We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Mountain Chalets
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had an excellent stay here. The little store has about everything you can ever need. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect. We wanted to do a day in Banff then a day in Lake Louise this location was pretty in the middle of those locations so the drive wasn't too long. Not too fair away there are some awesome walking trails. The best part of this location was it was relaxing to be in the middle of no where instead of the busy tourist locations like Banff. We stayed in the Pine cabin which was perfect for the two of us. There is a train that goes by but I can't say that it bothered us. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    65
    11
    14
    11
See reviews for
63
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We just spent a most enjoyable four nights at Castle Mountain Chalets. We stayed in one the one bedroom deluxe cabins which proved, once again, to be a good choice! The cabins are in very good condition although some of the furniture and plumbing fixtures are looking a bit old. If we had been paying the full high season price (about $350/night), we would not have been as impressed. Low season on-line price is about $220/nite. Service to the cabin was excellent and the few requests we made were dealt with promptly. We (I?) even enjoyed the trains that passed by, whistles blowing at all hours of the day and night (mostly in the day)! There is wi-fi in the cabins, although it doesn't always work that well. Good selection of TV channels and a DVD player is also in the cabin. Huge washroom with shower and jacuzzi tub.
We have been here several times in the past, but this was our first return visit in almost ten years. I'm sure we will be back!

Room Tip: There are smaller less expensive cabins which are great, especially if you are planning to do a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times and I love it. I love everything about these chalets, they are clean spacious and pet friendly. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You can hear the train pass by but I don't have a problem with that. You still feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. I have recommended these chalets to friends and will defiantly be staying here again. It is a bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redvixen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Yes the train horn blows...but who can't appreciate a laugh every once in a while! We stayed in the cabin with one bedroom and jacuzzi. I was very surprised based on the price how beautiful the chalet was! It's modern and clean and has a full kitchen. Plenty of room for a couple or two! The staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. I hope to come back through here in the summer to enjoy more of Banff and surrounding areas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheldonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Because the whistle of the train a couple of time during the night, you won't be able to sleep well except if you are deaf. We were there in August and we won't go back.
The rooms are not very clean. They are old. Also, they collect all the money at the beginning, if you leave before, you loose your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l_laperriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback, and appreciate all comments made.

To address some of your concerns, I'll start with the trains. Unfortunately as we have no control over them, its hard to really say much about them. If you read through the majority of the negative feedback made about Castle Mountain Chalets, most of them have been about the trains that blow their whistle when going by. The trains played a huge role in the development of Banff National Park and as such will be and are a constant here. Our website identifies the trains on our Welcome page to entice or warn people who are looking to stay here, as it seems that people either love or hate them.

All of our cabins differ, and range from the more rustic to the luxurious unit. We have made some upgrades for our guests comfort new carpet, new mattresses and bedding, new TV's new hot tub and lodge on the property. These upgrades are constant and although you may not see all the changes that are being mad (new pipes, laundry service etc), they are to ensure a quality stay for all of our guests. Some items may be dated, however they are all functioning for the guest use.

I'm sorry to hear you found your unit to be unclean. We pride ourselves on offering a clean accommodation. We have recently been awarded a Housekeeping Award from the Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association for 2013 because our cabins were very clean. At times we may have missed something, but we assure you had you mentioned it to our team or management we would have immediately corrected the issue.

Our policy to take payment at check in is stated on our website as well as the confirmation letters we send to our guests. We take payment as our Front Office hours are not 24/7 as a standard hotel is. When a guest checks into a hotel, the pre-authorization holds all the fund, plus some extra for incidentals to be able to cover your stay. We only charge for the unit as we do not really a Food and Beverage Outlet or in room movies for a guest to incur these extra charges.
If a guest was very unhappy and made us aware of the situation while they were here, we would have tried to correct it or would have been more than happy to help you find other accommodations and refunded the remaining balance.

Thank you for taking the time to make your concerns known. We can only get better with what we are afforded the opportunity to correct or investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at Castle Mountain Chalets and it was perfect. We went cross country skiing and snowshoeing. The chalets are romantic, charming, cozy and in a beautiful setting. Yes they are charming but a little dated with a wood burning fireplace a small kitchen and separate private washroom. We loved it! We have been to Banff and Canmore so many times and really enjoy the mountains. What we loved about Castle Mountain Chalets is the privacy and not so touristy atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernurseEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

As a solo traveller, getting 'Value for money' is important. I intended staying 2-3 nights only, because I was travelling around the National Park and was going to try staying in Banff. Wrong! I stayed 8 nights! I had one of the apartments. It was magnificent. A one bedroom apartment with a separate shower/bathroom, fully equipped open plan kitchen and a large lounge area to top it off! I felt like a Tom Tit on a round of beef! (Happy) Absolutely top drawer. Location wise, right in the thick of lots of sights and things to do. Got up one morning just in time to spot an Elk wandering through. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
17.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
16.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
16.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
17.0 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
3.7 mi away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Property: Castle Mountain Chalets
Address: Castle Junction1A & Hwy 93 South, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing