We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Mountain Chalets
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$417
$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$530
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$333
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$432
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$378
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$375
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$245
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$417
$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
132
75
18
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
75
18
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbetween banff and lake louisetrain noisefire pitbedroom cabinfull kitchenfrench doorslight sleeperhot tubjohnson canyonpoop bagshuge bathroomseparate showerthe trans canada highwaydvd playergames roomlaundry facilitiesthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 251 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife booked this as surprise for me, it was our wedding anniversary and her birthday, the log cabin was absolutely fantastic, very cozy and just what we expected. we were greeted by a bottle of champagne and a card which was very nice. The cabin we stayed in was close to the train tracks but did not bother us at all, the staff at the office/shop were excellent and the location make it perfect for hikes, and the views of Castle Mountain are stunning. Would we go back again, you bet we have booked for another couple of nights in November, its hard to see reviews that are negative especially regarding the trains but that is Banff NP. This is a wonderful place to stay and they are pet friendly, most recommended.

Room Tip: The whole site is by the train tracks but do not let that bother you, if you go to the train tracks and a train comes they even blow there horn more for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Let's start from positive things: the rooms are very beatiful and clean and the location is not bad as you are in the middle of Banff, Jasper and Kootenay NP. However there are so many problem that made our stay very bad (in fact absolutely the worst for us in 3 weeks in Canada). First of all the quality of sleep: the bed is the worst we never find as it is really to soft. The room was too hot, and you absolutely could not open the window for the noise outside. The noise of train is really not reasonable: it's not just a train passing away, there are trains till late night and early in the morning with the whistle of the train which is really in your room and last 30 seconds. There was also a very bad smell in the room. But what is absolutely not acceptable is the behaviour of the management.
Each room and cabin has a parking assigned with the number of the room. When we arrived it was raining but our parking was not available. We ask why and the answer of the lady at the reception was that the car on our parking was of the owner (or manager) that stay in one room but has 2 cars and so want to use also the parking of a guest. We had to park outside and bring our luggage under the rain. The lady said that during our dinner she could solve the problem, but when we came back the car was still there. Consider that there was a bycicle race and there was no way to park anyway inside and ouside. It was even more ridicolous because there was a message that due to the race nobody has to have more than one car (but of course this apply only to guests who pays 300 $ for night but not for the owner). The morning we complained again and we asked to speak with the manager. When we came back in the evening after a full hiking day, our parking was still busy and there was no other way to park. We needed to wait half an hour to have a shower. Another young girl at the reception was the only one helpful and reasonable and did her best and after an hour the car was finally removed. We ask to speak to the manager but she was not available also at this time (is she a manager or a special guest with 2 parkings?). Finally in the morning we met the manager we explained what happened and we ask at list for a discount due to the fact that we payed for a service (the parking) which was not available for us. No way: the best she was able to say was she was sorry, but for her there was nothing strange in her behavoiur. One important note: there is no way to cancel your nights as soon as you arrive so, our strong suggestion is, if you really want to come here, book only one night: then if you are able to sleep, book the other nights, if you are not able, thank this review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcello68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear you had such a negative experience. We do appreciate all comments and believe they are our opportunity to change and get better.

I'd like to address one particular issue you presented as there seemed to be a misunderstanding. The vehicles that parked in your spot were paying guests, not the owner as you suggested. As we could not (on the first night) immediately determine who the vehicle parked in your provided space belonged to, we asked the owner who was there for the Bike Event (as we were sponsors), to immediately move his van to accommodate your vehicle. On the second night, unfortunately another paying guest parked in your space again. When we were notified by you that this happened, we were able to determine who that vehicle belonged to and immediately asked them to move. In both cases, the situation was resolved in about 10 minutes.

The trains played a major role in history bringing people during the Gold Rush days in the early 1800 to settle in the mountains. Without them we would probably not be here. The trains are a common comment made about this location. People either love them or hate them. We do mention them on our website so that guests are aware.

We pride ourselves on taking all concerns seriously and trying to ensure the guest has a great experience. Had you mentioned your other concerns to us we would have tried to rectify them.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The cabins are exactly what we expected, simple and cozy. The location is great, close to Banff and other local attractions. The staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenJayL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here over the easter long weekend and it was excellent. We had our own little cabin that was complete with kitchen, living room and fireplace. The room was very cozy and clean, The staff are nice and they even have a little convenience store which had a decent liquor selection. There is a games room and common area if you want to venture out from the cabin to relax and mingle. My only complaint was the hot tub was a little small and always busy with people but then again it was winter. There is lots to do in the area if you are into hiking, snowboarding or cross country skiing. A great place tucked away in the mountains.

Room Tip: select a room that backs onto the road instead of the train tracks.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lodge is rather new and we had a great suite with own living room and kitchenette. This is great after a long day of hiking. you are right between Banff and Lake Louise which makes the options so much wider than being in either location fixed.

The rooms were spotless clean and fresh. All you can ask for a lodge in the nowhere.

The hottub was... too hot. Never happened to me before but I believe this was accident. you could have grilled a lobster in there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews