We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
135
83
18
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
83
18
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbetween banff and lake louisetrain noisefire pitbedroom deluxefull kitchenfrench doorslight sleepercedar chaletrecreation roomhot tubjohnson canyonsnow shoeshuge bathroomseparate showerdvd playerthe trans canada highwaygames room
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 263 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at Castle Mountain Chalets and it was perfect. We went cross country skiing and snowshoeing. The chalets are romantic, charming, cozy and in a beautiful setting. Yes they are charming but a little dated with a wood burning fireplace a small kitchen and separate private washroom. We loved it! We have been to Banff and Canmore so many times and really enjoy the mountains. What we loved about Castle Mountain Chalets is the privacy and not so touristy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernurseEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

As a solo traveller, getting 'Value for money' is important. I intended staying 2-3 nights only, because I was travelling around the National Park and was going to try staying in Banff. Wrong! I stayed 8 nights! I had one of the apartments. It was magnificent. A one bedroom apartment with a separate shower/bathroom, fully equipped open plan kitchen and a large lounge area to top it off! I felt like a Tom Tit on a round of beef! (Happy) Absolutely top drawer. Location wise, right in the thick of lots of sights and things to do. Got up one morning just in time to spot an Elk wandering through. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We wanted a quick weekend getaway to Banff and wanted the dogs to come. All of the hotels in Banff that were pet friendly didn't include any of the nice features that we were looking for (fireplace, big room, kitchette) in their designated pet rooms. At Castle Mountain ALL of their cabins are pet friendly! We couldn't believe it.
The cabin was so clean, cozy and inviting and didn't have a "dog" smell at all. The dogs were welcomed with a bed, some food bowls and some cookies....a very nice touch. Our cabin backed on to the railway tracks but, honestly, we could barely hear the trains as they rolled by (and yes, they blew their horn). All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for what we wanted....quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, close to nature. We were able to walk the dogs along the cut-line through the trees that was very close to the cabins. We had plans to head into Banff for one of the days we were there but we loved where we were so much that we didn't leave the cabin except to walk the dogs in the woods.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I were married on Jan 4 2013 and found our way to Canada the next day. Many thought we were crazy for going to Canada at the beginning of winter but that's exactly what we wanted: SNOW! And boy did we get snow. We were even snowed in one full day. Castle Mtn Chalets impressed us beyond words. We adored our sweet cabin, fully equipped with a king-sized bed, kitchen, bathroom, closet, couch, table, and fireplace. Fresh firewood and kindling was brought to our door every morning, but never were we disturbed. They made sure that our privacy and comfortability was priority. They brought fresh towels upon request. There was always hot water to enjoy in the sink and shower. One of our favorite parts of this excellent servive was when they found out we were on our honeymoon. They brought us a bottle of champagne! The location was close enough to town where we could enjoy dinner, a sleigh ride, and shopping, but far enough to where we felt alone, undisturbed, and at peace. This place was incredible. I wear my Castle Mountain Chalets sweater proudly!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Happy early Anniversary, as we know it is coming up on January 4!

Thank you for your lovely comments. Maybe we will get to celebrate your 1 Year Anniversary with you :) !!

All the best for 2014!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins here for 3 nights on our recent trip around the Rockies. We found it to be quite spacious and very comfortable, and very clean & tidy with all essentials provided. The setting at the base of Castle Mountain is just gorgeous, and the grounds are very pretty with flowers everywhere. The beds were comfortable, and yes - we heard the train, but it didn't really bother us much at all. I had read the reviews here beforehand and brought along ear-plugs but never bothered to use them.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the young gentleman who checked us in. We made use of the laundry facilities there, which worked very well and effectively. The games/common room was very comfortable too - the kids loved playing fuseball. Couldn't get the computer working there but the Wi-Fi was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavRed_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews