We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“some interesting architecture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

The Banff Centre
Ranked #16 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Banff Centre presents over 400 public concerts, performing arts events, festivals, and gallery exhibits each year. Premier events include the Banff Summer Arts Festival, the Banff Mountain Film & Book Festival, the Banff International String Quartet Competition, and Banff Jazz. The Banff Centre is the largest arts and creativity incubator on the planet. Our mission is inspiring creativity! Tickets to all events may be purchased on our website.
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
293 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“some interesting architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

not really enough to make it a destination point (unless you are coming for a performance), but if you can pass through it you will be rewarded with the odd building that is interesting

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    82
    17
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent conference / meeting cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Food variety was excellent for all meals plus they catered to special dietary needs such as vegan no problem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Banff Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good Fitness Center and Aquatics Facility. Excellent massage Therapists and very helpful and courteous staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr-CB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Local art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'm not an art lover, so this was not a great place for me to visit. My wife enjoyed it, so you have to decide what type of person you are before visiting

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank diyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just breathing the air and looking around will relax you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

One of the most beautiful places to visit in Alberta, is Banff, and one of the most unusual places to stay and get involved with the community is the Banff Center. Accommodation is very good and the Vista restaurant is just terrible because the food is so delicious that you will add pounds to your silhouette which is probably not what you wanted to happen...the architecture and layout of places (the amphitheater, the different pavilions hosting art or science research) are seamlessly connected, with red paint on some structures, contrasting the greenery around and the modern white painted benches. Taking the shortcut from the Center to the town, forth and back, makes you feel like a million dollars person, because you hiked it! Banff is different says the mayor, because it flushes 25000 toilets using the tax paid by 8000.
I truly enjoyed my 4 days of stay at the conference held by Advocis for the 59th time, in this place.
Looking forward to my return next year for the 60th ...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjw044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banff Centre also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing