 queen beds inside with plenty of extra space to spare, should work nicely for large families.

Do not expect any luxuries here, the bed and linens are basic motel fare, the washroom is clean, the carpeting passably so.

I was in Banff during its busiest time of the year, Alberta's family day long weekend. There is definitely noise in the hallways at night, but it didn't disturb my rest, your own milage may vary.

The hotel is located fairly far from the downtown core. It's walkable, but will probably take you 15 ish minutes each way.

One final note about the parking, there is not enough underground parking at this hotel to accomodate all guests and the parking spots are cramped. If you enter and find it full it's pretty annoying to back out of the place, especially with a large car. I recommend that you put your car in the underground parking early or to look for spaces to park in the nearby Voyager inn or on the street behind the hotel.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in this hotel that have doors that open right into the lobby (on the '4th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrcleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This will be our second year staying in the hotel from December 30th to January 1st. We book this weekend through Magic Bus Tours and the hotel is included so I'm not exactly sure of the price that is normally charged. The hotel is located close to the end of the Banff Ave strip so everything is still fairly close for walking. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was no iron in the room so we called the front desk and they brough us an iron and an iron board within 10 minutes. The rooms are clean, but very dated. We have only stayed on the main floor, the rooms on the second floor have balconys. One thing that we did notice is the walls are fairly thin, so if you are a little sleeper ask to be moved away from the front hallway. Overall decent stay in a good location!

Room Tip: Try to go to the second floor, if on the main floor ask for a room away from the front foyer
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADread30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your comments & observations, these are very helpful for the Hotel going forward especially when it comes to employee training, hotel upkeep and planning hotel capital expenditure.
It is pleasing to hear that the staff - even though it is always a stressful few days over the New Year - were pleasant and helpful & your request (i.e. iron & ironing board) was fullfilled in a timely manner.
The Spruce Grove was built in two stages in 2003 & 2006 and as you mentioned it is due of some upgrades to keep pace with the ever changing expected amenities etc. As mentioned observations and comments such as yours are very helpful when it comes to planning these "capital" upgrades.
Very true, especially over this New Year holiday, it can become noisy especially when one is one the "ground/entrance" floor. The second and third floors at this time of year are also noisy but definitely not as much as the ground floor.
it is true that the second & third floor has rooms - Superior Rooms - that are somewhat bigger in size and that also have balconies.
Once again thank you for your comments & observations and we are glad to hear that your visit to the Hotel & to beautiful Banff was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our room was well appointed and reasonably clean. Unfortunately the housekeeping in the hallways needed attention when we first arrived at about 4:00 PM and still did when we left around 10:00 the next morning. The Q-Tip and string in the photos was on the hallway carpet just outside our room the entire time. We had to go next door to the Voyager Inn to check out in the morning as both are under the same management. Just as others have noted, The Voyager Inn is a dump and we elected to pass on the complimentary breakfast. It looked scary. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good day and thank you for your "Review" with the very helpful observations and comments.
It is always very good for the hotel to receive constructive "feed back" (both good and bad) because of course it is a continuing on-going process to improve Standards, Guest Service and Guest Experience.
Your photos along with your observations will be very helpful with the continuous training of Housekeeping and in fact ALL employees (including Management) when it comes to remembering the upkeep of the "Common Public Areas" not just the rooms: the corridors etc can tend to get overlooked.
As far as your comments with regard to the Voyager - once Banff enters the "Shoulder Season" and "Slow Season" we tend to just have the Voyager Front Desk open covering both Properties (this is due to all the amenities being in the Voyager).
The Voyager Inn is definitely a much older property (dating back to the mid 1960s) and as such does not have a "modern feel" but it does have all the facilities - such as Hot Tub, Pool, Sauna, small Lounge Bar, Liquor Store and Restaurant - it is a shame that you did not get to try the Restaurant food as it & the restaurant service are getting a lot of good, positive "Feed Back" & Reviews - especially as the restaurant is now open in the evenings with a new menu & theme based on Home (i.e. on site) "Smoking" of many of the menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On it's own, the Spruce Grove hotel is not that bad - basic, but clean and comfortable. However, they share certain facilities (including restaurant) with the neighbouring Voyager Inn, which is a dump. We ended up skipping breakfast as we were appalled by the restaurant facilities, which looked dated and dirty. Too bad really; it let down our overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your "review"; all observations & comments from Guests help the Hotels in their ongoing goal of ever improving Guest Service, Care and Experiences.
I am glad to hear that you found the Spruce Grove Inn (which is "Rooms Only") to be a of a satisfactory & comfortable stay; it is a newer property (2003 & 2006) that aims to provide to clients looking for a clean, comfortable and mid standard property in Banff.
With regard to the Voyager (the "sister" property to the Spruce Grove) you are absolutely correct - it is a much older property (from the 1960/70s) - it has the "facilities" as well as rooms. Facilities such as - pool, hot tub, lounge, liquor store and yes Restaurant - as mentioned the facilities (including the Restaurant) are a lot older but the products/services provided in them get good reviews; i.e. the restaurant meals & service receive positive responses from Guests.
The restaurant actually is scheduled (in mid October this year) for some renovations & upgrades that will definately change its presentation to customers.
Once again many thanks for your observations & comments they are very helpful to the Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to make a last minute trip to do some hiking before things got busy in the fall. We managed to get a room at the spruce grove inn last minute, at the time we thought we got lucky. We drove in Saturday morning and checked in later in the day, no problems, nice hotel right on the Banff main drag. We had a quick nap and headed out for dinner and returned later that evening. Everything was satisfactory until Monday morning when I woke up covered in bites, specifically my face and back. Several years ago I backpacked through Europe and had an unfortunate encounter with bed bugs while jumping through hostels. I know what they are, there is no mistake, these are bed bugs bites. I met with a physician at the university of Alberta and he confirmed that these are bed bugs and gave me some medication. I will not ever be returning to this hotel, I feel scammed to have paid $200 for a hotel room that had bed bugs, and potentially have brought them into my home because of this hotel. Please do not stay here and warn anyone else going to Banff to stay away from this hotel, Bed Bugs are no laughing matter.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leroy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Good day,

The Hotel is very concerned to read your report/comments as these sorts of matters are taken very seriously indeed and immediately act upon when they are reported.
What is even more alarming is that the Hotel has received no notification or feed back on the matter of Guests having bites etc from anything including bed bugs; it is obviously next to impossible to act and treat for any possible case of bed bugs if the Hotel does not know about a possible incident.
The Hotel can absolutely say that it has not received any reports or concerns with regard to possible bed bug incidents or any other insect type occurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall, the staff was nice, courteous.. the hotel was clean, with safe heated underground parking.

The rooms were basic and clean - however the bed was extremely uncomfortable, worn out.. needed new spring.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rav_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and observation in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn here in Banff.
I am glad to hear that you received good, courtious and helpful service from the staff - Guest Service is always the number one focus of the Hotel and we are always striving to improve whenever possible. As you say the Hotel works to provide a clean, safe and quality basic enviroment for our Guests; ranging from a "secure" underground parkade to clean & functional rooms.
It is good to hear your observations with regard to the beds, I thank you for them: obviously beds - their firmness or softness is always a "personal/subjective" preference - but your observations will definitely help towards pushing for "new product" (either whole beds or at least matteress) when it comes to winter refurbishments etc.
Once again so many thanks for your comments & observations and I hope we have the chance to welcome you again to beautiful Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $135 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing