We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Historical Site”

Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.41*
and up
Winter Tour: Banff and its Wildlife
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting Historical Site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved the look of the building that you enter. The actual cave is fairly small but big enough for you to get the idea. Some people may not like it, but if you like history and how the Banff National Park got established, you will like this. We enjoyed it as well as the pathways around the area with nice scenic views of the mountains for picture taking. Pack a lunch if you choose to, if it is a nice day there are a few outside tables. Also, a place to eat on site. If you are in Banff this is a short 1 hour tour that is worth it. It is a nice relaxing way to spend some time in Banff away from the downtown crowds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    360
    171
    40
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved discovering the Sunshine Canyon. Paved, wide trail most of the way to the canyon along the Bow River was wonderful and the reward of the falls at the canyon was well worth it. We only explored a little bit - there is much more to the trail and there are many options for side-trips. Good for the whole family, bicyclists and even skateboarders and roller bladers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChickadeeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were glad we went here. We had an annual park pass so didn't have to pay for the entrance. We enjoyed lifting the horns of different animals and the ladies there were so good in imparting there knowledge. It was enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DinmeherBunshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine FL
Level Contributor
313 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Several guides had identified this as a major sight so I took a chance and was delighted. Wish I could have visited when this was open as a pool. I took the walking tour so I could see the hole that originally accessed the cave. The history of the development was very well presented. I was visiting at the end of the day or would have enjoyed even ore time on the hiking trails.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank havaneseangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hike arround”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We hiked around Cave and Basin. Great place is on the way to Sundance Canyon. Really famous for being a starter to Banff. Museum is small but worth a stop. Building is amazing from 30' and had been renovated 2 years ago with amazing stone work!

Helpful?
1 Thank Banff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave and Basin National Historic Site also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cave and Basin National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing