We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS, Stay Away from this Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BED BUGS, Stay Away from this Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to make a last minute trip to do some hiking before things got busy in the fall. We managed to get a room at the spruce grove inn last minute, at the time we thought we got lucky. We drove in Saturday morning and checked in later in the day, no problems, nice hotel right on the Banff main drag. We had a quick nap and headed out for dinner and returned later that evening. Everything was satisfactory until Monday morning when I woke up covered in bites, specifically my face and back. Several years ago I backpacked through Europe and had an unfortunate encounter with bed bugs while jumping through hostels. I know what they are, there is no mistake, these are bed bugs bites. I met with a physician at the university of Alberta and he confirmed that these are bed bugs and gave me some medication. I will not ever be returning to this hotel, I feel scammed to have paid $200 for a hotel room that had bed bugs, and potentially have brought them into my home because of this hotel. Please do not stay here and warn anyone else going to Banff to stay away from this hotel, Bed Bugs are no laughing matter.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leroy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Good day,

The Hotel is very concerned to read your report/comments as these sorts of matters are taken very seriously indeed and immediately act upon when they are reported.
What is even more alarming is that the Hotel has received no notification or feed back on the matter of Guests having bites etc from anything including bed bugs; it is obviously next to impossible to act and treat for any possible case of bed bugs if the Hotel does not know about a possible incident.
The Hotel can absolutely say that it has not received any reports or concerns with regard to possible bed bug incidents or any other insect type occurance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    87
    51
    55
See reviews for
53
105
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall, the staff was nice, courteous.. the hotel was clean, with safe heated underground parking.

The rooms were basic and clean - however the bed was extremely uncomfortable, worn out.. needed new spring.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rav_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and observation in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn here in Banff.
I am glad to hear that you received good, courtious and helpful service from the staff - Guest Service is always the number one focus of the Hotel and we are always striving to improve whenever possible. As you say the Hotel works to provide a clean, safe and quality basic enviroment for our Guests; ranging from a "secure" underground parkade to clean & functional rooms.
It is good to hear your observations with regard to the beds, I thank you for them: obviously beds - their firmness or softness is always a "personal/subjective" preference - but your observations will definitely help towards pushing for "new product" (either whole beds or at least matteress) when it comes to winter refurbishments etc.
Once again so many thanks for your comments & observations and I hope we have the chance to welcome you again to beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Spruce Grove Inn dozens of times in the last 5 years or so on ski vacations, and it is a great hotel to sleep in. Anything more than sleeping (sitting in your room, dining, nightlife or something) leaves lots to be desired, but there are other hotels for that. The Spruce has consistently clean rooms, good beds, quick check-in and out and a heated parkade with ski storage. Some rooms can be noisy at night (its Banff, people drink too much and then wander about), and the walk to town is long if its cold, but its pretty easy stuff to live with.

If all you need is a place to crash after skiing and partying, Spruce is great. I've stayed at lots of Banff hotels, and I like the Spruce the best.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from elevators or the front doors. Rooms facing the courtyard are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krehzeekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and observations; it is always great to hear Guests opinions (both good & bad) as they help both the Hotel & its Staff to work on areas of concern and thereby improve the "Guest Experience".
It is good to hear that the Spruce Grove has often provided you with what you are looking for on your visits to Banff - clean facilities, comfortable beds/rooms, good service etc.
As you rightly said the Hotel is a property that aims to provide a good base for one's stay in Banff and as such it does not pretend to have the extras that one would require if one planned to spend a lot of the time in the Room - we are a comfortable base and are always working to help serve & improve our Guests Experience.
Oh yes Banff can definitely be a "bit of a party" town which does result in some noisy people on the streets well into the night.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back & looking after your stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel very clean had a nice welcome meal provided free thats strange room very large a bit dated but comfortable
If you would like to eat close the is a reasonable eatry at the Voyger or the nice flat walk into town is so nice and there are plenty places along the way

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn; it is the Hotels genuine pleasure to provide a "Welcome Reception" for some of our Tour Groups that have travelled a long way to come and visit the lovely Rockie Mountains & beautiful Banff.
As far as the Hotel Rooms we are proud to provide good sized rooms & the amenties are always being reviewed and updated on a yearly basis.
The Voyager Restaurant is currently moving into an exciting stage as it has just started to be open for Dinners (always open for breakfast) with a New "Smoke House Grill" theme with most of the meats being "smoked" on site: the aim is introduce yet another restaurant choice to Banff visitors.
You are absolutely right when you say it is a lovely, scenic and easy walk from the Hotel to Downtown with all of its many quality restaurant choices.
It is always a true pleasure to welcome Guests from overseas to this beautiful area and we strive tomake their stay a very enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean with 2 double beds and usual hotel room amenities. A coffee percolator was also standard equipment. Being shoulder season (May), there was no staff in attendance and any enquiries, problems etc had to be directed to the staff in the sister hotel next door. The restaurant was not open and the hotel next door provided dining for breakfast and other meals. It was a 15 minute walk to the centre of town where there were plenty of other dining options.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their entrances facing onto the reception area. They could be noisy at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Why don't you have any fridges in the rooms? Beds are soooo uncomfortable. Would rather have stayed in a cabin. Sorry def not recommend

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayres1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your review, observations and comment all such constructive feed back is very helpful to the Hotels' ongoing efforts to provide good quality Guest Service and Guest Experiences.
I am sorry to read that there were some issue in regard to your stay; with regard to Fridges in rooms this is a issue that the Hotel management is working on with the Hotel's ownership. Currently the Hotel does have Fridges (limited number) that can be put into rooms if prior requested - have been doing so quite a lot recently due to Tour Groups arriving with guests that need to keep medications cool.
In regards to the Beds this is always a difficult one as everyone has different tastes when it comes to a Bed (soft, hard, in between etc.), for the most part the Hotel does receive very positive "feed back" in regard to the Beds but of course on occassion they will not suit some people: all the Beds in the Spruce Grove are not more than 2 to 3 years old and they are a very popular Hotel/Hospitality Brand.
Once again many thanks for your comments & observations and I trust you had a chance to enjoy the stunning beauty that is Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We checked in to Spruce Grove Inn for 3 nights. We were allocated room 423 which is next to the lobby and reception desk. The lobby doors are locked at 10.30 at night but as there was some type of concert on in Banff, there seemed to be a lot of noise later than that. Needless to say because of the position of the room, we had little sleep. Also during the day, the window looks out onto the driveway where cars pull up to check in. My husband went to the reception desk to see if there was any possibility of a move considering we were there for another 2 nights. He spoke to LILL who was most obliging. We were upgraded at no expense for the next 2 nights. Our next room faced the back street and had a balcony. It was a large room with a loft ceiling and was nicely decorated. The only thing missing for us was a kettle to boil some water as we are tea drinkers. After 2 requests over 2 nights to the girl on reception, a kettle was bought to our room. Spruce Grove is located about a 15 minute walk from the main shops and restaurants in Banff. It has a car park underneath. Breakfast is served at the adjacent Voyager Inn. A voucher is provided for a cold continental breakfast and if you want a hot breakfast, you pay about $7.00 more. The cold continental breakfast is pretty basic and consisted of the limited range of fruit salad (and if you didn't get in early the decent fruit had been picked out), tubs of yoghurt, pastries, orange juice and tea or coffee. Cereal and bread for toasting were not offered.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Good day and thank you so much for your very constructive comments & observations; receive such constructive comments (both good ones & those that are not so good) they are very helpful for both the Hotel & the Staff in the continual process of striving for improved Guest Service & Visit Experiences.
You are absolutely correct when you mention about a major Concert taking place in Banff (the Sam Roberts Band) over the weekend of your stay - of course the town was busy & those who attended the sold out show continued their partying hence increased noise. It is good to hear that the Guest Service Agent was helpful and got you moved to a more suitable room.
I am sorry that your request for a kettle appears not to have been fullfilled correctly, I apologise because there are kettles available & one should have been delivered to room at once.
The breakfast served in the Voyager Restaurant as you correctly mentioned has both a "Free" Continental option or that Free Coupon can be used as $7 towards the Hot Buffet. We welcome the observations on the Continental Buffet and like all our menus it is under regular review and in fact due to good Guest "Feed Back" we will be adding both Ceral & Toast in the near future.
Once again very many thanks for your very helpful comments and I hope you get another chance to visit beautiful Banff sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing