We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“one time visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave and Basin National Historic Site

Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Book In Advance
$47.68*
and up
Winter Tour: Banff and its Wildlife
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one time visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

it was not what i expected but then it was something different. they had a booth for pics which would have been reali kool if it worked well.
still if you got sometime spend 30 min and get to see something diffrent. we went to on Canada Day so it was free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RumiHammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    346
    162
    40
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
956 reviews
447 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Five of us visited the site after being in the upper hot springs. It was certainly interesting to read about the establishment of the national parks system in Canada but the site itself was not quite what we expected. All the staff were very friendly and informative. At least it was free entry with our discovery pass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A bit of history but not many views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We did not know what to expect from this site. Admission is about $4 per person, which lets you go into a cave and see a pool of the natural hot spring. After that, you can walk out to a pool of the water outside. You are not allowed to touch the water anywhere except a bucket with the staff collect water in.

There is not much in terms of views of the surrounding area, but there is a nice room with the history of Canada's national parks which was quite nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank universalis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Historic and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

After three years of renovations it is now open to the public. The hot springs facility is very modern and has interesting video and interactive displays. The old locker rooms have been converted into a large museum like place. We learned that this is the birthplace of the first national park of Canada. We also enjoyed listening to stories of this place (and old photos) in it's heyday from the early part of the twentieth century. The pool has been filled in due to it's lack of popularity over the years and the cooling temperature of the water. However, the pool area is marked off with bricks at it's original size and the later smaller size to fit more sunbathers. Since this place is moment from downtown Banff, I would recommend checking it out when in town. Because the cave was a lot smaller than anticipated, I gave this place four stars instead of five.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
228 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Cave and Basin wasn't on my to do list for Banff, but I met a new friend who wanted to visit, so I went along. It was well worth the small fee. Very interesting historical site. The very outdated movie about the men who discovered the hot spring and its evolution into a park was particularly entertaining (watch for the lady with her "modern" RV). Make sure you get your hand stamped at entry - we accidentally walked out of the building without seeing everything and had to go back in the main entrance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave and Basin National Historic Site also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cave and Basin National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing