We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

When a booking goes wrong from the start one should bail.
Part 1: This one started out wrong when I discovered that my entire stay at Spruce Grove was charged to my credit card the very moment I confirmed on-line - something I discovered when I received my CC statement. I have booked many a times on-line nationally and internationally and never had my total stay been billed to my CC immediately. The CC # is a guarantee of my arrival and my security payment. I can understand one night but the whole stay? Unprecedented! So beware when you book at this hotel on-line. You could be paying way, way in advance.
Here is the response of the hotel to my query about the charge:
"I am sorry for the miss understanding. When you booked this reservation this was the rule on taken the full payment at time of booking. I have changed that about one week ago or so. That is why it doesn’t say anything on the web site anymore."
Here is what appeared on the site regarding charges:
"If cancelled up to 1 day before the date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled later or in case of no-show, the first night will be charged."
So why the full charge upon booking the confirmation on-line?
Part 2: Upon arrival at the hotel a notice on the door requests that you proceed to the hotel next door to check in! So you have to go next door, check in, then return to the hotel and proceed to find your room. Is a hotel so cheap (rates are not at 166 dollars a room) that it can't operate a check in desk at its neighbouring establishment? As a result of this, the hotel lacks abiance, character and warmth. There are no personnel around. You have to go next door everytime you need something and to eat, use the pool or talk to someone. This section is like an annex with no character or connection. The room lacked a refrigerator, beds were uncomfortable and of poor quality and no wireless connectivity. You had to journey next door via an underground tunnel to breakfast.
Part 3: Upon checkout, I requested an invoice from the girl at the service desk as one was not forthcoming (as is characteristic at all hotels I have been). I was told that the hotel could not do that as my payment was not processed by the hotel but by the internet site that processed the on-line booking. I challenged her to the fact that on my CC statement the name of the hotel appeared and that the duty manager had replied to my query about the charge saying that it was hotel policy to take full payment. Again I was told that she could not generate an Invoice and that I had to email the agency the had handled the on-line booking for an Invoice!
Frustrted and in no mood to argue I left with a determination to post the experience here to help fellow travellers avoid the frustration, inconvenience and the unhappiness of a spoilt holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Safariman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for your very informative review; it will certainly help the Hotel develop "Policies & Procedures" that will in turn great improve the Guest Experience.
With regard to the issue of being Fully Charged (your total stay amount) on your Credit Card at the time you made the reservation (I believe that was some months in advance of your trip), you are totally correct and like you mentioned most Hotels have a "One Nights Charge" for "No Shows".
Your reservation was made though a Third Party - in your case the "Booking Company" linked to the Hotel's website that handles the Hotels "online" reservations - and at the time your reservation was made the "Policy" in place with the Third Party was that Total Stay charges were to be made at the time of reservation.
In the time between when your reservation was made & your arrival the above mentioned "Policy" was changed and as such Guests are not charged the Full Amount of their stay at the time of making the Reservation - thank you this "Policy" change was made as a result of Guest "feed back"
Hence the Hotels thanks for your observations as they all help develop changes for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hi, I had a good stay at this hotel, the rooms were clean, large, beds were comfy and had a decent tv with a few channels. The only complaint was that the wifi was slow but it was also ok as I wasn't in Banff to go on the internet all night.

After reading the reviews, I knew that this was 2 hotels combined together but we made it work, there is an underground tunnel connecting the 2 hotels so you didn't have to walk outside. Also, the underground parking was a plus and had lots of spaces.

The hotel is about a 10-15 walk from the "downtown" area, it's a nice walk to see what around the end of the strip and check out all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Not too far at all, on my weekend stay we probably walked back and forth around 3 times. The continental breakfast was ok at best, but nothing to phone home about.

Thanks again for the lovely stay! =)

Room Tip: If you're ok with walking a bit, then this place is really good bang for your buck. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmaphur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your observations; constructive comments & observations both criticial and positive (such as yours) all very much help the Hotels in their continuous striving to improve in all areas especially when is comes to guest experience.
Absolutely the Spruce Grove Inn is connected (via an underground passage way - out of the winter cold) to the Voyager Inn which is an older property but which has all the amenities for both Hotels - Dining Room (currently open for Breakfasts), Lounge/Bar, Liquor Store, Heated Outdoor Pool, Indoor Hot Tub & Dry Sauna. The Hotels work hard to make the two properties & the facilities work together much like other "split" properties the amenities are in one building & the rooms in another.
The Hotel is very glad to hear that your visit was enjoyable and you got to experience the beauty that is Banff; we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

we booked this hotel with "supposedly" have "complimentary breakfast, that was it say's when we were looking at it online, they said "complimentary breakfast", the truth is, they'll just give you a $7.00 voucher. the outdoor pool was shared between Voyager and Spruce.. dirty hotel, but but if you actually care less, then i guess it's worth your money. have to go to the next hotel to get breakfast, which of course was a crappy one. The service was slow, i kinda expected that, because they're accommodating 2 hotels, waited more that half hour for our order and didn't come, so we ended up cancelling it. Just go the Mcdonald's, faster and not going to waste your time. oh yeah, it's not really that close to the downtown area. it's still far if you walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mekeni512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We very much thank you for your comments and observations as all are very helpful for the Hotel and its Team's goal of always striving to improve and develop.
With regard to the "Complimentary Breakfast" you are absolutely correct in saying that the Hotel gives Guests (who are on the "Complimentary Breakfast" rate) a $7 voucher, this is to offer Guests much more choice instead of limiting them to "One".
The $7 voucher entitles a Guest to a Free Continental Breakfast (includes - Juice, Beverage, Pastries, Muffins, Scones, Fresh Fruit Salad, Fresh Whole Fruit, Yogut and of course as much as you want) but also the voucher can be used by a Guest towards any other available Breakfast choice - such as the Hot Buffet, Steak & Eggs, Omlettes etc.
The choice - i.e. using the Voucher - was in response to many Guest requests of not being limited to Continental Breakfast only.
Again the Hotel very much thanks you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Room with two double beds was fine. Very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast is quite basic but there are so many lovely coffee shops and cafes in Banff this isnt a problem. Free parking and wi-fi. 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town but it is a picturesque and enjoyable stroll. Pool and facilities didnt look very inviting so we didnt use them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeatLarge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We thought that this hotel included a pool and restaurant.
These are actually in the hotel next door (Voyager) which has a worse reputation and the Sprice Grove clients are treated worse by sending them upstairs to a room that feels like a school canteen and very unfriendly. There wasn't a guest elevator at the Voyager for my wife who has problems with stairs and had to walk through the kitchen to get to the kitchen elevator. We didn't even try the pool which again was in the Voyager next door. Out of all the hotels we stayed at in Canada, this was by far the worst. Having said that, the rooms were Ok although houskeeping were very slow at cleaning, only turning up at 4pm on our second day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteJFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Spruce Grove inn is an ok hotel. It is a bit dated (like many of the hotels in the park) but has many of the amenities that are needed (but no safe or minibar). We received breakfast as part of the room but it was a very limited continental buffet selection, bizarrely held in a second floor conference room in an adjoining hotel (that had no lift). The food itself was ok but compromised pre bought items including packet croissants which were at best dry.
It is located towards the end of town but with lots of free parking everywhere this wasn't an issue.
The staff were friendly even though there didn't seem to be many if them which meant a 20 minute wait to check out.
On the plus side there was free wifi & underground parking.
We would stay there again but only because of the gorgeous location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A few minutes walk to town centre ,but very nice room very spacious.A plus for this hotel is continental breakfast is included which is a refreshing change in these parts.good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing